We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere of a church”

St. Martin in the Bull Ring
Ranked #20 of 280 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to St Martin in the Bull Ring. This is one of the most ancient and contemporary buildings in Birmingham. Most of this Grade II listed church is from the nineteenth century. It was built in 1873 and is an example of gothic Victorian architecture, designed by Alfred Chatwin, from Birmingham, who also worked on the houses of parliament. But St Martin's is much older than that. There has been a church on this site since 1290 and may well have been a simple place of worship here in Saxon times. St Martin's is also a place of worship for a thriving community who refurbished the building in 2000 making it more light and open. In 2009 we created a tea lounge, healing center, and learning and advice service so our hospitality in the heart of the city could be extended. We believe that what Jesus called 'Life in all its fullness' can be discovered right here in the crosscurrents of the marketplace. You are very welcome to come in and walk around.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere of a church”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Good coffee inside and very clean.Church was dressed for Advent and looked beautiful. It was lovely to take time in there to pray and contemplate.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank oldsomeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    148
    29
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clanton, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Filled with God's Peace”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I went inside this church because it's so lovely- as a tourist I wanted to see what it looked like. It is just as magnificent on the inside as out. Thousands of hand carved daises on the ceiling. A wonderful place to open your heart to God. Very quiet and holy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sweetbcharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“MU Carol Service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I'd never been before and now I know what I've been missing. A truly beautiful and inspirational church, with a well priced cafe downstairs. I know where I'll be calling in the future.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

On occasions when visiting Birmingham we have stayed at the Premier Apartments across the road from St Martin's. Going to and from the Bullring we walk past it and more often than not we pop in for yet another visit. We have never been disappointed. It is a welcoming church building that offers a peaceful haven from the crowded streets outside. There are always art exhibitions, the stained glass windows are striking and the walls are bedecked with memorials to the past. we have attended the occasional musical concert in the church and enjoyed the events immensely. We always make a point of visiting St Martin's when in the centre of Birmingham.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dr Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A welcoming place”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were greeted warmly and shown around this delightful church by a friendly and knowledgeable volunteer. Do not overlook this historic site right in the centre of Birmingham; it's so easy to walk past. Go and stroll around, taking in the calm, while learning about the city's history.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Martin in the Bull Ring also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to St. Martin in the Bull Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing