We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good - and FREE!”

Sheldon Country Park
Ranked #53 of 280 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 96-acre working farm brings the country right to city dwellers offering guided nature walks and other popular events.
South Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good - and FREE!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Saw this on Trip Advisor and thought it would be nice to kill a couple of hours before an afternoon at Cadbury World. The free farm was nice for the kids to look around and the tea room was very reasonably priced. The park is vast and we sat with the kids in the sun watching the planes take off from Birmingham Airport. The only thing which lets it down is a large shortage of bins which results in a fair amount of litter blowing around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FlossyRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    54
    16
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fab free day out - just wish people would clean up :-(”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

this park is fab - has a lovely un- vandalised play area, good carpark, small fab & reasonably priced cafe
Its easy to walk up to watch the planes landing and taking off at Birmingham airport - my only gripe is that people litter the park and also allow their dogs to poop and not pick up
Its hard with little ones to keep an eye on them with so much yucky stuff around - my only gripe on a Fab Free day out!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bluearmy_cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great open space”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Ideal for dog walking, there's always ample parking and it's a very well maintained park. I love to walk along the path to where it meets the end of the airport runway and watch the planes taking off and landing! So does the dog! On a nice day, you can walk all the way to Marston Green train station from the Church Road entrance.

They could do with a few more benches for sure, but a visit to this park is highly recommended, great for some time outdoors in the fresh air with family and friends.


Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Free trip out with the children”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great place to take the children to look at the animals, have a run around and play in the play area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunnymonster2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant and Free!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely huge park and playing fields. We took a picnic and a football and spent a couple of hours just playing with the kids. You can see the aeroplanes taking off from the nearby airport too.
Lovely small farm which is very well maintained and doesn't cost a single penny to look around. Our 18 month old especially loved looking at all the animals in their pens. There is a small tea rooms in the farm if you so wish to use it (we didn't as we'd taken picnic), but the prices seemed extremely reasonable for a tea room.
Seemed set in a very unusual location (middle of a council estate really), and wouldn't have known it was here without looking on this site for things to do before we went, but very glad we did go here! A lovely few hours spent relaxing and entertaining the kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelcowgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheldon Country Park also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Sheldon Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing