We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for anyone with a passion for jewellery & history”

Museum of the Jewellery Quarter
Ranked #6 of 281 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the skill of the jeweller's craft and enjoy a unique tour of an original jewellery factory, which traces the 200-year history of the ancient crafting skills that made Birmingham the centre of the British jewellery industry.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for anyone with a passion for jewellery & history”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lots to see and the guided tour through the original factory very informative.The family who owned the factory seem to come to life and you can imagine them working at their respective stations as you walk round. There is also a chance to see an exhibition of jewellery from different parts of the world, which is included in the price and can be done at the end / beginning of the tour. Not really geared at children,however still worth a visit. A nice coffee shop in the building so you don't have to walk far for a brew! You do have the option to buy some lovely pieces of jewellery & the great thing is, there is no annoying sales person forcing their wares on you.Great to have a browse in peace and the staff are on hand if you need help.I took some friends from Scotland,who were amazed that such places of interest exist in Bham.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Raine932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    178
    34
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth Mid Wales
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Brilliant if you have 2 hrs to kill”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was excellent and well worth the time - we had a great and very comic guide which made it very informative - go even if you have to make time !

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwalltcoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting - but not for all”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I enjoyed looking aorund this museaum, but it was a little boring for my partner and kid. There is not much interaction with the exhibition. As a woman I love jewelley, so was very interested.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Birmingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The museum tells of how this family firm of bangle makers made their living. It had been in the family for generations and eventually was owned by a brother and sister who, when they became old, tried to sell it. Unfortunately no one wanted to buy it so one week they just said to their staff that they "were closing on Friday" and they just walked out!

The Birmingham museums then photographed and catalogued everything and reproduced it as is shown. It is facinating to see the old ledgers and tools that is used to make the jewellery. The tour gides are very informative and friendly. A real gem in this city of a 1,000 trades

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brummie1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A lovely museum for adults and older children”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I called the museum to check what time the tours were and they were exceedingly helpful advising me when a school was visiting that morning incase we wanted to avoid that time.

I took my Dad to the museum with me and we both loved it. Historical and interesting but I would not recommend for young kids. You must do the tour as it is absolutely fascinating (there is a charge for this).

The museum also has a coffee shop and the service there was excellent too.

You can also double up this museum with a visit to the pen museum 15min walk away.

If you are driving watch out as the pay at meter parking on street has a 2 hour restriction.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ASuttonRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Jewellery Quarter also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Museum of the Jewellery Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing