We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome views, litter free, variety of walks and habitats, helpful Rangers”

Lickey Hills Country Park
Ranked #11 of 278 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A favorite area for hikers and mountain bikers, this 524-acre park consists of many trees, marshes and trees including a wide variety of wildlife.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome views, litter free, variety of walks and habitats, helpful Rangers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Healthy, peaceful, challenging (if you want it to be), variety of views, plenty of seating, well signed walks, romantic, easy access, good parking, friendly Tea room. Good gift area - full of useful educational toys and bits n bobs well priced useful magnifiers, toys, bugs and informative books. Wow Birmingham this is a real gem. Well maintained, diverse habitats, Rangers helpful well informed and knowledgeable about this site and other open spaces across the site.
Father Christmas comes into the forest each year, I went to celebrate Wassail in the orchard. I am blown away every time I visit and so are my friends. I have been before, length of stay varies - there is a green man in the woods too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinkie162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    145
    22
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A pleasant day out but could do better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Lickey Hills are very expansive and a great place to get away from it all on the edge of a major city. The visitor centre is OK for a cup of coffee or an ice cream, but otherwise is not much. Maybe to shelter from the rain?
On a busy Saturday I found it really congested, parking difficult if not hazardous, and access generally difficult due to lack of and meaningful maps or signage.
We walked ages to visit a great chain of ponds to find them closed with major reconstruction ongoing. We were annoyed that there was no warning of this.
The City is blessed with a major attraction but I felt that it was poorly managed and visitors came last! Please try harder.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Afternoon walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We took the family and the dogs for a great walk and at the end we had a lovely cuppa and drinks, snacks before we got back into the car to go home family and dogs all tired out

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Divers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“I"d forgotten how good this place is .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

As a brummie who"s always lived very close to this beauty spot , I tend to overlook this place - familiarity breeds contempt etc .

i"ve recently rediscovered this place , and will never take it for granted again .

Its a great place for a woodland walk with some great views .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redditchtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local place to see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Really like spending a day here, long walks with our dogs and great any time of the year! Its also great to let the kids see the wonderful views of the Birmingham sky line!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lickey Hills Country Park also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Lickey Hills Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing