We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe we left it so long”
Review of Cadbury World

Cadbury World
Ranked #54 of 266 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Uncover a world of chocolate delights and enjoy a fascinating, fun-packed day out at Cadbury World. From learning how your favourite confectionery is made and uncovering the fascinating story of Cadbury chocolate, to playing in chocolate rain and adding your favourite treat to a delicious pot of warm liquid Cadbury Dairy Milk. You'll discover the origins of the cocoa bean amidst trees and waterfalls in the Aztec Jungle, before jumping on board the magical Cadabra ride and visiting the brand new 4D Chocolate Adventure zone, a 4D cinema experience featuring Cadbury's most popular characters. Cadbury World is located in the grounds of the original Cadbury factory, but isn't a tour of the factory itself. Instead, you'll discover the history, the making and the magic of Cadbury confectionery as you journey through our chocolatey zones.
Reviewed December 8, 2014

Despite living in Birmingham for 20+ years,m we had never visited Cadbury world. I thought the ticket prices were very reasonable compared to similar attractions, although i did get a little confused about booking a timed slot, and wasnt sure if there was anything to do if we arrived before our slot (there isnt, just the gift shop, so i would not arrive until ten minutes for our booked slot next time).
I visited with my two youngest children, aged 9 and 2 and my husband. I had booked online, which i would recommend as no queuing to buy tickets.
The "free" chocolate bars upon entry were taken with delight by the kids, and when my eldest dropped his accidentally, another was thrust into his hands with a smile in case the original one had broken.
we made our way around the attraction at our own pace, we all thoroughly enjoyed the chocolate making section (and the melted choc pots), and even more free chocolate to take home!
the queue for the car ride was quite long, and very boring for the kids, perhaps a game printed onto the wall, or some facts we could all read would be a way to distract them? It was well worth the wait though, both of the children were laughing their way around the track and loved the whole thing.
When we had finished the tour we went outside to the park area, which i was quite disappointed with. It was spotless and clean, but wasnt suitable for an active and capable 2 year old to play on independently, and im a little too large to squeeze through the small opening to the netting!
We then found the 4d cinema. I was worried the little one would be a little overwhelmed, but i need not have been worried!! He absolutely loved it and the sight of both the kids wearing their glasses and jiggling about in their seats whilst howling with laughter was just lovely.
All in all we spent a good few hours at Cadbury world, and will definitely be returning in the summer.

Thank joshlukenoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadburyWorldUK, General Manager at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Cadbury World in August 2014.
We are pleased to read you enjoyed discovering the making of Cadbury chocolate and creating your own treat pot. We are delighted to hear your family especially enjoyed our new 4D Chocolate Adventure experience.
Thank you for your feedback on the Cadabra ride, which we shall pass onto our Operations team for review. We are pleased your family enjoyed the magical journey through Beanville.
We can confirm it is advised to visit earlier if your main tour time slot is later in the day so you can visit our extra zones before, such as the cafe, shop, 4D Chocolate Adventure, Bournville Experience museum and play area.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the summer; do look out for our 2015 entertainment schedule with free summer activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"free chocolate"
in 978 reviews
"melted chocolate"
in 498 reviews
"cadabra ride"
in 318 reviews
"play area"
in 570 reviews
"bournville experience"
in 141 reviews
"love chocolate"
in 135 reviews
"chocolate lovers"
in 127 reviews
"factory shop"
in 114 reviews
"chocolate tasting"
in 100 reviews
"magic show"
in 117 reviews
"bournville village"
in 113 reviews
"time slot"
in 207 reviews
"great family day"
in 98 reviews
"on arrival"
in 184 reviews
"school holidays"
in 123 reviews
"booked online"
in 81 reviews
"great for kids"
in 84 reviews
Filter

5,642 - 5,646 of 8,468 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2014

Have been twice to cadburys world , really great both times , really interesting tour and historybof cadburys , lots of free chocolate and fun trails to do while on the tour , lovely cafe/restuarant lovelyfood and drinks exciallent value for money . Would highly recommend shop aswell with the outlet cadburys shop plenty of choice here . Would def recommend to everyone brilliant day out x

1  Thank carlteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadburyWorldUK, General Manager at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visits to Cadbury World.
We are delighted to read your visits have been interesting and fun, We are very pleased to hear you enjoy dining at the Cadbury Café and would recommend Cadbury World to other families.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2014

Came here on an Autism Social Group trip. There was a group of about 9 of us. It was absolutely heaving in the foyer and cafe area. Thankfully we had pre-booked so didn't have to queue too long to register the fact we'd arrived and collect our tickets ready to go around the tour.

We had some spare time before the tour so we went and sat in the cafe. A few of the group bought some food. I had brought my own food with me so couldn't comment on the cafe food. However I did notice it's a little expensive, but no worse that the food at an other tourist attraction. They have some different things on their menu involving chocolate for anyone who's a bit adventurous.

We also went and had a look in the separate building they have with lots of history stuff in there. It also has some interactive features which are a lot of fun.

If you like chocolate you'll love the tour. There's lots of interesting information and plenty of freebies as you go around! There's even a small car ride which you can go on, and despite the fact we were all adults in the group, we still went on it and enjoyed it. It takes a photo as you go around in case you want a memento. However if it's really not your thing you don't have to go on it. There's no obligation whatsoever.

We had a fabulous day and although it was my second visit, having visited as a child, I would definitely go back again. It was great :)

Thank soniao581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadburyWorldUK, General Manager at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Cadbury World in March 2014.
We are pleased you enjoyed the interactive parts of the tour and found the history of Cadbury interesting.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2014

I've been to the old Cadbury world a bit more intimate but the new set up if I can call it that is more functional .If you can stand the noise of young schoolkids in a willy wonker factory during the week it's really good nice to see kids in this environment wide eyed and excited.Prices a bit reduced but you are here for the expierience.My dad worked here and I recognised the biscuit and sweets waste packet from when I was a toddler,it seems to have retained that old magic it used to have for me when I was a toddler well worth a visit enjoy.

Thank Ivor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadburyWorldUK, General Manager at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Cadbury World in March 2014.
We are pleased to read you enjoyed a nostalgic visit to Cadbury World.
Please note we recommend individuals to visit after 1pm during weekdays as we do welcome school groups during the mornings.
We hope to welcome you for another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2014 via mobile

Went to a function here and was surprised at the price i had to pay to go in!

This venue is for families. They produce chovolate.
Lets consider those who would love to visit but the entry fee dissuades them!

Come on cadbury's world have a heart!

1  Thank cherrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadburyWorldUK, General Manager at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Cadbury World.
We can confirm there are additional offers available for tickets including family deals and a website booking discount, and also our popular Purple Thursday offer.
We hope you enjoyed your visit with us and will consider visiting again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cadbury World also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Cadbury World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing