We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a wander around”

Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses
Ranked #38 of 284 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fifteen acres of glorious landscaped gardens with over 7000 plants, shrubs and trees - and a new Butterfly House. Close to Birmingham city centre, this hidden tranquil setting also has four glasshouses taking the visitor from the hot steamy heat of the Tropical rainforest with its rich vegetation, through to the Sub-Tropical House with its stunning palms and tree ferns. The visitor moves through to the Mediterranean House, with its citrus plants and bright conservatory-type blooms - and finally to the stark contrast of the Arid House with desert climate and stunning cacti.
Rhoose
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice for a wander around”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have been in many botanical gardens and you always find something new to look at and learn about, but I left these gardens feeling like it was missing something, may be I just expected something a lot more grand. The plant labelling could be improved. However, there are lots of little areas to explore and it takes a few hours to walk around the lot, if first impressions are it's not that large. We walked from the city centre and got the bus back so didn't suffer from the car park charge, although it's amusing reading everyone's comments. I would have been furious too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    284
    114
    45
    99
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very poor management = huge disappointment”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I too have received a £150 fine for parking at the Botanicals. I really don't understand how I was breaking any rules parking in the car park of the attraction that I was visiting (and have visited on numerous occasions). I have tried to call the gardens to discuss but after wasting three days trying to get through I have come to the conclusion that they are ignoring calls. I do not have £150 to pay the fine but more to the point I feel that the attitude that the Botanicals have adopted i.e. fining without any warnings, ignoring calls and emails from season ticket holders has now soured any kind of pleasure that I used to get from taking my toddler to the gardens and will sour any future visit. I'm so disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank ClaireD1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBGVisitManager, Manager at Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are sorry for the distress caused to you by this matter. We apologise unreservedly for the lack of notice of these changes to our regular visitors and for any failure in our service to you. Please advise the Gardens of your parking charge notice number, admission or membership details and vehicle registration in writing and we will deal with your complaint as quickly as we can.
Parking remains free for all visitors to the Gardens. We introduced enforcement of our existing parking regulations after receiving many complaints from genuine customers who found it impossible to visit due to a lack of parking. This was due to persistent and increasing illegal use of our car park by persons not visiting the Gardens. After careful consideration, the Gardens chose a system that offers free parking, convenient entry, flexibility and minimal input from visitors.

We are very disappointed that the new system has not delivered the intended benefit in your case. We are working hard to resolve the problems you experienced so that they do not occur again. We have written to all our regular visitors and we now have a data entry screen in our foyer so that you can enter your own vehicle registration on arrival. We are confident that the system will prove to be of benefit to all our visitors in the future.

We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanley Swan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beautifully manicured lawns, herbaceous borders and rare plants and trees. Visited the butterfly house and bird house. Shared a picnic under a tree whilst listening to jazz on the bandstand. Idyllic Sunday summer afternoon

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and day out”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent home made cake

The gardens are an oasis of beauty in Birmingham. I loved that there were 2 cats happily snoozing in the gardens. They seemed undisturbed by the visitors. Excellent food in the cafe. Handmade sandwiches and fabulous cake. Good portion sizes for the price too. The gardens are lovely. Lots of interesting spaces to explore. Its a shame the weather has been so awful as i can imagine with a decent spring and summer it looks even better when in flower.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank monsieurhoneybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shame on you botanical gardens”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

As others have commented - an outrageous £150 fine for a loyal member of the gardens over many years. I have taken many new arrivals to the city there promoting membership and used their banqueting facilities when organising international conferences. Never again.
The issue is not with the parking company itself; the issue is with the Botantical Gardens for choosing a company that levies such an unreasonable fine and then fails to notify its members of the changes. The "you should have looked at the signs" response suggests they believe they are running a supermarket car park, not a facility whose membership list would make the National Trust green with envy. The gardens will not receive another penny from me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBGVisitManager, Manager at Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are sorry for the distress caused to you by this matter. We apologise unreservedly for the lack of notice of these changes to our regular visitors and for any failure in our service to you. Please advise the Gardens of your parking charge notice number, admission or membership details and vehicle registration in writing and we will deal with your complaint as quickly as we can.
Parking remains free for all visitors to the Gardens. We introduced enforcement of our existing parking regulations after receiving many complaints from genuine customers who found it impossible to visit due to a lack of parking. This was due to persistent and increasing illegal use of our car park by persons not visiting the Gardens. After careful consideration, the Gardens chose a system that offers free parking, convenient entry, flexibility and minimal input from visitors.

We are very disappointed that the new system has not delivered the intended benefit in your case. We are working hard to resolve the problems you experienced so that they do not occur again. We have now written to all our regular visitors, improved signage and installed a data entry screen in our foyer so that you can enter your own vehicle registration on arrival. We are confident that the system will prove to be of benefit to all our visitors in the future.

We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing