We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses
Ranked #38 of 278 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fifteen acres of glorious landscaped gardens with over 7000 plants, shrubs and trees - and a new Butterfly House. Close to Birmingham city centre, this hidden tranquil setting also has four glasshouses taking the visitor from the hot steamy heat of the Tropical rainforest with its rich vegetation, through to the Sub-Tropical House with its stunning palms and tree ferns. The visitor moves through to the Mediterranean House, with its citrus plants and bright conservatory-type blooms - and finally to the stark contrast of the Arid House with desert climate and stunning cacti.
rowley regis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I visit this place regularly and to be honest it is going down in standard. It is quite untidy and the cafe and shop are pricey but he lawns are lovely and this place is great for kids with a range of play areas and hide and seek options and the best bit of all is the little adults hideaway up the top [however it is weather depending]

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank meandbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    259
    96
    39
    89
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent a lot of money to get into the Gardens. On entry receptionists were very harsh and rude - there is absolutely no need for that . Gardens are very shabby and not clean at all. There is a place where they keep pond fish which smells and offensive . The whole place is quite small compared to how much they claim .
In essence I felt they are just robbing people off but not giving enough
Car park is a night mare.
I do not wish to visit them at all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ran00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBGVisitManager, Manager at Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit. Please contact the Chief Executive and give us the chance to make it up to you. We do our best to keep prices as low as possible because we know our customers need value for money. The majority of our visitors believe we provide it. This year, we will also introduce parking control to help us make better use of our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Looking a bit Shabby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Came here for wedding photos but very disappointed by how shabby it seemed. Shame really....needs some investment

Helpful?
2 Thank lindajaneclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tranquility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a favourite place to spend an afternoon with a friend.
Beautiful gardens and always lovely to see seasonal changes
They also offer teaching (e.g. bonsai) at weekends and the coffee shop is good

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank the-cats-mother70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Botanical Gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Haven’t visited recently, but memories are excellent. Need to update my visit to see if the Beautiful Botanical gardens are still worthy of such high praise

Helpful?
Thank SylTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing