We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Dog friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We stayed here for one night returning from a family funeral. It was an excellent price via a late booking web site. Check in was fast and welcoming - dogs were fussed and patted from reception to room. Room very comfortable. Breakfast excellent from buffet selection. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening as we had read about high prices for drinks, so we bought in a selection of tapas type snacks and a bottle of wine - all for the price of one glass in the hotel! Dog walks were excellent around nearby lake. Parking was £7 per night, which we were aware of from the booking web site. Would certainly stay here again if available at the same price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    1,471
    1,188
    674
    474
See reviews for
507
1,050
327
2,405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel is looking a bit tired,
Staff never that helpful and seem untrained.
food was average - although just had breakfast most mornings.

good location for work and exhibitions, but not for leisure unless you are looking for somewhere as a stop over if travelling from London to Scotland perhaps.

Not much to do - unless you are there to work, dont take the kids unless you have plans to drive to TGI's or somewhere fun for the evening.

  • Liked — good for business
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jonaeroblue23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

NOTTINGHAM, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

stayed her wehen we went to mexico from birmingham.
onsite parking, nice rooms, nice food and wine.
transfer bus to airport takes 10-15mins and picks u up on return too.
will stay here again.
also has a gym if u want a workout and a pool.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Stayed here on a business trip, so i believe we got a corporate rate. However, the single rooms were well over £100 each.
The first room i was put in to was a very small single room, that had seen better days. The website pronounced the new refurbishment, but obviously this did not include the entire wing of the hotel we stayed in. The door was chipped at the bottom, scuff arks all over the wall, dirty carpet, mouldy shower. I have travelled extensively with work and for leisure and have never been offered a room as poor as this for such a high price.

After changing rooms i was met with a slightly better quality poor room, with complimentary stains on some of the bed linen. Obviously slightly embarassing as we were entertaining important clients. If this is the best Hilton can do in this day and age, they should be ashamed. The room i stayed in was 3 star at best.

Couple this with poor fod in the resident pub/ restaurant and it summed up a pretty rubbish stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adampsears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I stayed here primarily because I needed to be close to the airport. Check in was well managed, and rec'd a nice room facing the adjacent artificial lake. Good sized room and comfortable bed. Ate dinner late, in the bar, and service was really slow. Food was fine. Gym facility was a bit too warm, and reeked of chlorine... but at least they had a decent selection of cardio equipment. In spite of location adjacent to both a motorway and the airport... room was extremely quiet. Nothing to write home about, but absolutely no complaints from this weary traveler.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djcn0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2009

The outside of the hotel is shabby - reminded me of a 70s office block. However, when you eneter the Foyer this impression is forgotten as it is lovely.

The staff at check in are excellent. Friendly, helpful, immaculate.

We had an executive room and i was disappointed in the size of it - tiny little thing.
The access to the executive lounge was nice though. This is a nice quiet 'lounge' (hence the name - lol) with cold drinks and snacks on. The only snacks through our whole weeked were huge cookies though - sickening. It is nice to take breakfast in there though. We didnt get the bathrobe we were promised in the room description - which annooyed me as i purposely didnt bring my'n on th back of this promise. When we asked for one, we were told "oh no - we only have a few of those and they are all used now" strange.

The bed was comfy and clean - but small.

The bathroom was nice and clean, nice toiletries, lots of towels (yes, they are the hard starchy ones).

The whole room was clean really.

We were put in a room directly over the pond and the geese fought like cats and kept me up all night ( not the hotels fault of course !!!) so bear this in mind when you check in and ask for a room away from the pond if the noise would bother you.

The place is close to the NEC but otherwise in the middle of nowhere so dont go if you fancy a night out - unless you will pay about £15 in a taxi

If you want to eat then book in the restaurant or plan a night out. We couldnt get in the restaurant and we went in at 5pm.

We got room service as there was no other options other than taxi then wander round the town centre. Was £15 per burger and i couldnt eat my'n it was horribly dry, the chips were naff too.

The TV reception is terrible. So dont plan on cosying down to watch the telly for the night.

the game console available is really expensive too.

Overall - we were pleased with our weekend. Ive highlighted what we didnt like so you get a clear picture, but overall it was okay.

My advice is tp Ideally, stay here if you are using the NEC or airport. Otherwise look elsewhere

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABanksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed here with friends and would recommend it to anyone. From our first contact with the concierge to the moment we checked out, nothing could be faulted. No request was too much trouble and the whole hotel was prestine. The rooms were large, light and airy with views over the lake, beds were big and comfortable and the bathroom had both a bath AND shower cubicle whcih was lovely. The firnishings in the room and decor seemed almost brand new, and the room was spotless. A minor whinge is that we did find the air conditioning noisy. The spa was lovely with a nice pool. The breakfast buffet was varied, plentiful and, most importantly, kept supplied with freshly prepared food. The location right next to the NEC makes it really central, though we did struggle to find it at first..

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinkerbelleSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing