We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine for short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Pleasant and helpful staff. Deluxe bedroom fine if just staying a night before flying out from airport but for any longer lack of drawers or wardrobe space an annoyance. The small wardrobe has half its space taken with an ironing board and the hanging space - as well as being of small capacity - is too short for even mid-calf dresses. Furnished stylishly but you'll need to be happy not unpacking and living out of suitcase as no shelves, drawers etc. Bring extra hangers. Bed in the single room big and shower spacious too, though a bit unsettling that bathroom has no door. Confusion over which restaurants are open of a night. Best to ask and then recheck and book time you want to eat well in advance or risk being offered only early or late slots. Food good. Wine horribly over-priced. Hotel fine for short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _MSCW_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our team helpful and friendly. Our single occupancy double bed rooms have been re-designed with an open plan aspect to afford the guest the optimum space possible. Whilst we have received very positive feedback regarding the room layout from many of our guests, your comments are noted.

The hotel has a number of dining outlets available from the more informal bar meal and snacks in our Lounge Bar to buffet style in the Boulevard Restaurant nd A la Carte in Millers restaurant. Depending on occupancy levels, this will dictate if both restaurants are open or just one. Our Room Service facility is available 24 hours per day for the convenience of our guests too.

We hope to have the opportunity of having you return to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    1,454
    1,174
    665
    467
See reviews for
504
1,026
323
2,374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (954)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Having stayed here a handful of times before for concerts we booked again. And as usual with Hilton brand and this hotel, we were not disappointed. When we arrived our room wasn't ready but offered complimentary drinks and snacks in executive suite. The open plan bar/lounge area serve lovely food. Great service, great staff, great hotel....and a great concert at LG Arena :)

Room Tip: If using bar/lounge area, it can be busy early evening and after 10:30pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny26ws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Kenny

Thanks for your review and I'm delighted you had yet another enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here in May for our wedding anniversary. We arrived to find out the was a "conference" on which to our amusement there appeared to be a foyer full of people dressed as furry animals! It was very very busy with these people and rather crowded in the bar etc, not really the atmosphere we wanted for an anniversary... while the hotel provided a quiet area in a conference room for us "normal" guests it was still not ideal. It should have said on the website this was on and we would have booked elsewhere! We booked an executive room, it was very dirty. There was sticky marks on the table by the bed (yuk!), above the curtains was covered in cobwebs, the windows were black with dust and there was still someone's clothes tag in the wardrobe. The worst things though we're the slippers, they weren't clean and had been worn before, they smelled bad and were black with marks, horrible! The lamp was kept on the wall with electrical tape, very dangerous! The manager was great and moved our room and gave us a drinks voucher. They said they would bring us a gift up later, this never happened... when checking our new room it was better, but still not clean and had toothpaste and red wine on the walls. Not what you expect from a Hilton, especially in an expensive room. My husband is a silver rewards member and we stay at these hotels a lot, this was the worst one we have stayed in....I went to complain again and this time the general manager had us moved to a suite which was great. I just felt this should have been done first as it did somewhat put a damper on our night away. We won't be staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Klaire

Thank you your comments following your stay with us in May.

Your experience is certaijnly not typical of the standards that usually prevail at this hotel and I very much regret we failed to live up to our normal standards on this occasion. I was however pleased to see that we had moved you tio a suite by way of apology.

I do hope you reconsider returning at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here for one night. My executive room was large and comfortable with a nice bathroom. The down side of my visit was long queues for check in, breakfast and an astonishingly long wait (30 mins. plus) at the bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Judy

Thank you for your comments in relation to your visit to the hotel.

Whilst I was pleased to see that you were impressed with your Executive room, I do regret any delay you experienced due to the hotel being extremely busy.

We do of course endeavour to serve all customers as quickly and efficiently as possible. However, it would appear that they were stretched during this particular busy period for the hotel and I must apologise for the poor levels of service that you experienced on this occasion.

I do hope that despite any disappointment during this stay, we may have the opportunity to demonstrate our usual efficient levels of service on a future visit.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for a trip to a concert at the nec. Very busy and had to wait a long time at reception.
The staff were very professional and friendly . We booked an executive room which was typical of a Hilton although the bathroom could do with updating. The shower was quite poor with no shower curtain. The executive lounge on the 5th floor was manic we went for coffee and afternoon tea and should have been waiter service as when the trays of food were put down people came from everywhere like animals and we were unable to get anything. Very disappointing.
We wouldn't pay extra for executive next time .
It was convenient for the nec but we wouldn't stay there otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bessywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Bessywales

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.

I'm delighted that you found our team to b e friendly and helpful - we always aim to make everyone feel welcome.

I was sorry to see you were disappointed with your Executive Lounge experience on this occasion. Although we do have a waiter in situ, we do not provide waiter service in this area, as most guests prefer more relaxed informal surroundings.

Thank you again for your comments and I do hope you return again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. On arrival the outside entrance of the hotel was crammed with people on some sort of convention, in the main smoking and had created one holy mess with cigarette ends etc, I appreciate that the hotel can't be responsible for this, but they could have moved them away from the entrance doors. The reception was similarly crammed and incredibly noisy, the guys on reception couldn't even hear what was being said to them. Our room was OK, one broken drawer and a bath that had seen better days but it was air conditioned. Breakfast on the first day was very good, fortunately they opened up early for our group as we had to leave very early. On our return that night our coach couldn't even get to the reception as there were cars literally dumped absolutely everywhere. There was no way that fire engine/ambulance could have got to the hotel, and this is something that the Hilton need to look into. Be warned, they offer parking but getting a space is a nightmare. We decided not to use the hotel facilities on our second night as it was awful the night before but to take their complimentary bus to the station, this was 40 minutes later than they advised and we had to wait surrounded by probably 150 smokers, half of which were drunk. There is a phone in the train station for you to use to get a lift back, it wasn't where they said it was and the woman who eventually answered it was nothing but rude! The bus took 35 minutes to turn up and didn't pick up from where we were advised either. The people on the convention should be ashamed of their behaviour, and the Hilton should have done something to sort it out. They need to give some urgent attention to the parking issues too. I tried twice to speak to the Manager, the first time he was unavailable as he was moving a car that had jammed up the car park and the second time he was dealing with a damaged car, speaks volumes! I won't be going back, then experience was not what I'd expect of the Hilton.

Room Tip: Pick one in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicWStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. It was rather disappointing to read about your experience. Your experience does not truly reflect that standard of service that we aim to offer our guests at Hilton Birmingham Metropole.

Whilst we do provide smoking shelters, it can be quite challenging to ensure all guests this facility.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and hope that we have the opportunity to restore your faith in us in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend trip to the area. We were checked in quickly and offered the chance to join Hilton Honors which entitled us to a free breakfast and wi-fi. The room was a decent size, clean and hospitable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sam

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing