We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel offering avert good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Modern hotel offering avert good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

A good hotel for business, sufficient staff to deliver good services and all the amenities you expect from a decent hotel. Exec rooms and the Exec lounge are a nice touch. Lots of on site parking and a shuttle bus to get guests to and from Birmingham International train station.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickb623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    1,452
    1,171
    664
    467
See reviews for
504
1,025
323
2,370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (952)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We got this hotel on a cracking deal, and were very grateful indeed! Lovely and close to NEC, staff were very helpful all round. first night we had a family room which was huge with a sofabed. beds were fairly uncomfortable- as hard as sleeping on floor, and the sofabed was more suited for a light child as the springs were prominent. Lovely deep bath. Nice toiletries. Yummy biscuits. Second night we got upgraded to executive suite level - fantastic!!!!! free smoked salmon breakfast, canapes, afternoon tea and drinkies! as much alcohol as you could help yourself too. This was a bit bizarre as we are not big drinkers, but it seems the business travellers are, could not believe how much they could put away and still be standing. However for us moderate types it was very welcome at the end of a busy day. loved it! had room on 5th floor overlooking the lake - would say that the ducks and swans made more noise than the rubbish skips so if you are a light sleeper do NOT request a lake view!!!
can not thank ricardo enough for upgrading us. Brilliant stay. Would come again if I was lucky enough to get a deal, but sadly cannot afford the £290 price tag.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you overall enjoyed yuor stay and were happy with your complimentary upgrade.

We hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria ~the english lake district
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This large hotel that claims to be Hilton,can surely only survive because of the location offering very easy access to the NEC.
Very poor overall,and whist the ground floor appearance is fair for a large corporate hotel,the bedrooms leave a lot to be desired.
The restaurants are VERY OVERPRICED.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ullswater2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Ullswter2

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I was disappointed that you appear not to have enjoyed your stay with us and regret you were unhappy with your room. the hotel does have a variety of different room types and size and perhaos I could recommend a different room type/size next time you visit - I'm sure you will not be disappointed. I would add that we are just about to start the refurbishment of our single rooms.

With regard to our restaurants, I can confirm that our menu is in line with other 4 star establishments throughout the country and we do cater for all budgets within the hotel's dining outlets.

I hope we may see you back again some time.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip for one night. Vast hotel, quite impressive conference rooms and decent accommodation. However, it ends there I'm afraid. Poor staff, overpriced, seriously overpriced, as you've no options and disappointing food. They ran out of the dish I ordered, Limoncello Chicken, but stated they could do the same with the corn fed chicken. When I agreed and then questioned why there was no lemon flavour they confessed and said the limoncello needs 2 hours to marinate, needless to say it was returned! Cheapest price 250ml wine is £9.70 a glass, I don't pay that in Surrey let alone the Midlands......

My advice, give a wide berth unless you are at the NEC, want convenience, not bothered about the food and either like spending excessive amounts on alcohol or are tee total.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank j5hrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to the hotel.

I do regret that we sold out of the very popular dish you had ordered and despite an alternative recommendation you were disappointed.

Although we are ideally situated for easy access to the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport, we are aware that travellers do have a choice - with that in mind, we do constantly monitor our prices to ensure we remain competitive with other 4 star establishments.

I hope you return to us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over many years and always questioned the price and service. It's only good point is how close it is to the NEC and that's the only reason we use it. The single rooms are beyond disappointing and I wouldn't pay £30 to stay I one let alone the £200 plus we got charged. My light fitting was almost completely hanging off the wall. The bed was tired and uncomfortable, the bathroom wasn't big enough to get in and close the door comfortably and it looked like something out of faulty towers!
Food and drink is as always massively over priced, our booking for dinner in the restaurant was lost and then questioned because we booked the table when they where closed and the message never hit passed on!
All in all a very disappointing stay in a very overpriced dump.
We visit 3 shows a year at the NEC and stay an average of 2 nights and use 4 rooms...... that was the last time jn the hilton. Crown plaza for us next time

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puffer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Staff are very pleasant, polite and helpful
Lovely tasty food with a wide range of choice.
What a shame that the coffee is APPALLING
Beds are rather narrow but otherwise rooms are fine
Would stay there again (but avoid the coffee)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Doctor Barbara

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased that you had overall enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be both helpful and polite. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your coffee.

We look forward to welcoming you back again int he near future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The rooms are good, the service friendly and everything was well managed but the prices at the bar were simply outrageous - even for a coffee. It is a simply massive hotel and I had difficulty finding my way around at first. The swimming pool looked lovely, although I did not have time to take a dip. The food was very good too, especially for a conference venue. Not sure I could afford to stay here as a private guest though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene Christin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Helene

Thank you for providing your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that our team provided the levels of service you would expect. What a pity you didn't have the oppotunity to use our leisure facilities - they are hugely popular with many of our guests. - maybe next time.

Keep your eyes open for special deals we offer throughout the year - you will find it is exceptionally good value for money.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing