We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year celebration, lost the WOW factor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“New year celebration, lost the WOW factor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is our 5th time to spend our New Year at the Metropole, and this will be our last, so many cut backs by the hotel have ruined this once fantastic venue, the sparkling wine reception at 7pm has been moved to a tray of sparkling wine served at midnight to your table, the reception is now a very expensive mobile bar, before moving into the room for the night, on entering the room there were no trimmings apart from a very very cheap Xmas cracker each containing a silly plastic spinning top, ( why bother ) the food served was fabulous as usual, congratulations to the kitchen and the waiting staff, the theme this year was Hollywood, what a joke two fairly large screens either side of the stage area showing a film called Breakfast at Tiffanys, whilst you were eating, at midnight these screens could have been showing Big Ben or a link to a TV coverage, no they decided to show animated Hollywood scenes. The live band wasn't as good as last year, very loud with bad acoustics.
Our room was a twin on the second floor which badly needed refurbishment wall paper peeling away at the joins, very tacky we were very surprised that Hilton hotels allow this type of room to be used , beds were very comfortable with fabulous pillows.
Finally on leaving the hotel after check out we had to walk outside through at least 20 people smoking, we have nothing against smokers but it would be a good idea for the hotel to organise an area suitable for smokers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christof247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your visit to the hotel.

Whilst I was pleased to see that you had enjoyed the menu at our New Year's Eve Ball, i was sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations in other aspects of the event.

Our Maintenance Team will of course attend to the issue of the wallpaper in your room and I regret any further disappointment in this regard.

With regards to smoking areas for smokers, I can advise that we do have designated areas for smoking, however not all guests use these areas unfortunately.

I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    1,430
    1,155
    656
    461
See reviews for
489
1,016
320
2,342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Though I had booked a twin room with double beds and only received single beds even after complaining, had a graet time here. The bar is well stocked and the staff is friendly. Breakfast is definitely worth paying that little extra for as the choice was great. The hotel itself was very grande and rooms were immaculately clean.

Room Tip: 5th floor is nice and quiet.. also get the executive lounge access if you pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShivC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear ShivC83

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hilton hotels are not known to be the cheapest and so I was really surprised to get an excellent rate including dinner for a single nights stay comparable with less high end brands. Buffet dinner was first class. One of the main attractions of this hotel was the free pick up and drop off from birmingham international rail station. In truth you could walk there from the railway station via the NEC although that might be more tricky at night but easy in daytime. Rooms were of a high standard as you might expect at Hilton. I received a free upgrade upon arrival. Small details like a reasonably priced shop in the hotel, courtesy bus, late checkout and they put your invoice under the door in the morning make a huge difference to the business traveller. If you are on a budget Hilton is unlikely to spring to mind but jump to conclusions before you check their site.

Room Tip: Check rates including dinner. They are surprisingly good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank civilman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Civilman36

Thank you for such a great review. We have some fantastic offers on throughout the year and I am delighted you found us to be value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

All the staff were so welcoming and made guest feel that they really wanted to make their stay special. The breakfast was very good and well worth the money. The location was ideal for the NEC and easy to get to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Seb101

Thanks for your review and it's always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding the friendliness of our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Visited this hotel in December. Lovely hotel, second stay here. Shuttle from hotel to Birmingham International, great location for German Christmas market. On return you can call for the shuttle to pick you up. Hotel is great, lovely atmosphere. Rooms excellent, buffet breakfast in the morning, top marks. Would definately come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Karen

Thank you for posting your comments following your visit to the hotel. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and naturally look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Smooth check-in but two of the three lifts were out order. (One was repaired later.) Room pleasant enough though bed a little hard for my liking. One of the bedside lamps was not working but I'm sure if I'd complained they would have fixed it. We had afternoon tea in a comfy lounge and the food was average. Very nice staff. Were there for an Andre Rieu concert so it more than served the purpose. Would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Thomas

Thank you for your review following your recent stay witn us. I must apologise for the fact that we were experiencing an issue with our lifts at the time of your visit. Our Maintenance team would certainly have replaced your bedside lamp bulb and I apologise this was not picked up at the time of servicing the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter to go to the Andre Rieu concert at the LG Arena. For ease of access to the NEC it's fantastic. We had the Queen Bedroom deluxe but there were a few let downs in the room. The window didn't close tight a big gap above the window which let in the cold. Some of the light fittings were broken, there was a small hole in the quilt cover and no free Wi-Fi. I expected more from the Hilton chain. The staff were friendly and helpful when we arrived but checkout she wasn't that friendly, didn't even ask if I had enjoyed my stay. Ideal for going to a concert but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starfly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing