We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre-concert bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pre-concert bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband booked this overnight stay prior to an Andre Rieu concert at the LG arena. Check-in was smooth and the executive room a good size. The bathroom was a good size with a shower cubicle in the corner. Temperature control was easy to use. We visited the Executive Suite for canapes and drinks and this was also very pleasant.

We decided to have dinner in the hotel and were provided with a limited menu as it was prior to 6.00 p.m. However, the choice was ample and the service good. The food was also of a high standard. The bill was a little expensive but as the whole stay was a treat we didn't mind too much.

We had a full English breakfast and did not have to queue. The staff were very attentive and the food of a high standard. Check out was swift and efficient. Car parking charges were very reasonable. We did not take advantage of the gym or swimming pool so cannot comment.

All in all a very pleasant overnight stay. If we have to visit the LG for another concert we will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    1,452
    1,171
    664
    467
See reviews for
504
1,025
323
2,370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (952)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have experienced several weekend stays at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole during the last 10 years and have always been pleased with all manner of services and facilities the hotel has to offer. The reason for this stay was to attend the Midnight Convention, celebrating the television show Doctor Who. With approximately 1000 attendees there to meet stars including David Tennant, Billie Piper and Eve Myles, there could have easily been problems but, except for a lift breaking down, there were non. The Resturant and bar staff coped professionally with the high demand, housekeeping was always to it's usual high standard and the reception and concierge staff were attentive and proficient. I have no trouble in recommending the Hilton Birmingham Metropole to anyone. Whether it be for business, leisure or a romantic getaway, Everything you need is here.

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here to go to a concert at the NEC...well thats what we thought, turns out it was at the NIA and the staff at the hotel were wonderful, getting us a taxi etc..The room was beautiful and the staff were polite and quite wonderful if I am honest. Breakfast was lovely, so much to chose from! and at all times we felt welcome. Would recommend to anyone and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: the view from the high rooms is awesome...try to get as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivesForHuskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear LivesforHuskies

Thank you for such a glowing review. I am glad that we were able to get you on your way to the NIA so you didn't miss your concert.

We look fowrard to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed Saturday night for the BBC food show, being Gold HH upgraded to an Executive room which was newly refurbished .Excellent lounge facilities but very busy during the evening, even so the flow of spirits, wine and food was maintained. Usual high quality Hilton breakfast, excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PnMLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear PnMLancashire

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time and we hope to see you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

we arrived at the hotle and the looks was ok,then we headed to were we was eatting they had the room looking nice,the food was disgusting the staff was rude,they asked if you was allergic to anything and i did and they did not lison to it and gave me the same food as every one eles i was ill after that and all the people i was with complaned about there prawns was undercooked,the staff was clearen the table as we just sat do to eat are meals.also the bar they made up the drink was warm and very expensive.glad i was not stopping the night

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Emma

I was sorry to learn that you did not seem to enjoy your party experience. In contrast we have received very positive feedback from many party goers who attended the party, who thoroughly enjoyed their meal and found our team o be very friendly and helpful. However, your comments will be passed to the relevant management for their review.

I hope we may welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here with my 2 sisters and cousins for a concert at NEC on check in wasn't great monique sorry if I've spelt it wrong, however was very rude and cheeky, needs re training was no help at all as we had a slight mess up with the rooms so she advised us if we didn't like our rooms to go and stay elsewere ... However really enjoyed our food and service in the bar, on checkout spoke to Mark Lane, who was very helpful with the check in situation, and also Keith who offered to pick our car up, he was also very helpful with a friendly smile :) overall hotel was brilliant, beautiful and very clean was a great stay .. Would come bk again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Jody

Thank you for your review.

I was sorry to hear that you felt our Receptionist was less than friendly and helpfull when you arrived to check-in. Your comments will of course be passed to our Front Office Manager for his attention.

I was pleased to see that you had enjoyed your experience in the Lounge and that you had found Mark and keith both helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back aain soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Birmingham Met with my 3 friends, very dissapointed on check in as my rooms had been cancelled so had to rebook and we all hadto stay in seperate rooms and found supervisor Monica very rude, apart from that, beautiful hotel... And bar staff were great especially Abhinay, and Thomas they couldn't have done anymore for us, we're there at every call and service was great.. If all the staff was like them you couldn't fault the place 1 little bit!
Overall was great, and think both barmen deserve some recognition for there service to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing