We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #73 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cleethorpes
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is the fouth occasion I have stayed here over the past 15yrs.
The hotel seems to have improved in its cusomer service since my last visit 2yrs ago.Conference rate of £99 including breakfast seemed very good value.
Formal dinner in the hotel was spoilt by a luke-warm main course on cold plates.Bar prices remain steep and room internet charege is outrageous.
Had a twin bedded room which was spacious clean with good en-suite.However bed was narrow?2ft 6in and not very comfortable
I also note that "Smoking Rooms" have been re-introduced to those so inclined.
Good point was that a manager was available in front of highly efficient check-out desk asking about any problems that had occured as guests were departing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
TravellerCleethorpes

Thankl you for taking the time to provide ayour feedback in relation to your visit to the hotel.

I am pleased that you found your stay to be good value for money. I regret that your plates were not as warm as they should have been and your comments have been shared with our management team.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    1,511
    1,216
    684
    484
See reviews for
525
1,071
329
2,462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in mid October. Despite shiny lobby and corridors the room felt very dated. It felt like stepping back a decade or two ago! It was clean though so not a massive issue. Nice breakfast although ignorant staff at the restaurant that wouldn't even attempt to smile. Overall not a bad experience considering how big the hotel is and the number of rooms staff has to cater for.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gugute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here when I went to see Killers in the NEC, if you are going to a concert or event would recommend you stay here as is only a short walk from the NEC and if you are feeling energetic you can also walk to Train station !!

Rooms are of a Very High standard, having stayed at a number of Hilton Hotels I know what fabulous standards they provide and this hotel was no different. Breakfast was very good again to a High hilton standard.

Staff are very polite and customer service is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelsUK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear HotelsUK77

Thank you for your review of your visit to the hotel.

I was of course very pleased to see that we had met your expectations and you found our staff polite and helpful.

Hope you enjoyed the concert and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards



Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were really looking forward to a spa experience at this hotel and were disappointed. Firstly, be aware that you have to pay for parking whether a guest at the hotel or just a visitor using the facilities. We got around this by being dropped off within the 10 minute free drop off time. Second, we were surprised to be charged a non-returnable £4 for the use of a robe (£6 if we had needed slippers). We are regular spa users and have never before had to pay a
non-returnable fee for robe use - seems a bit mean. The changing rooms were clean and there was a reasonable amount of space in the cafe area for drinks and snacks/meals. Unfortunately on our day we found the pool side area and certainly the jacuzzi far too cold; not something you expect from a spa. A regular leisure centre user commented that her usual one hour swim had to be cut short after 20 minutes as the pool was so chilly. Fortunately the sauna and steam room were spot on and we warmed up in those. We did pass on our comments early on in the day and were told 'maintenance' would sort things out - unfortunately there was no noticeable difference in the whole time we were there. Drink and food prices were as you would expect for a hotel so be prepared to pay up - we found the afternoon tea for two at £16 the best value 'lunch'. Included in our voucher deal were two treatments - both taster sessions; a 30 minute hot stones shoulder/back massage and a 30 minute facial with Elemis products - perfectly pleasant experience. We had a relaxing day because we were ready to chill out whatever. Guess we got what we could expect for a hotel spa deal but surely it should have been warmer! Would we go back? No. Certainly not at the regular day spa price and not even for another voucher deal. What a shame Hilton, you could do so much better with just a little more care of your clientele.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mundaych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Kingfisher

Thank you for your comments.

I am sorry that on the occasion of your visit the pool temperature was not at its usual temperature. I understand there was a technical issue that had been addressed and given the size of our pool it took a little longer to reach the desired temperature, i do hope this did not detract from your overall enjoyment of the day. As with most hotels, any non residents wishing to use the leisure club facilities are charged a token fee for robes and slippers.

I was pleased that you had enjoyed the afternoon tea.

I do hope you reconsider returning to the Spa in the future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Metropole whilst working at a conference in the NEC. Fantastic location if you are attending an event at the NEC. Very large well equiped hotel. The room was clean and quite comfortable. The breakfast had a very wide selection. Expensive parking. The rooms aren't very sound proof, a wedding was taking place at the same time and myself and colleagues were disturbed by the noise from downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KattyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Katty England

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

Whilst I was pleased that you had overally enjoyed your stay I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from an event we had at the hotel. I do hope this did not detract from your overall enjoyment of your visit.

We hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Staying in a single room here on the 5th floor - am at a conference and am pYing the bill myself. Room is very cold. Radiator not working. Peeling wallpaper. TV picture quality reminds me of watching TV in the highlands in the 1980's. Tacky furniture and room in desperate need of a refit. I have stayed here several times before but this room is a disgrace. Will let you know how my stay is if I don't freeze.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked 5 rooms for the British Ski Show and money was stolen by the room maids in 2 rooms. We then had to make sure that no rooms left nothing of value in rooms during the days. Immediately reported to management and security who absolutely assuered me that it would be investigated. Absolutely nothing done - no feedback - nothing. Convenient hotel but be aware that some some steal from rooms and nothing is done.

Just in the process of cancelling loyalty cards and have booked an alternative hotel for next year.

The very minimum of standards of hotels (let alone a 4-star) should be honesty and the ability to leave your own belongings in your own room without being stolen!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Swisstravels

We were most concerned to learn of the loss of your foreign currency whilst staying at the hotel. As confirmed to you at the time, our Security team did indeed investigate and interview the Room Attendants. However, we are convinced that our staff are not responsible for the loss of any money during your stay at the hotel. I understand that we offered to call the Police, however you decided you did not wish to do so.. We would always be willing to offer any assistance to the Police with their enquries, as we take allegations such as these extremely seriously.

I can also confirm that our Security team did try to contact you following your depature with the outcome of our investigation, however the telephone numberyou had left was unobtainable.

I do hope your mislaid currency did turn up and hope that you may reconsider returning to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,795 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing