We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply appalling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #73 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Luckily we only checked in for 1 night after a trip to the NEC, and that was one night to many. We booked a twin room, when we arrived the room had 3 beds setup and you couldn't move, there was no room what so ever, even with the 3rd bed packed away it was the smallest room I have stayed in. The decor is dull and tired, the bathroom was filthy and very tired. It is in desperate need of a facelift, the communal areas are the same, and haven't seen a paint burst in the last few decades, over all over priced and way over rated.
The staff, they don't care, they are rude and very unhelpful, don't try and order anything at Costa, we waiting for 15 mins to be served, the server was the rudest person i have encountered in a hotel, and how do they get away charging double the amount of a motorway services, what a rip off.
There are plenty of other hotels at the NEC so do yourself a favour and avoid this one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Steve

I was extremely surprised to read your review.

I regret that your room failed to meet your expectations in that you felt it was a little too small. Perhaps you may wish to try one of our larger rooms if you visit again.

I can advise that the hotel has recently undergone a major refurbishment, which includes the communal areas, so I am at a loss to understand your comments.

We usually receive very high praise indeed for the helpfullness and friendliness of the team here and am disappointed that you felt this was not the case in your experience.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,414 - 4,420 of 5,507 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

was there for wedding reception, which was excellent. Catering for 500, carried out superbly. Food, location etc first class. Room ok, nothing special. Very busy with some convention, had to fight through a crowd to get to breakfast the next morning, along with working my way around people setting up exhibits in the hallway. Bar very busy and noisy, but staff very nice. Not anticipating a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Paul

Thank you for posting your comments in relation to your visit.

Whilst i was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed everything in relation to the wedding reception, i am sorry that you found the hotel a little too busy at this particular time, due to a large Convention we were hosting at the same time.

I do hope you will reconsider and return again soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night begining of October 2012. We got the night as part of a 1 night stay and 15 days parking as we were going on holiday.

This i found was a good deal for the price payed.. but after our night stay im just glad we didnt pay any more.

We stayed in the Sherbern suite, was a nice spacious room. Bathroom ok, shower very small for the size of the room, bath ok. Clean but toilet wouldnt flush most times. Only down side to the room.

Hotel is of a good size with a range of bars and eateries. Bar's a little expensive to say its not in London!!

Over all - glas it was only for the nightbut would only stay again if we got same package at same or lower price!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu180889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Lulu

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel.

I'm glad you found the fly and park deal you booked good value for money.

I do wish we'd have been aware of the maintenance issue you were experiencing at the time, as we have a full time maintenance team who are always on hand to rectify any issue. However, i do regret any inconvenience this may hae caused.

I do hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in from arriving to departing we were made to feel at home .the doorman was very helpful and showed us the quickest way to the ,nec,the reception area was immaculate and the staff very friendly and helpful ,the room we had was lovely ,very clean and very comfy beds, they have all the facilities you could ask for,the restraunt was very clean and spacious the food very good with a wide choice to suit most peoples tastes ,we would recomend this hotel to everyone and will definatley stay here again thank you to all the staff for making our stay a memorable one..graham and paula from barnsley.....

Room Tip: executive suites are the best though a little dearer ,the doorman was very helpful the reception sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Graham and Paula

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that you had enjoyed your stay so much and that our team had make you feel welcome and valued.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A very busy hotel which operates on the basis that the majority of visitors are well catered for. Our room was tired, small and full of tobacco smell. The bar was barely able to cope despite the efforts of pleasant staff. Reception staff dealt with checking-in and checking-out, but were not interested in trying to resolve any problems " it's the weekend and the person responsible isn't working ". There was confusion and inconsistency regarding the room rate charged.
Food was good, car park full, generally not a great value hotel.

Room Tip: Keep negotiating and get a reference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 352PeterE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Peter

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room. You might find one of our larger room types more suitable for your requirements when you next visit.

We do endeavour to service our guests and visitors as quickly and efficiently as possible, however at busy times, thyis can always prove a little challenging despite our best efforts.

I was glad to see that you had enjoyed your dining experience whilst staying with us and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nothing special, have stayed in hotels far better than this that do not have the Hilton name.

Single room, radiator stuck to on so had to sleep with door open.

Car parking a nightmare. Was almost full must have been a Conferance on. That will be why the lift lobby was full of rubbish and hiding the lifts!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank melonycraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Melonycraig

Thank you for your comments.

I was sorry to hear that you experienced a fault with your radiator. Our Maintenance team would have been only too happy to have rectified the issue if they had been made aware. Nevertheless, i apologise for any disappointment caused.

When the hotel is busy our car park can fill quite quickly, despite having in excess of 700+ parking spaces. As with most venues, this is something that can be experienced at busy times.

I was surprised to read your comments regarding the appearance of the Lobby and have shared this with our Executive Housekeeper.

We hope we may welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have stayed here a few times now and each time I haven't had a thing to complain about. My last stay was a particularly busy weekend but still, the rooms were clean, the staff were friendly and the food was great.

I have a feather allergy and the bedding was swiftly changed to synthetic with no fuss and when we asked for an extra pillow, the staff member remembered and brought a synthetic one.

Due to the amount of people at conventions, the wait time for food was an hour in the bar this one night. We said we would come back down and did so, there'd been a mix up and they were only just on with our food. It came shortly after that and we were able to sit down at an empty table by that point and we were also offered a complimentary drink.

When I left I found my car battery flat. A member of staff lent me his personal jump leads so my friend could help me start it.

We used the pool facilities this time too and the staff in there were also very helpful and friendly.

All in all, another fantastic stay at the Hilton and I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Karen

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us.

I am glad that we yet again met your expectations and that you had another great visit.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,926 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $91 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing