We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect Clothes Show weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The perfect Clothes Show weekend!”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My cousin and I stayed at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole for two nights over the Clothes Show weekend in December. We booked online through the Hilton website and received a substantial discount, so that starts us off very well!

We arrived late at night and were welcomed into the beautiful hotel reception with a smile. Our room was fantastic, on the top floor and really well presented. We ordered a meal from room service which was delivered promptly, hot and delicious, and the lovely Gurpreet who delivered it was really sweet.

Our room was cleaned and tidied while we were out, they even made our beds and folded our pyjamas as we'd left them in a mess! They also delivered a dental kit to our room when we realised we'd forgotten our toothpaste.The bathroom was very clean and we had fresh towels delivered. There were also shampoos, conditioners and body washes left in the bathroom for us to use.

The breakfasts were really good too. Not only is there a buffet featuring everything you could imagine, there's also an omelette and pancake station where you can have an omelette made to order, which I did, and it was really very good!

The location is perfect, just a couple of minutes walk from the NEC main entrance, and Pendigo Lake is right next door. There is also a gym with pool, steam room, sauna and spa, which we made full use of, and the spa treatments are well worth getting.

All the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, they even let me park my car at the front of the hotel so we didn't have to walk so far with lots of bags. I would definitely recommend this hotel whether you are visiting the NEC or not. Fantastic stay!

Room Tip: We opted for the Deluxe Twin room, so a bit more spacious than the basic. We had a view over the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    1,471
    1,187
    674
    474
See reviews for
507
1,049
327
2,403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel with a friend's daughter, we had an Executive Twin room which wasimmaculate and ready for us to check in more than 6 hours earlier than expected which was a nice treat! All the staff we encountered from arrival to departure were attentive and seemed very genuine. The cleanliness of the hotel was perfect and had we known beforehand there was a very beautiful pool we would have definately gone prepared! We ate a evening meal in the lounge which was spacious and very large yet was very well organised with a team of very professional and attentive staff. The food was beautiful and arrived very quickly after ordering. We ate breakfast in the Executive lounge and Jill who attended to us in there was a star, a credit to the company. Overall we were extremely impressed, loved every minute and would definately return!

Room Tip: We had a lake view on the 1st floor, nice to have a lot of daylight and could have been anywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jif81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Jif81

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review.

I was absolutely thrilled that you had enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and don't forget your swimwear next time.

Kind regards



Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting NEC.We stayed in one of the king suites was absolutely fantastic! Room was cosy and extremely clean. Bathroom was very modern bathtub was amazing. Was a perfect hotel for the NEC would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Canary2

Thank you for your great review following your recent stay with us.

Our King Suites are very spacious and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Had an early morning meeting in Birmingham on the Monday so checked out the prices at the Metropole for the Sunday to avoid a crack of dawn start. Very competitive so booked - the train took the strain and after a reasonable walk from the station a very pleasant check in and upgrade to Exec - the benefits of HHonors! Superb service in the lounge, ideal time to relax and read the papers for the following day. Early morning swim in the superb pool, a quick breakfast in the lounge and then off to the station feeling fresh, relaxed and well prepared - would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolkdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Suffolkdale

Thank you for your recommendation and I am pleased that you had relaxing stay with us prior to your meeting.

I was delighted that you had the opportunity of using our lesiure facilities - a visit there is the ideal way to relax and pamper yourself.

Thank you once again for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stay at many business hotels in a working year and espcially Hilton asey have an extremely good loyaly scheme.
The reasom the Birmingham Metropole stands out for me is its location, capacity and above all the quality of service and friendlyness of the staff. They are well trained, polite and helpful. I spend many nights in London and the room rates are excellent here. I usually go for the food package which is great value for money and food is A1. Brackfast is always busy due to the size of the hotel but the restaurant is well staffed and they work to clear tables and serve tea and coffee.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallTNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Having had a not so good experience in Montego Bay Hilton we were a little apprehensive about our hotel choice. However, could not be more wrong!
The staff were some of the best we've encountered and being used to Sandals Resorts we know what good staff should be like. Hiltons staff across the board were highly professional well trained and lovely people. The hotel is of a high standard and being foodies were totally impressed by both the amazing buffet variety and the high standard of the restaurants made it a foodies heaven. Our stay was fantastic. Would not stay anywhere else when visiting Birmingham.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Hopeclan

Wow! What a super review. Thank you for your kind comments, especially regarding the professional way our staff our trained.

I was very pleased that you found your dining experiences to be such a pleasure.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the HIlton Birmingham Metropole very soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The room was freezing no heating!
Some of the staff were rude.
Got waken up @ 8.30 by the fire alarm !
Need a make over !
Decor s dated!!
And to top it all had to pay for the car park!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebel96x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing