We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good”
Review of The Gables Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Birmingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #107 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not good”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

the hotel is dirty and damp in an old fashioner look the bed dirty and look like a building site and it is now closed become the lost of money for the revamp of the hotel and the new block

Room Tip: look before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    5
    7
    14
See reviews for
2
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ely
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was a last minute booking by a colleague and it will be the last time he books a hotel for me! Rooms were tatty, stained and unchanged bed linen! one even smelt very strongly of cannabis and the door lock didn't work! There is nothing left to say other than avoid if possible!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ely_yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I wasn't expecting much for the price but I found the 18th birthday party on a friday night a bit too much when I'd been working and was up early for another busy day...wasn't even warned!! Room was quite nice, simple so make sure you take shampoo, hair dryer etc. The people were lovely,one member of staff specifically who seemed to be doing everything! Breakfast was great, although I didn't get the chance to taste the cooked breakfast. Had a meal one night in restaurant, which was delicious! although the dirty plates were still there when i went down for breakfast. Overall- I wouldn't stay again! sorry.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday eve before an early flight next day. We are OAPs and had had a long journey. We were greeted with grunts and indifference, our money removed from us before seeing the room. Room 1 was approached past several bags of dirty laundry in the corridor. It had a kettle but no cups, tea etc. a flat screen TV was on in the room when we arrived and we turned it off with difficulty. The room seemed to be a dumping ground for random old furniture. The "en suite!" was minute, not very clean, a broken tap on the sink, no shelving, minimal towels and mouldy grouting everywhere. Wires hanging out of walls, only one feeble working cental light, bed like a board with springs poking through, pillows like biscuits. Filthy radiator planted in middle of floor and whole place stank of smoke.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madmax33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

I stayed there some time ago, as its convenient to mosely centre. The room was filthy, visible dust on the bedside table, dirty bed linen, flithy.
The most shocking thing was that presumably the previous occupant had left diarorreah in the toilet....and it was still there! Disgusting.
I was glad to leave the next morning. The breakfast was meagre, I'm vegetarian and was given the smallest amount of beans on toast I've ever seen and nothing more.
I've stayed in some great places in my time, hostels, B&B's, hotels, campsites etc....but dont go to this place...it was like a scene out of Rising Damp!

Room Tip: Avoid unless desparate or drunk or both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank public-citizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Arrived to find a full blown wedding reception in full swing, could have been made clear over the phone when making the booking. The room was small, no real problems with that, but it was really dirty, the sheets were stained, the walls had stains all over them, the ketttle had hair inside. Basically when you start finding things, you delve a little deeper, and i found the room to be manky. Light fittings were damaged, the TV was broke. I had booked in for 2 nights. i had arrived late, so had no choice to stay the night, but i checked out in the morning, (after the manager tried to convince me i was in the wrong).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bt3599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We booked online through a travel site & paid 1600 for executive room. Huge spacious room. Only concern normally is that rooms are not well maintained.... Toilet walls, room curtains are not good enough (they r bad at times)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank vinehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Rowton Hotel Birmingham
#104 of 117 in Birmingham
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Beeches
#82 of 117 in Birmingham
174 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Property: The Gables Hotel
Address: 43 Oxford Road, Birmingham B13 9ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Moseley and Kings Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing