We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find, Good Value”
Review of Westbourne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbourne Lodge
Ranked #5 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Find, Good Value”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Booked as a result of TripAdvisor reports and given excellent information on phone. Arrived on a dark and wet night after tourteous road journey to a warm welcome. Room clean and tidy with a super en-suite shower and facilities both of good size. Quiet night with no noise be it road or other guests. Breakfast cooked to order and of excellent quality and presentation in a large but homely dining room. For information there is a bar adjacent to residents lounge. The owner was very friendly and could not do enough. The free wifi is excellent and fast. The TV is ok with good choice of channels. Good size fitted wardrobe with plenty of hangers and plenty of towels. There are shops including a Tesco's and an Indian restaurant within 2 minutes walk. I would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westsussextraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    21
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
50
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

A warm welcome. The staff were all lovely. Very friendly and helpful even sourcing a phone charger for me.

The room was large and aesthetically pleasing. The bed was very firm. The shower room provided me with the essentials and the towels were sumptuous. The whole establishment was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was ok and once again the staff were fabulous.

There is very limited private parking, although street parking is available.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Lovely b&b, breakfast was very nice in the morning and we arrived late that night but the owner was very friendly. The room was clean and it was a nice change from hotels. The b&b is about 5 minutes out of town but we just caught a taxi which was cheap. Very nice change from staying in hotels, and the bed was comfortable it was like being at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

All hotels in the City were booked or at a high premium so deceided to give this place a try. Nice, Clean. Excellent Service. Faultless. Arrived late however this wasn't an issue and was easy enougth to find, Receptionists were friendly. A car park in front. A nice place to stay! Not too far from the City either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip2hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This must have been a very busy weekend as we could not get a room in our usual hotels. We were a little disconcerted to be further out of the city but this proved to be a most restful stay! When we arrived we were welcomed like family. Our room was large, with flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Bathroom was large with good shower and bidet too! No late night revellers returning or fire alarms going off! A perfect night of sleep. The night was frosty but room very warm. No need for extra heating or bedding but they were there in case. If we had needed there was a small bar, extra tea making facilities and a lounge to sit in.
Breakfast was served in a pristine dining room that overlooked a pleasant garden and this, in a built up area, was most pleasing. No choice was too much trouble, was good food and all was served on tasteful crockery with quality cutlery. We were directed back to city by owner who gave good local advice. So pleased we stayed. Would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Googled this B&B, read previous reviews and was NOT disappointed. I was greeted with a smile after a long journey and shown to an upgraded room which was very warm, very clean hospitable and very comfortable.
In addition to being a B&B, Westbourne Lodge offers travellers the extra facility of basic self catering in a well equipped kitchen - VERY handy when travelling on your own and you don't know the restauranats in the area. In addition to the tea / coffee facilities in the room, there was also free tea / coffee / soft drinks available in the dining room until 10.00pm at night. The breakfast was substantial if you could have eaten alll that was on offer. Norma was very hospitable and would do anything to ensure your stay was comfortable. I stayed two nights and I shall certainly return here if I need a B&B in Birmingham. Another bonus was its close proximity to the centre - could have gone by bus which Norma informed me ran every 8 minutes. She was also very good on suggesting routes to avoid the morning traffic when driving. FREE WIFI was a great bonus. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned home after a lovely nights stay at Westbourne Lodge. From the moment we set foot in the door to the moment that we left we were made to feel like royalty. Our room (no 10) was large, clean and homely. The bathroom was large and spacious and spotlessly clean. Tea and coffee facilities were available and if you ran out you just go to the dining room to restock. Breakfast was fab. The owner Norma was a lovely gracious lady who went the extra mile to make us feel welcome in her home. We will definitley return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
585 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 117 in Birmingham
72 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne Lodge

Property: Westbourne Lodge
Address: Fountain Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B17 8NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Harborne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome waits for you at Westbourne Lodge, a traditional family run lodge offering high standards of hospitality and service. There is free off-street parking in a quiet location less than 2 miles from the city centre. there is a regular 24 hour bus service from the corner to the city All rooms are ensuite with television, a desk and free internet access. Complimentary hot and cold drinks are available till 22.00. There is shared use of a fully equipped kitchen and laundry and private garden available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westbourne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing