We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and food!”
Review of Annexe

Annexe
Ranked #150 of 2,204 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $22 - $103
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Oozing laidback bohemian charm, Annexe Restaurant crafts refined continental cuisine. An exciting, innovative new Mediterranean menu from a chef of Michelin pedigree brings flavours from around Europe - predominantly France, Italy and Spain. All this in a vintage atmosphere full of family style warmth and soul.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had a great meal at this lovely restaurant. The chocolate dessert was gorgeous! Service was excellent the best I've experienced in a long time. The whole evening was a great experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    265
    88
    40
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
370 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Went on TA recommendations and certainly not disappointed. Throughout the staff were exemplary and could not have been more helpful. The restaurant is going very deliberately for the French cafe society look and does it pretty well.
The food is good but not spectacular (hence 4 not 5 stars). I found the menu a little lacking in imagination. There was basically steaks and seafood for main and not much else. Would have loved a little more variety. I had the smoked haddock twice baked soufflé to start and whist it tasted lovely the consistency was not what was expected (not really any soufflé element to it). Maybe a bit picky and I would certainly recommend ths place and would go back. You really feel you matter when you are there I just feel they could do even better to go to the top level

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Vibrant city restaurant with touch of French cafe atmosphere”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We booked this v popular restaurant 1 week in advance and could only get a 6.30 sitting, but this gave us a nice evening wandering round the German Market. It was quiet on arrival but soon filled up. Very attentive waiters/waitress saw us to splendid table with bay tree (on investigation plastic). Black and white film being screened to add atmosphere plus music. We had cocktails then a shared platter of seafood (mussels, salmon, prawns etc with dipping sauce), followed by steak or trout or scollops. We ordered sides but did not really need it and portions were good. Sides were good but was quite full by then. We had two very reasonable bottles of wine at £20 a bottle. Relaxed and no hurry even thought someone would be arriving to replace us later. Total cost was in the order of £25 excluding drinks. Quality of food was excellent, not Quatre Maison excellent but one of the best meals at this price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Speigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Wonderful food,great wine and amazing service. Don't be put off by the local area, we hada great evening and cannot recommend the restaurant enough

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best french restaurant I have been in Birmingham”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

very narmal restaurant when u look outside, BUT when you come in, comfortable environment and staff is Brilliant!!! That MR SMILE is the best service waiter I never seen.
Food is delicious and especially the dessert!!!
Strongly suggest!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annexe also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Annexe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing