We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Ranked #53 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel booked through a Living Social deal, and it was great value.
We had 2 family rooms (109 & 110) and they were spotlessly clean. Comfy bed and pillows. Great shower. Full size mirror and decent hairdryer (very important for my partner!) Breakfast was the usual holiday inn express buffet, not bad. Free wi Fi throughout the building. We also booked discounted theme park tickets to Drayton Manor which worked out a good saving as a family of 5.
Didn't like having to pay for parking but other than that a very good stay and we would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a great day out at Drayton Manor Theme Park. Look out for more special offers coming up in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    185
    57
    14
    13
See reviews for
104
117
14
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Arrived early evening and went to the upper car park through the right hand barrier (left hand one goes to the lower car park)

Car parking is £5 or £3 if you're a member of the Priority Club Rewards membership scheme. This is added to your bill.

The upper car park is not covered by a roof but is secure (has barbed wire around the fence) and is covered at night by security lights. Bays are of a decent size and plenty of spaces.

Great check in with Daniel - very friendly and no hassles checking in - everything was explained including the times of the breakfast.

We were allocated a double room with sofa on the 5th floor.

Good security here as you need your key card get through the doors to allow access to the lift and stairs area to reach any of the rooms.

The room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was as good as more expensive hotels I've stayed in. No shampoo or conditioner provided but there was some Lux soap in the shower and at the sink.

Blue mood lighting can be put on if you wish!

A decent enough hairdryer was provided as was tea/coffee facilities. Plenty of towels and on the bed you could have soft or firm pillows. The bed was comfy but there is a noise that can be heard during the night even though our air con was off. Sounded like a fan going on then off - quite loud at times.

The window can open a little allowing fresh air in. We had a view of the back of some houses and the car park so we could see our car was safe.

TV had a free-view type section of channels - but sports ones could be viewed downstairs in the lobby area and at bar.

Would be nice if the TV could turn a bit more so it would be easier viewed on the bed.

The whole room was spotless.

Nice modern decor - only thing I could see was several scuffs to the paintwork - something to keep an eye on and freshen up often otherwise things will look scruffy.

Decent and free WiFi throughout the hotel - Excellent! All hotels should have this as a free service.

Breakfast was good too served in a bright modern decor room on the ground floor - several selections of cereals, fruit, pastries, cheeses or you could also have toast, scrambled eggs, sausages and beans - as well as hot and cold drinks.

There were several TV's showing Sky news in the breakfast area or there were newspapers at the reception.

For the £52 paid inc. parking and the free breakfast this is an excellent value for money.

However what dropped this hotel from 5*'s was some members of staff - Heading back from breakfast 2 members of housekeeping on the 5th floor just around from the lift were having a moaning session about someone - Not in front of the guests please it's unprofessional.

Then on check out the female member of staff with dark hair who was on duty wasn't very nice (This was just around 10 am 07/05/13) She really needs to go on a customer service course.

I said I would like to hand the key card back in and said the room was already paid for - OK she said not taking her eyes away from the screen. Was it too much effort to ask if I enjoyed my stay? Anything I can help with? Was everything OK with your room? Have a good journey maybe??

As no further chit chat I had to interrupt her computer work again and asked can I have the pin for the car park to get out then? She stated the 4 digit code again not looking up from her computer screen - great I said. Again no further words from this member of staff, no smiles, no eye contact. Sorry I disturbed her computer work!! Geez.... I found this very rude behavior from a front of house member of staff.

The hotel also has a couple of vending machines on site £1 for a small bottle of fizzy drinks. There is a pub and several takeaways nearby. The area around the hotel was a bit rough in places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27L09R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and constructive review. We appreciate you spending the time to go into detail and can see that you are a Senior Contributor and are well-travelled! The members of staff mentioned in your review have been spoken to and your comments will be taken on board to help us further improve the service we offer to all of our guests. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

stayed for a couple of nights in april whilst visiting family who live local, new clean and very comfortable, breakfast included, great value, and wifi included, awesome value, would stay again,
:) local for birmingham city centre, local for NEC, local for public transport, but really for us was a family visit, we had just travelled from NZ and needed a couple of nights to recover, so this was perfect for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_oo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. Our comlimentary Express Start continental buffet breakfast and FREE WiFi is available to all guests that stay at our hotel. It's also nice to see that you found our location convenient for both Birmingham City Centre and the National Exhibition Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed 1 night here with family and booked 5 rooms at a very good rate including the complimentary breakfast. The hotel is spotless and the guest rooms are very comfortable, with Queen sized beds and a super shower room - loads of space in there!

The main down-side is the quality of the bar meals in the evening. The pasta was very dried out with little sauce and the burger was not good quality and unappetising. However, the breakfast was fine and included scrambled egg, sausage and beans on the hotplates, then a variety of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, toast/bread, pastries/croissants and teas & coffees including decaf and Rooibos and green tea.

All in all we would return as this hotel is well located and served by a decent local bus service and plenty of taxis which the helpful and curteous reception staff were more than happy to arrange fo us.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious but have no wardrobe, only hanging space with 6 hangers but adequate for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We currently have a new menu in the restaurant so the kitchen are still getting used to some of the dishes. I will pass your comments on to them to help further improve the service they offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean and tidy, looks almost brand new, rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is the best I've seen even compared to more expensive hotels. Despite a room facing onto the busy main road there was very little traffic noise, air conditioning keeps the room cool if you don't want to open the window. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel (a novelty compared to many hotels). The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's always nice to hear that our free WiFi came in handy! Don't forget that, with the upcoming re-branding of Priority Club Rewards (changing its name to IHG Rewards Club), all Gold and Platinum members will get free WiFi at every IHG property worldwide from July 2013. From July 2014, this benefit will be extended to all IHG Reward Club members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here mid-week before a meeting and was impressed with the hotel.

There is plenty of parking available for £5/night (£3 for PCR members), straight through the barriers at the front of the hotel off the main road.

Check-in was friendly and the room was very spacious for a HIX with four windows overlooking the A45 (double-glazed so no noise problems) and back of the rows of shops next to the hotel.

The hotel is fairly new and is the modern style of HIX with blue colour scheme and proper bathroom without the double-door. Other reviewers have commented on the hanging/storage space for clothes; I did not have a problem with the facilities but the hotel is geared towards short-stay guests clearly.

Food in the evening at the bar was pretty good and the food/drinks were reasonably priced.

Breakfast was the typical HIX set-up, the same standard as other hotels. Reasonable selection and the food was fine.

Overall a good value stay with friendly staff; I will return when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner overlooking the A45 are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice new hotel. Smart rooms, large well equipped bathroom. Stayed for a week. The only downside is lack of food choice. The service was abysmal. Took an hour for my starters - a bowl of tinned tomato soup! One night the meal I requested was not available. Don't expect to get served in a rush. Breakfast was much better though. Good choice and you can help yourself! In and out in 10 mins. For the evening, you are better off going for a curry at Balti King next door, great food and excellent service!
Would use Holiday Inn again, but perhaps not this one as there is nothing else in the area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bikerboy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at our hotel. We are always looking at ways to improve our evening meal service and will therefore take your comments on board. We have recently had a new chef start that is offering a new menu as well as daily specials. I will happily pass your positive comments onto Balti King too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,212 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-South a45 Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing