We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location close to the city centre and Birmingham airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed her for one night after a late evening flight and due to have a meeting in Birmingham the following day. Good safe parking and friendly staff. Usual Holiday Inn Express accommodation, but one of the modern latest hotels in the chain.

Would recommend for both business in southern areas of Birmingham and airport. Looked like a good selection of local restaurants and pubs for eating, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottDay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that our location half way between Birmingham City Centre and Birmingham Airport was handy for you and that we were able to uphold the strong values and standards that a Holiday Inn Express should offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 515 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

A couple of weekends ago I and my partner stopped at this hotel. From the reviews we had read on here we thought it would be a good place to stop and it also fitted into our budget per night. After a hectic day Christmas shopping in Birmingham itself we wanted to get settled into the hotel straight away. When we arrived and had parked in the hotel car park we went to reception were we quickly checked in and were told what number our room was and how to get there. On arrival in the room it looked very modern and stylish, especially for the price. The bathrooms in the hotel all seem to be smart. I know this is a new hotel but for the price you pay, you don't expect a smart room as you get at this hotel.

Had no issues during the night from roadside noise or other occupants in the hotel. And also had no issues with the comfort of the beds etc as we found them to be very comfy and had a good nights sleep.

In the morning we ventured down for breakfast and there was a wide range of cereals on offer alongside toast, croissants, fruit and yoghurts. There was also a hot selection of sausages, scrambled egg and beans. For the hot food you had to be quick as it was gone in a flash and the person working was forever going backwards and forwards topping up the empty dishes. We had a good breakfast and then returned to our room to gather our belongings and then checked out.

Little note for anyone thinking of stopping at the hotel.. There aren't many places to eat nearby unless you go into Birmingham itself. There are a few takeaways nearby but that is about it. I would suggest eating in the hotel restaurant which has a small selection of meals such as fish and chips, curry etc or travel for about 5 minutes and find a supermarket which we did and buy some bits from there.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be ok but if you are looking for a midweek stop, I would suggest to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt120791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an informative review of our hotel. It is feedback like this that really helps us improve the service we offer to our guests. Our breakfast is always something we're working to improve and we understand that, during periods of higher demand, the hot food can go very quickly. We will be taking these comments on-board to help us try and work arounds this. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Having to go to Solihull for some family stuff, found this thru Laterooms.com, used it on the 18th and 20th of December, very clean, efficient check in, and staff very friendly, but, the scrambled eggs for breakfast where way, way over cooked

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRisino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately the scrambled egg can dry up under the hot lamp if not eaten quickly but the kitchen do try their best to change this as frequently as possible. We're always looking for feedback to help us improve our service so we will glady take this on board. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for one night, found hotel was really nice, rooms are great and very modern, bathroom was superb.

Bar was ok, but limited food on the menu.

Breakfast was nice and hot and plenty of choice

Not a lot around the hotel, but next door to a shop and a decent Indian restaurant. Don't go in the old bill and bull pub, unless like sitting amongst doped up local kids and strange old men!!!! Avoid like the plague!!!
If your there for one night it's great and good access to Birmingham and the airport, but use the underground car park.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0d_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a positive review of our hotel. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your complimentary continental breakfast with three hot items. We're always working on improving our restaurant offering in the evening, so will gladly take your comments about this on board. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South during the Clothes Show Live at the NEC.
The Hotel is a great base for both the NEC and Birmingham City Centre situated about a ten minute drive from either location.
Inside the Hotel is modern and stylish, very clean and as the building itself is small it is easy to find everything that you need ie; restaurant, lifts etc
The staff at Reception were both very friendly and attentive during check in, recommending travel routes to the NEC and offering advice on bus times etc. I genuinly felt as though the team were interested in us as guests without being intrusive.
Breakfast was included in the room rate which was a welcome surprise. Small selection of hot items, and all the usual continental choices you would expect. It was all self service so we were able to have as much as we liked (which we did!)
Overall we had a great stay at this Hotel and despite our initial misgivings on location found it an ideal base to travel between the two areas of the city - highly recommend staying here.....

Room Tip: You should be ok at this Hotel rooms wise, all are modern, stylish and are quite obviously newly bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dangel37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

We really appreciated your positive and informative review of our hotel. I will be passing all of your comments onto the relevant departments and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is new, clean and large rooms. I was really impressed especially I got the room for under £40. There is a secure car park within the complex. I was extremely pleased. Also if you walk out of the hotel and got to the right, there is a great indian restaurant. Reasonably priced and great food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fitzy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. As a Holiday Inn Express, we strive to be a Great Hotel that Guests Love. I will also be sure to pass your positive comments onto Balti King next door!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Spent another great night at the holiday inn. Went to staff party and stayed rather than getting taxi home. Room brilliant clean tidy and bed comfortable. Staff polite and helpful, breakfast ok. Special thanks to Daniel and and Katy who located my lost!!!purse and manager Zoe who ensured we were all happy with services. Not located in the better ares of Birmingham but parked car in secure parking and can't fault anything . Well done in time of recession great to find a hidden gem

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyson2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for leaving such a positive review of our hotel. We're glad to hear that everything was ok with your stay - I will be sure to pass your comments onto the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45

Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $51 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-South a45 Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing