We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Ranked #50 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a great find”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

What a fab hotel for the price - great room, free Wifi and a huge shower (no manky shower curtains here)
Worked late into the evening so didn't eat at the hotel (not sure I would have anyway) but you'd need transport to get to a restaurant as there doesn't seem to be anything nearby (only negative for the hotel)
Looked a good selection at the bar (only sampled a bit)
Breakfast was good (and included in the price)
Will certainly stay again if overnight needed in the South Birmingham area

Room Tip: My room was on the 4th floor overlooking the main road and I wasn't disturbed by noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for leaving such positive feedback about our hotel! As a Holiday Inn Express we are proud of our free continental buffet breakfast with three hot items, available to all of our guests. We're also glad to hear you made use of our free WiFi! The closest restaurant to us is Balti King which is only a two minute walk down the A45. Your positive comments will be passed on to members of staff and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    185
    57
    14
    13
See reviews for
104
117
14
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were really pleased when we arrived at the hotel. Friendly staff with easy check in. The room was well decorated and very clean. When we first entered the room I was concerned that I could hear the traffic due to being on the roadside but as soon as the window was shut we couldn't hear a thing. Really comfy and spacious room. The night we were staying the restaurant wasn't open but the staff on reception offered us takeaway menus which we used. After our evening out we returned to the hotel to find the bar still open which was great and the bar staff were really friendly and helpful (though my drink was ruined somewhat by the use of cheap coke). Had a great night sleep, the room was really dark, bed was comfortable and we were giving a choice of soft or hard pillows. Breakfast was basic and we were surprised that there was no bacon on offer. But there was enough choice to keep us happy and didn't affect the stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am happy to hear you felt that we were good value for money and found our staff to be helpful. We appreciate your feedback on our breakfast which is a complimentary breakfast offering and although it is limited by Holiday Inn Express Brand Standards to three hot items: sausage, scrambled egg and beans; we also offer ample choice of cereal,breads, croissants, toast, hot drinks, yogurts and all for free which I am sure you will agree is excellent value for money - especially when familys stay!
We thank you for the time you have shared with us and the positive comments you have posted and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed in the Holiday Inn on the 26th September, even after messing up my booking myself by booking the wrong date. The reception staff were really helpful and moved my date to the 26th with no fuss.

The hotel is located halfway between the Airport/NEC and the city center. About ten minute drive depending on traffic, which can be bad. The hotel itself is very modern and spotlessly clean.I had a lovely room on the first floor. I will be back in Birmingham in November and will be staying here again.

Thank you again to the lovely staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niall0byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. Our team here work very hard to deliver a consistent, friendly and professional service and will be very proud again to receive such a positive review as it recognises their achievements. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Overnight stay, hotel appears new or recently refurbished so rooms very good - modern, clean and well equipped. Staff friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend staying there, but would not recommend the restaurant. Having struggled to find the menu, which was clearly then just printed off, the selection was very limited. The meals appeared to have been straight from the packet via a microwave and not really good. Breakfast buffet as you'd expect from HI Express, basic but ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your comments on our restaurant facilities as we are always looking to improve the guest experience at our hotel. We are glad your had the opportunity to take up the offer of our complimentary three hot choice breakfast , which is a Holiday Inn Express FREE offering for all our our guests . We are delighted you found the hotel to be comfortable and we take great pride in the friendliness of our staff. I will pass all your kind words to the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Truly disappointing! From the time I checked in until checkout. The receptionist was untruthful. I asked how many floors in the building and she said 4. I get in the elevator and there are 7 floors. Next day I complained my sheets had holes in it and the window had a diagonal crack across it. I was informed they know about the crack and the sheets come back that way sometimes. This hotel is less than a year old.
I have to say the rooms are nice and the bathrooms are decorated nicely. This hotel is more like IBIS hotels than a Holiday Inn. The complimentary breakfast was nice and the presentation was great. Not your typical complimentary breakfast. Great selection.
The staff on morning and afternoon shift left a little to be desired. It was almost as if they had an " I dont care attitude. Okay, checkout was painful. I stood in line behind two couples, the desk was not manned. After a couple of minutes I asked them if they were being helped. The reply was no and I knocked in the manager's door. There was no reply and one of the couples went to go search for a receptionist. Finally, after painful waiting we all check out and that wasn't a smooth process. Of course the manager never appeared. I was so frustrated I left without asking for the manager.

Room Tip: Good location on conventry road. Within walking distance to Asda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of cleanliness and quality and its level of service and for this reason we find your comments very troubling and will certainly look into all those comments raised and can only deeply apologise for the unacceptable level of service that you received from our staff during your stay .
We sincerely hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last night as we were in B'ham for a family wedding. Absolutely perfect stay and defo recommend. Hotel looks new, nice & modern inside. Fantastic room (loved the bathroom & shower especially), friendly workers both on the desk and around the hotel. Got breakfast straight away this morning & it was replenished quickly and efficiently. Staff were on hand to help & offered to clean the plates etc from our table as we were getting up. Good selection of breakfast foods/drinks. Free wifi. Bargain at £39 (2 adults & 1 child but could of slept up to 4ppl). Loved our stay - the best holiday inn we've stayed at so far (and we've been to a few all over).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Z86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a pleasant, positive review it is always a delight to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Rooms spotless in fact the whole hotel was superb. Don't know how they do it for what they charge. Staff were very friendly and efficient, we often visit family in Birmingham and we will definitley stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel which was fine for us, but if you like to sleep with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay here. We do work hard to achieve the very high standards of IHG and all the team will be pleased to know you have has recognised their hard work and have been kind enough to have taken your time to post your recognition onto Trip Advisor for future guests to read and have knowledge that we do have a superb offering. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,210 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-South a45 Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing