We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to chill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to chill”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend and just wanted somewhere in a good location to rest at between shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs. This was perfect. The room was small but perfectly formed. I opted for an upgraded room with a window and I'm glad I did. I've stayed at Nite-Nite up the road before which didn't have that option and it did feel weird not knowing the time of day/weather until you got up and went out. The quality of the fixtures and fittings meant I didn't feel like I was in a budget hotel. The design meant we didn't feel claustrophobic and the staff were warm and welcoming. Only drawback was that I wasn't told that 'late checkout' at a cost of £20 meant that I had to leave at 1:30pm so I was a bit put out to be told that on return to the hotel at 4:30pm! But to their credit, a big deal was not made of the issue and I was ready to leave anyway so no harm done.
Bed was comfy, bathroom/shower great. Just wish there was underfloor heating as the bathroom floor stayed wet after being used.
I'll be back, and look forward to the new 'long stay' apartment rooms being available :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaffraJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Great review thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    352
    127
    39
    34
See reviews for
39
412
98
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night by myself, the rooms are small but I knew this already, they are very well laid out and really well designed! No window which I also knew about, this felt strange but was good in one way as it was pitch black when the lights went out and I slept so well! Beds are really big and comfy! Nice TV mounted into the wall! Ceiling shower is also divine! Only things I can really moan about are no kettle for a cuppa you have to pay for a hot drink. I'd stay here again, I like modern and it's good just to have a sleep and not too expensive!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAdyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for the review. Hopefully you will be back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Headed up to Birmingham on Sunday for a gig at the National Indoor Arena and was very happy with choosing to book a room at the Bloc! Very pleasant stay - all staff encountered were polite, helpful and welcoming; room was clean and comfortable; and the walk to and from the NIA was very quick and simple. Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
I hope you enjoyed what you saw at the NIA! Thank you for kind words regarding BLOC hotel and it's employees. I will pass on your comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here for the first time last night and will certainly use again. Very friendly staff, and a double room on a Thursday night was £65 without breakfast. Free wifi and the room (opted for with out window as slightly cheaper) was decorated very funky with new wet room all very clean. The room is small, but perfectly adequate for a place to rest a weary head, and a pleasant place to be with flat screen tv and comfy bed. Parking at the NCP just around the corner also discounted to £5.50 for 24 hrs if you ask at reception.

There is no restaurant as such, but there is a handy welcome pack in the rooms with suggestions for nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollymuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. Reviews like this are great for other readers to view and make their choice on hotels to stay. Hopefully you will use BLOC again if you re-visit Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here a few times now and will always book here when visiting offices in Birmingham. Perfect for the short visit and business traveler and offers excellent value for money. This hotel is my first port of call when visiting Birmingham on business. :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Booked quickly for an event I was working at. My room was fairly well equipped apart from no drink making facilities; which I normally like in my hotel stays. The room was cozy and despite no windows relaxing enough for the one night stay.
Lovely surroundings outside the actual hotel and really close to the city itself- a gentle stroll and your there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bloc, and were pleased with the modern and quirky bedroom. The staff were a little prickly, but this could have been because we arrived at about 10pm, and they had probably been working for a long shift. Could have been a bit dark but lovely big window. The only big downside was the walls were not soundproof as advertised. In fact, we heard a lot more noise than we have in any other hotel. This was not a particular problem for us, but I can imagine if you had rowdy neighbours or trouble sleeping this would be a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
3,484 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing