We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Claustrophobic" but not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My train was cancelled and I needed to stay one extra night in Birmingham, thus I needed a last minute and cheap solution. I chose this hotel as it costed next to nothing and was rather close to the city centre. Guys at reception desk were very nice and helpful and location was nice (in the Jewellery quarter and close to Snow Hill railway station), but I didn't feel that safe at night going back alone to the hotel after dinner, as the neighbourhood was dark and desert. My room and bathroom were really small (Japanese style), as I suppose were the other rooms, and I had no window. Food&drink vending machines are located at 1st and 3rd floor and I could not sleep very well due that I had one right next to my room and I could hear people walking and inserting coins in the machine until late at night. A very positive aspect was the wifi connection (free), which worked properly and was very fast both in rooms and in the lobby. Unconventional hotel, avoid if you're claustrophobic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irene_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

I'm pleased to hear that you found the hotel a good affordable option to use as your train was cancelled. With the vending machines, we have put extra cushioning inside the machines to help with the noise that some guests may experience should they be light sleepers. You mentioned you didn't feel safe walking back to the hotel after dinner. As the dark nights are closing in and being a solo female traveller myself I would tend to get a taxi back to where as I was staying if I did not know the area too well and felt unsafe. The Jewellery Quarter is such a lovely part of Birmingham and there are plenty or local restaurants just a short walk away along well lit streets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a find!! we were going to Lasan by St Pauls square and wanted somewhere cheep and chearful to stay overnight nearby, and thats where we found the Bloc. It cost next to nothing and was perfect, The rooms are very small compared to most hotels and almost like small pods, quite funky with mood lighting all have onsuite wet rooms. They have everything that you need for an overnight stay. The rooms were imaculate and beds are very comfortable. there isnt breakfast included but that didnt matter as we took a carton of juice and some croissants with us , there is a nespresso machine in the lobby area that anyone can use free of charge.
Would definately recommend this as a cheep and chearful place to stay overnight. The car park is a 2 minute walk and with the ticket they ive you when you leave it only cost £3.50 for 24 hours. definately stay again whenever in Birmingham.

Room Tip: If you get somewhat claustrophobic then make sure you book a room with a window!! Otherwise all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

What a lovely review, thank you! We find a lot of people who dine at Lasans make a night of it and tend to book rooms at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, as it's just around the corner. There is a small charge to use the Nespresso machine in the hotel of £1.50 for either tea or coffee, however should people bring their own tea and coffee to use within the rooms, hot water from the machine is free. We hope you enjoyed your meal and look forward to you hopefully staying again with us in the not so near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I recently stayed here for one night. First impressions were good. A nice warm welcome. It would be nice if tea and coffee facilities were in the room however these are provided in reception. It would be easy to provide these on the bed side table. The mood lighting is lovely however shows up the dust clearly on the wall which wasn't the best. However I must say all in all I was impressed and would certainly book here again if I needed a quick stay. I think one night would be enough though.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeHarrisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and bringing to my attention the dust you saw on the wall whilst sampling the mood lighting out in the room. I will be speaking with the Housekeeping Team to make sure they put their feather dusters to work as this is something that should not be overlooked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a fabulous place to stay for just 1 night. The bed is the most comfy bed I've ever slept in. The wet room is superb. Everywhere is extremely clean. Even the coffee that you can purchase is of great quality albeit a bit expensive at £1.50 for a teeny cup. Negatives: The girl on reception was a bit cool and seemed to be working on autopilot. They could do with instructions for the coffee machine too. Not somewhere you would want to stay for longer than 1 night due to lack of space in the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you found the receptionist 'a bit cool'. Normally guests are quite complimentary about our employees. I would like to know when you stayed so I can identify the employee and provide them with some more customer service training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel exceeded our expectations.

very clean and a great atmosphere, the room provides everything you need. the only downside is there is no car park however the multistory car park is only a 2 minute walk and was only £3.50 for 24hours if you ask at reception.

will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrortag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Great review! Glad you liked the hotel. Hopefully you'll be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Booked two rooms for a catch up with a friend. It really is two rooms for the price of one - around £100 for two pod like rooms...
Room small but functional with excellent wet room, tv and mood lighting.
Not sure I'd want to share with a friend mind as you can look over into the bathroom ... You'd want to be on intimate terms me thinks...
That aside, excellent place and location and will stay again when next in Brum.
Hope bloc expands to other destinations around the UK

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deansw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

You will pleased to know that bloc hotels are expanding! Bloc Hotel Gatwick will be a 244 bedroom hotel opening in Summer 2013 and Bloc Hotel Birmingham will be adding 24 long-stay apartments scheduled also to open at the end of the Summer 2013. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Use this place on every stay in Birmingham, would not choose any other. Rooms are small, but comfortable, very well designed. Staff service is as always first rate, always a pleasure to deal with them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VoiceOnRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

It's always nice to hear that the hotel continues to meet peoples expectations a year and a half after opening. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,129 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,279 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
424 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $50 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing