We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"My most favourite Indian Restaurant"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chilli and Spice

Chilli and Spice
Ranked #1,117 of 2,195 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Indian, Italian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hall Green���s unusual Chilli and Spice brings together two very diverse worlds ��� the Indian restaurant and the British public house. The combination, of course, works well with the large Horseshoe pub giving over a section of its rather glamorously modern interior to the flavours of Asia. Stunningly appointed, Chilli and Spice feels like an elegant, sophisticated restaurant and appropriate for romantic dining as much as for a quick curry with friends. With a pedigree straight from five star hotels of India and Dubai, the Chilli and Spice kitchen knows its way around a spice rack, offering a wide selection of excellent Indian dishes freshly prepared using extremely good ingredients.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"My most favourite Indian Restaurant"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have been a very regular visitor of this restaurant for past two years, I can happily say I never had a bad bad meal. I have been to almost every top Indian restaurants in and around Birmingham and In my opinion this is simply the very best. I introduced many of my friends to this restaurants and they are now regulars.

David

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidSG121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have been to Chilli and Spice several times and can definitely say that it is one of the best Indian restaurants in terms of food quality and portion size. You can ask for the dishes to be prepared according to your taste, I have only tried the Indian menu but the English menu looks just as good. The only negative point that I have is that the service is quite slow and we usually have to go to the bar to pay as no-one approaches the table after you have finished your meal. If they can train their staff to attend tables in a timely manner then this restaurant can definitely give some of the other main ones a run for their money!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasbir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We took my Dad to Chilli and Spice for Father's Day and had a lovely meal. It was great that they had an authentic Indian Menu alongside an more traditional English style menu as my brother doesnt like spicy food, especially in the evenings. He had sea bass and we all tried the Indian menu which was in a different class to most of the 'balti style' restaurants in the area. It was good value although the service could have been a little better - we had to ask the waitresses several times for some things such was jugs of water, additional drinks etc and they could have been a little friendlier.

However, overall it was great food - really tasty and beautifully flavoured. The surroundings were stylish and I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Growlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply the best..................”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

having eaten at Indian restaurants for most of my life including the big names in London, this restaurant was simply the BEST! Starters were tasty and generous in proportion. The main courses were varied in taste and again generous in portion. Then to top it all....the desserts...simply sublime! I went with my wife and 3 children (two aged 14 and one aged 21) who like all kids love burgers and pizza;s and buffet type fares like all kids etc. But they all agreed this food was delicious and the best Indian they had experienced! Compared to a lot of high priced restaurants, the rices here were very reasonable in view of the quality of food and portions offered. Presentation was superb.....like something off 'Masterchef'! Recently sent my niece there with friends....all agreed 'best ever Indian'!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyOvFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian food really special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Been several times over the last year and cannot fault the food. The atmosphere is ok and the staff are very willing. Highly recommend the Indian food. Especially the tandoori prawns and Dahl and mixed gril. The chef is willing to do special dishes if you ask and the results have been very good
Favourite restaurant in Birmingham

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bagsandscarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli and Spice also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Chilli and Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing