We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid breakfast”

Cafe Rouge - Birmingham New Street
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Avoid breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Never been here for Breakfast before and will not rush back. The scrambled egg was like rubber, the toast stone cold and the bacon as dry as cardboard . Avoid!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    63
    35
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
414 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Welcomed and allowed to sit near the window.
We had to wait for menu's and collected them ourselves. After that the service and attention improved.
We had the batons with garlic butter and aoili, then the chicken with broccoli, mash. Beautifully cooked, presented artistically, great prices.
There was a good set menu for 1, 2 and 3 courses but we were spoilt for choice on the food and went with something we really enjoyed. This was our dinner at 6.30pm.
Definately enjoyed this, good price with wine and soft drinks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Good food, good service.Limited menu but i take it that is the style of the chain.Eating area is functional ,Cafe style not restaurant style. As this was the first time I had used one of this chain I did not quite know what to expect.Overall a pleasant meal and I would go back again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank whilans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripponden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A let down to French cuisine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I've been to (various) Café Rouges three times now - I don't know why I keep returning! Maybe it's my love of French cuisine and my hope that one day, just once, Café Rouge will live up to French expectations! Alas, it NEVER does (and I'd know, I used to live in France!) This visit was no exception ...

Service - verrrryyyy slllooooooowwww at first, then couldn't wait to berid of us!

Food - EXTREMELY over priced (£10 for a small, burnt baguette sandwich at lunch time!!!), bland and (we've all seen the under cover documentary) clearly warmed up in a microwave.

Atmosphere - Nice Francais touches here and there, but mostly clinical, corporately decided with no personality nor comfort.

Toilets - okay and clean.

It seems amongst discussion that most people think it has good potential, but does not live up to expectations/representation due to bad quality, over priced food and bad service in ALL establishments!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is the 2nd time I have ever entered a Cafe Rouge and this was the last. The food is overpriced, below average and not well represented. I would recommend to anybody thinking of eating in this establishment to consider going to Gregg's before hand. At least you will get what you have paid for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Birmingham New Street also viewed

Sheldon, Birmingham
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing