We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money - excellent food and service”

Celebrity Indian Restaurant
Ranked #142 of 2,195 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
South Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money - excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited Birmingham for a concert at Symphony Hall. The concert was starting at 8:30 - so we were keen to eat beforehand. We didn't want to walk too far from the venue - so headed down Broad Street. My husband is an Indian-food-addict - so it was not long before we came across Celebrity's. We had previously eaten at The Blue Mango - and were disappointed - so relucantly I agreed to look at the Celebrity menu.

Celebrity's overlooks the back of Symohony Hall - where the concert stuff is set up. It is also at the start of the canal walk. We were shown to a window seat - so we could see all the concert hall activity - which was fun.

We opted for the Early Diner Special - which offered 3 courses for £12.95. Poppadums and chutneys were offered as a "fixed starter". I ordered Onion Bhajees and Chicken Rogan Josh and my husband went for the more adventurous Lamb Tikka starter and North Indian Garlic Chill Chicken. We added a peshwari naan as a side. All dishes were well presented and very tasty. Service was good - and done with humour.

We would definitely eat here again...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    152
    57
    39
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
205 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Good quality food with a varied menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I ate here twice during my stay in Birmingham and the food was excellent on both occasions. I had the best chicken shishlak ive ever tasted and the main courses werent just geared up for the average beer monster they came with taste and the spices shone through on each dish i tried. Service was excellent and the only down side was a dish was added to opur bill which we didnt have. Otherwise a great authentic Indian restuarant with good food at a reasonable price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SwissTonyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Top quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went here on the 20th of July. Very, very good! Top notch food and service.The wait, well there was none really. There was ten of us. Got a table in no time, the orders were taken very quickly and it didnt take long for the food to come out.

One of the best curry's I think I have had. My only gripe is that its possibly a little expensive (especially the wines) but thats the way it is at any eatery of quality.

Would go back again and would highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfiep2001uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food - issues with bill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a great meal, prompt service, lovely tasty food. However the bill had to go back three times to get additional items removed - seems the staff were having a gamble and adding stuff on to all the bills - we were't the only ones to complaint!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dirty tablecloths And bad boy waiters”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Went on a Thursday night with tastecard called 10mins before and got a table. On arrival waiter sitting in foyer on phone I thought he was customer. Tables close together and no air con and no fan heat was unbearable! servIce was quick
All waiters were very young
Rude boys.
Starter had veggie taal, samosa was made of filO pastry and undercooked.
Main had spinach paneer and chana masala. I ordered a naan which they forgot about. Food was a little bland but service was quick. Weren't asked if wanted dessert menu so paid bill and left. Morning after pungent taste in mouth and dodgy stomach. Paid £28.
Wouldn't go back. Disappointed

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank San K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celebrity Indian Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Celebrity Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing