We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and average”

National Sea Life Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.73*
and up
SEA LIFE Birmingham Admission Ticket
Ranked #49 of 300 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dive and be wowed by the many strange, beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep as you journey through the amazing underwater world of The National SEA LIFE Centre Brimingham. Prepare for astonishing close views of everything from humble starfish to tropical sharks. To get any closer you'll have to get wet!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The que to get in is always long, the centre itself is clean and there are activities to do, the ticket price is very high and not worth the money, the cinema is good, overall would never pay that price, the whole thing only lasts 45 mins

1  Thank sukhandraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hi sukhandraj,

We apologise that you encountered some queues during your visit. Unfortunately during peak holiday times and weekends the centre can become busy and so we recommend visiting during off-peak times if possible.

We’re sorry that you felt our prices were high; we recommend booking online for the best price guaranteed with tickets starting from just £10.

The recommended duration to go around the whole centre depends on the amount of time taken at each exhibit. The average duration is around 2 hours.

We’re sorry you were disappointed and we hope your next visit is more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"underwater tunnel"
in 70 reviews
"penguin enclosure"
in 49 reviews
"sealife centres"
in 39 reviews
"star fish"
in 37 reviews
"glass tunnel"
in 36 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 81 reviews
"gift shop"
in 138 reviews
"school holidays"
in 73 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 108 reviews
"half term"
in 61 reviews
"booked online"
in 40 reviews
"rainy day"
in 52 reviews
"cinema experience"
in 48 reviews
"brindley place"
in 53 reviews
"book in advance"
in 32 reviews
"car park"
in 57 reviews
"sharks"
in 303 reviews
Filter

2,897 - 2,901 of 3,274 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

The place feels cramped and as it was v busy when we went it was difficult for my children to see everything. It's also very expensive sadly. Won't return unless the tickets are on offer.

1  Thank Muirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hi Muirie,

We’re sorry you felt our attraction was expensive. We have recently changed our ticket prices to provide better value for families of 2 or more people. Advance tickets booked online start from just £10.

We apologise that you faced some queues within the centre, unfortunately during peak holiday times and weekends the centre can be busy. We recommend visiting during off-peak times to avoid this.

We’re sorry you were disappointed with your visit and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited here in December with our 3 children 4,2 and 1! We had BOGOF tickets and the 2 youngest got in free. If I've had of paid full price for everyone, I wouldn't have given 4 stars. The displays were ok, the kids were quite interested in the rays and otters. Was disappointed that some of the displays didn't work. The 4d cinema was the highlight. We spent about 1 and a half hours here as was the first in and managed to see everything. The kids enjoyed it.

Thank kjg29102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hi kjg29102010,

We’re sorry you felt that our prices were expensive, we have recently changed our ticket prices to provide better value for money for families of 2 or more people and advance tickets booked online start from just £10.

We apologise that some of our displays were unavailable during your visit. Occasionally we have to close down a display due to unforeseeable creature circumstances such as illness.

We’re glad you enjoyed your recent visit and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went with a few friends from London, never been before but found it great a experience, lots to see and i would recommend it to anyone visiting Birmingham with family and friends

Thank YusufUkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hi YusufUkaye,

That’s FIN-tastic that you enjoyed your recent visit with us! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went as a family of 2 adults and a young teen. We are staying in Birmingham for a half-term break and thought this would be a good chance to add some mileage to Merlin annual passes. We had visited once before about 11 years ago and found it very much as we remembered it except the photo opportunity in the entrance has been removed. I thought the place was nicely kept. The tanks were all clean and the occupants healthy. All the staff we met were friendly. We saw the otters being fed, listened to a talk in the tunnel and watched the 15 minute 4D show. It added a nice diversion on our tour of The Mailbox, Brindleyplace and Museums. We probably spent around 2 hours there It was quiet when we were there - there was 1 wheelchair and 2 prams making the tour. This did seem to cause blockages in some narrow areas. Manoeuvring of these seemed like hard work! The Centre was very popular with younger children which seemed to be at odds with the peace and gracefulness of the exhibits. I think in busier times it may be frustrating and cramped. I probably wouldn't have spent the £30 the website was asking for entry but I quite enjoyed it. We decided to score all the places we've been this week (while waiting for lunch) Sea Life scored 7/10 even from our teen!! Go early though - to avoid queues and what looks to be an attraction that won't cope with the masses well.

1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hi Nicola M,

We’re glad you enjoyed your recent visit with us! We hope to see you again soon for another Turtle-y awesome time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Sea Life Centre also viewed

 

Been to National Sea Life Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing