We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ideal for visiting more than once”

National Sea Life Centre
Ranked #24 of 284 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dive and be wowed by the many strange, beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep as you journey through the amazing underwater world of The National SEA LIFE Centre Brimingham. Prepare for astonishing close views of everything from humble starfish to tropical sharks. To get any closer you'll have to get wet!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not ideal for visiting more than once”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our second visit to the National Sea Life Centre and it shows. This is definitely a place to visit once in a blue moon as the displays change very little.
Clearly the fish are looked after and given plenty of room and enrichment. It was a nice idea to allow visitors to touch a star fish and a sponge - quite different in texture and quite odd to feel.
For the second time the otters were no where to be seen and because of the screaming school children must've been very scared. So my advice don't visit on a school day to avoid the school trips.
We chose to watch the 4D film, Turtle Vision, as we hadn't seen it before (Happy Feet was on for our last visit) and we were very impressed. A great story and a good use of motion, water sprays and change of temperature.
I was impressed more on my first visit and hence wouldn't advise multiple visits close together. There is no longer a restaurant which is a shame.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank robj_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi robj_1992,

The SEA LIFE centre strives to be different from others and aims to update its own distinct displays regularly, for example we have just launched a Jellyfish Discovery exhibit which is currently only available at Birmingham that you may wish to explore.

We’re sorry you didn’t get to see our otters during your visit. To guarantee this, we recommend attending one of the scheduled otter feeding demonstrations, on every day at 11.30am and 3pm.

We’re pleased you enjoyed your visit overall, particularly our latest film Turtle Vision, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    927
    985
    630
    223
    121
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great attraction for all, in the heart of Birmingham”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We decided to visit the National Sea Life Centre in Birmingham during the Winter on a cold day, as it is an indoor attraction.
We did purchase discounted tickets on line and managed to save 50% off entry prices, even on a Saturday (Busy day).
There was a small queue, although in the Summer I can imagine this attraction been very busy!!
Well worth the discounted ticket price, took around 2 hours to have a leisurely look around at the various exhibits.
The sharks and Rays were especially good!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_ElitePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Matt_ElitePhoto,

We’re glad you enjoyed visiting the attraction recently, and hope to see you again soon for another FIN-tastic time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“sea life centre birmingham”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

went on a friday after noon thought price was a bit high at £18.00 each for adults and the 4d cinema was not working. excellent for children wonderful sea creatures and plenty of activities for children to see and do on your way round.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wiss j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visit with our annual Merlin pass. All the Sea Life Centres I have been to tend to be very similar (with one or two unique exhibits) and this is no exception. This one has a 4D cinema which is fun.

Our kids always enjoy the touch pools and the feeding demonstrations/talks are always interesting.

I would not pay the gate price as there always seems to be a voucher or discount to be found somewhere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NunnyNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi NunnyNick, thanks for your review! We’re glad you enjoyed the 4D cinema.

Although they have some similar displays, each SEA LIFE centre strives to be different from others and has its own distinct displays, for example we have just launched a Jellyfish Discovery exhibit which is currently only available at Birmingham that you may want to explore.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good for the kids”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a saturday, we lined up outside in the cold!! There is no space inside. thankfully we had prepayed and we were called in to the fast lane. we decided to take a buggy for our 1 year old. i wouldnt recamend this as walkways are not very wide with bits of the walls jutting out snagging wheels. All in all pretty good....but to say this is our NATIONAL aqurium is a bit embarrasing....it looks old and tired. the one in yarmouth is better. But having said that it is fun for the kids

Helpful?
2 Thank myvitriol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi myvitriol, we’re glad you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Sea Life Centre also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to National Sea Life Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing