We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

New Alexandra Theatre
Ranked #39 of 284 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The New Alexandra Theatre, commonly known as the Alex, is a theatre on Station Street in Birmingham, England.The theatre currently seats 1,371 and hosts a busy programme of touring drama, West End shows and stand-up comedy. It was the home of the D'Oyly Carte Opera Company between 1990 and 1997. In January 2006 the Alexandra Theatre changed management once again, to be managed by Live Nation, a company that specialised in concert promotion and large venue operations. It is now owned by the Ambassador Theatre Group, and after a minor refurbishment the group renamed the theatre the New Alexandra Theatre.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went to see John Edwards 29th Aug 2013.and had seats in Dress circle.

Theatre is very unimpressive from the outside - dull drab and dark. Inside however is a complete contrast - warm, welcoming, bright, full of life.
The whole place just throws out character everywhere.
Staff all smiling and friendly.
No real crush to get to seats.
It may just have been the type of show but it really felt like you were there WITH everyone else rather than just being stuck in the middle of a place full of strangers - there really was a good feel to the place.
Views, sound, lighting all brilliant.
Would expect that almost any type of show would be great seen hear.
One issue - seating comfort. It is an old theatre and in most cases this is good and gives it the character but the seats are not very wide and leg room is minimal. After 2.5 hours in the seat we were feeling it a bit in the legs and rear end. This would not stop us going again but if you can get an aisle seat or a front seat so you can stretch your legs then do it.
One surprise was that none of the bars would serve an alcoholic drink, even though they had them. I am not a big drinker but it was a special night out and I would have enjoyed a beer.
ACCESS and PARKING - it is into the centre of the city so traffic is quite heavy but we got there no problem although it took 1 hour 45 minutes to drive the 26 miles. Parking is excellent and plentiful within a 2 to 5 minute walk - we paid £3 for just under 4 hours so not ripped off either.
Seating is the only reason I would not give a top rating.
A great theatre and although I moan a bit about seats, changing them might ruin the character of this wonderful place.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND A VISIT.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank stobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    193
    108
    47
    59
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“really good views, reasonable prices, easy to find”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to see D. Brown and have booked to go and see Ghost in December. We went for a pre drink in the Island bar next door with very strong but nice cocktails! The show was really good... I dont want to say too much as its still touring but I was surprised it was so good plently of surprises. We also have some wine at the bar in the breal and they were reasonable prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
562 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“greeat theatre”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

we have been her loads of times to see shows, the place is a gem, nice bar area. great theatre and helpful staff

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
562 reviews
360 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Been here many times to watch lots of different acts. It does seem older and darker and smaller than the nearby Hippodrome but that's good, isn't it? That's what proper theatres are all about. I would go and see anything here. Great theatre.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rayraysworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hilarious Antics - 'Noises Off' by Michael Frayn”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The stage contained a very clever set..... a living room, which turned inside out when required so that we could see what went on 'backstage' as well as the mad antics 'up front'. There are seven doors which members of the cast dash in and out of at breakneck speed. One actor, David Bark-Jones, falls down stairs with his trousers round his ankles (skilfully avoiding a broken neck!), a female actor, Thomasin Rand, spends a good deal of time in her undies but all the members of the cast are to be congratulated for a clever and very funny production. I don't usually enjoy 'slapstick' but these actors worked so enthusiastically at their comic situations, their faultless speaking of many, many lines - these must have been a nightmare to learn. The play has an easy plot, but calls for impeccable timing and actors who can seemingly run around for the whole evening. Even seated, I felt exhausted. Neil Pearson (Drop the Dead Donkey) took on the domineering role as Director of this slightly dysfunctional theatre company who were trying to rehearse their next production 'Nothing On'. He startled me at first by appearing at my side, walking down to the stage amongst the audience. This is a 'play within a play' - excellently penned by Michael Frayn. Ended in Birmingham 29th. June, but if it came your way, I suggest you try very hard to see it. A very happy night out!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquarius19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Alexandra Theatre also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to New Alexandra Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing