We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel
Ranked #67 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with excellent service.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst on business in the city. This is one of the better Best Western hotels I have stayed in. It is nicely decorated and very clean. My room was a nice size, extremely clean with a modern well appointed bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was a buffet style help yourself affair. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly. Overall a pleasant hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The Westley Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    134
    54
    21
    15
See reviews for
61
82
12
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just had my wedding at the hotel, we had a package where we got married there had the wedding breakfast and evening reception at the hotel and they even provided a complementary room for the night. In short the hotel did a excellent job and gave us the most perfect day. Staff were friendly and attentive the duty manager on the day was fantastic food was excellent and the room was great can't thank them enough!

Room Tip: Go for the executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ade r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent wedding and overnight stay. We are glad we could be a part of your special day and we hope to see you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We enjoyed another night away with food at the Westley. They have added a carvery option to the dinner menu, we didn't try this as the rib eye was just too tempting. Room was a little warm to start with this time but we suspect that was just the weather warming up. Only slight hiccup this visit was a query on the bill where they hadn't accounted for the dinner, but there was no problem getting it corrected.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardB191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your return visit to The Westley Hotel. We do now offer the carvery on Saturday night as well as Sunday daytime. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Recently stayed here with family, nice small friendly hotel, room was nice breakfast was lovely was staying for weekend to attend concert so didn't get chance to spend much time as I would of liked. Reception staff were very helpful enjoyed stay recommend quite central not far from town cheap taxi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19KellyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Westley Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Well I'd love to give this place top marks but couple of points prevent it, I'll allude to later.

Needing somewhere close to the Grand Union Canal and good transport links, (train Station is only 10 minutes walk away), to walk the canal from Warwick to Brum Center we booked our 4 day stay through Tesco, to be very happy for value. This hotel was perfect, reception staff so helpful and prompt in helping arranging Taxi for place less well served.

We arrived to a bustling hotel hosting a wedding reception, proficiently checked in and directed to our room with dedicated staircase, and fire escape! Room perfectly provisioned for our needs though overly warm on arrival. Generally giving a good night's sleep. But not all nights, be fair music from public bar did finish at midnight, the Karaoke was horrendous for our room 2 floors above, rooms below must have been unbearrable! Then the night portage banging around below dropping bags in the staff rooms and the corridor below Half, blocking for our desent for breakfast (H&S????).

Restaurant provided a very good value meal selection and supurb serving staff including breakfasts when open (not open Sunday or Bank Hol Monday Night) when not open the bar meal was poor as an alternative chips with chips, so we were left wanting so headed into local streets to find somewhere.

Generally this hotel does well, the bar/disco/karaoke serves locals well but not guest Saturday / Sunday. Would recommend this hotel but curtail your stay before Sunday.

Room Tip: Aviod Sunday no restaurant, karaoke instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for the review on your recent stay with us at The Westley Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a shock on arrival finding out that although I had a very nice conversation a few weeks before with a booking clerk, she had not actually made us a booking.
This worked out ok because we were given the Executive Suite, although if we had paid for this suite I would have been disappointed that there was no complimentary water or a safe and very limited toiletries.
Nice to have biscuits with the tea and coffee
We wanted to go into Birmingham so turned right outside the hotel, walked to the roundabout and caught the No.37 bus outside Burtons. This journey takes 30-40mins depending on traffic.
The areas you drive through are terrible....very dirty and run down. The shopping area in Birmingham is huge and would take a first timer about 3 days for a good look round !!!!!
Back to the hotel for the included dinner. This was delicious....we had stayed in an exclusive hotel in Bournemouth a few days before but this dinner was much better. Rounded off with the Sticky Toffee Pudding , toffee sauce and a honeycombe topping.....who could ask for more ?
Breakfast was also very nice and the lady who brought our tea and coffee was very polite and helpful. The Bournemouth hotel could not provide me with a yoghurt or any pastries but no problem here.
Free parking was very welcome. There was supposed to be free wi-fi but I could not obtain a signal and on mentioning this on check out was told there had been a problem which had been reported. Too late I noticed I could have used a desk top computer in reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at The Westley Hotel. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to be your hosts again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

my wife valerie and i booked this hotel for my ten pin bowling tournament which was very handy as the bowling alley was 100 yds away.we found the hotel very clean staff very obliging and the room and breakfast e xcellent for the money although the evening meal was quite expensive it was very nice.near the hotel is a very good shopping area and also adjacent to the hotel is a bar which also served food.i would definately recommend this hotel to any one wishing to visit Birmihgham but did not want to be too close to the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at The Wesley Hotel. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to be your hosts again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
420 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Conference Aston Hotel
#57 of 118 in Birmingham
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel
Address: 88 Westley Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 7UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of the leading independently-owned hotels in the Birmingham area, ideally appointed just 15-20 minutes from central Birmingham, the ICC, NEC and Birmingham Airport. The Best Western Westley Hotel is just a 15-minute drive from all major motorway, rail and air links. The accommodation is well-furnished, spacious and all en suite, to make your stay as comfortable as possible and includes free Internet access in all bedrooms and Free Wifi in Public areas. Our Grill Restaurant which offers the finest food sourced through local produce where possible to uphold our corporate social responsibility. The Grill Restaurant is open Monday - Saturday 6.00pm - 9.30pm. At the weekends traditional carvery dining is available Saturday evening and Sunday 12-4pm from as little as £8.95 main course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing