We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Westley Hotel
Ranked #73 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Doncaster
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average place”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It is not a bad hotel, but if you are disabled in any way it is no good there is no walk in showers so its very hard to get a shower. (Im a walking disabled not wheelchair) there are quite a few stairs also. It was a clean hotel but they don't follow up on complaints... Got informed when booking out that we had paid for evening meal was a bit late to inform us of it then and not when we booked (even though I asked her). Not even told where about the room was, reception was far away from the stairs. Mattress was lumpy

Disappointed with the meal we had in the pub

Room Tip: ask for room numbers from 16 upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquiwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at The Westley Hotel. As discussed via email, i am looking into the issue with dinner and will be in touch shortly with the outcome. At The Westley hotel, we do not have fully accessible rooms at present however this is something we will look at as we upgrade our bedrooms for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    138
    54
    22
    16
See reviews for
63
82
14
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum during a visit to crufts last year. While the room was of an OK standard, what was unacceptable was the concert in the function room below us which kept us awake until midnight. Something the hotel had made us aware of, except they seemed to be of the opinion that it was fine for people to be allowed to stand shouting in the car park until after 1AM. Upon check out our complaint was ignored as have subsequent complaints via the survey from Best Western. As a result, despite attending crufts again this year, I will be giving this hotel a wide berth.
Other problems were the room being in such a location that it tired my mother (who had lung cancer and sadly passed away later in the year) out on the trip to and from the car. This hotel is most certainly not disabled friendly due to the lack of a lift.
The breakfast choice is fine if you are not vegetarian as I am. We do not all wish to eat beans and mushrooms every morning. Something that most other hotels seem to be aware of.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJC82SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for the feed back on your stay 12 months ago. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. There have been a lot of changes at The Westley Hotel in the last year. You will be glad to know that our breakfast menu has been enhanced to include more options and a wider variety. We have also reviewed the entertainment and the times that is operates to ensure that our guests get a good nights rest. I hope you enjoy The Cruffs show for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

as our first anniversary was not a very happy stay on 2710/12 the manager had asked us to return to which we have and tied it in to celebrate valenines. Reception friendly upon arrival were given the key for room 8..Bar staff friendly the room clean. tidy and warm.Did not eat in set menu for couples breakfast was much better only had to ask for coffee and orange juice.Will consider staying again and having future celebrations here

Room Tip: if had to pick a fault with room would be next to fire exit door not sure if used as a short cut for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us at The Westley Hotel. I am glad that you were able to return to us to enjoy Valentines weekend. I hope we can be your host for more happy occasions again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Noisy pub, very uncomfortable SINGLE bed, next to noisy road, overly priced restaurant.Enough said! Avoid!

The only positives are that the staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. The rest of the place has a rather nasty smell!

Room Tip: Book at Juys
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Our single rooms do have single beds, however we do offer single rates in double rooms.
We are currently writing new restaurant and bar menus to better suit the needs of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked in tonight to be told that my room was as far away as possible from the karaoke which was taking place in the bar. Dont know how it could be closer as they are singing (badly) under my bed!!! The lamp shades and the floor is shaking! Its also like an oven in my room but I cant open the window due to the people smoking under it. On a positive note the room is ok apart from that and the food was really tasty. I really feel sorry for the staff who are very good and have been left to field a hotel full of angry guests. A nice hotel spoilt

Room Tip: Dont get 10 or 11 unless you want to party into the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindere11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. As you suspected, my reply is that we are working on the remaining rooms that need refurbishment ! The project is ongoing and we now only have 15% of the rooms to go.

On a positive note, i am glad to hear that you enjoyed the bar food and the service provided by the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had high expectations about this place going of the website and all its fancy photographs, how wrong was l. Booked in after work at approx 5pm, hotel looked good like the photographs then as a party of 7 we were told we were going to the town house next door, which was basically a detached house that had been converted into bedrooms. Mine was on the ground floor at the front of the house, when l walked in l was greeted by a slight smell of dampness to compound this there was a dehumidifier in the room. Further inspection l found the wallpaper coming away from the wall in a number of places, a big dark mark above one of the radiators. The bathroom floor was stained by what looked like water dampness and was coming away from the skirting board. There was no hot water in the morning, the single bed had a duvet cover that barely covered the top of the bed, and with my room being at the front l did not get much sleep due to the road noise as this
road was on a bus route. In fairness l did speak to reception and was offered another room but as l
was sleeping for 4 nights they could not offer a room without having to move again, so l said l
would give it a try, but as the week went on l was just to tired to repack and the thought of having
to do it again did not excite myself. Everybody's rooms were in good order apart from mine as to
the title, l cannot understand why this room was offered to myself in this condition and will not be
suprised if l get a reply saying they are busy refurbishing their rooms blah blah you know the story. As for the staff l came in contact with they seemed polite and always smiling and helpful, the food in the bar was tasty and reasonably priced, l would recommend the Westley burger.

Room Tip: Keep away from the front of the hotel due to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with colleagues for 2 nights whilst exhibiting at the Nec, all 3 rooms were pleasant and the bathrooms very upmarket There is a large car park to the rear which makes it pretty secure whilst only a 12 min taxi ride £12.00 from the Nec at half the price of the hotels on the site.

However the best feature of this hotel without doubt is the staff, reception very helpful in booking taxis to and from and the bar staff were very hospitable (cheers guys). We ate in the bar one evening which has the feel of a friendly local pub rather than a hotel bar and food was more than acceptable and reasonably priced.

One downside the wifi which was pretty much non existent in the rooms and not much better in the public areas.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shotokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us recently. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are currently working on an upgrade for the WIFI in guest rooms and hope to have this completed within 2 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon
2.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#69 of 117 in Birmingham
444 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Westley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Westley Hotel

Property: Best Western Westley Hotel
Address: Westley Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 7UJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Westley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of the leading independently-owned hotels in the Birmingham area, ideally appointed just 15-20 minutes from central Birmingham, the ICC, NEC and Birmingham Airport. The Best Western Westley Hotel is just a 15-minute drive from all major motorway, rail and air links. The accommodation is well-furnished, spacious and all en suite, to make your stay as comfortable as possible and includes free Internet access in all bedrooms and Free Wifi in Public areas. Our Grill Restaurant which offers the finest food sourced through local produce where possible to uphold our corporate social responsibility. The Grill Restaurant is open Monday - Saturday 6.00pm - 9.30pm. At the weekends traditional carvery dining is available Saturday evening and Sunday 12-4pm from as little as £8.95 main course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Westley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing