We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Westley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$149
$100
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$95
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$142
$130
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$66
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$100
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$93
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
106
147
58
23
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
147
58
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingwestern hotelslarge car parkwedding venueno liftfriendly hotelsaturday eveningbuffet stylelovely bathroombirmingham centrespacious roombooked this hotelstayed here for one nightannexcarverynec
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 354 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

New Year's Eve experience and well worth it! We paid £130 per couple and this included afternoon tea, 3 course meal (tables presented beautifully), disco, room and breakfast until 11. The late check out at 12 after the New Year's celebrations was great too. Felt the staff at the Westley were all so lovely and friendly. Found the rooms to be clean and the ones we all stayed in were modern. Our first time here for New Year as usually go elsewhere locally but we found they catered for us all very well and a much better atmosphere. Would definitely return again as felt good value for money and made to feel very welcome. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your New Years stay. I am glad to hear that your group enjoyed the experience. We are now busy putting together our Christmas and New Year packages for 2013 and will have these ready to book by February !! We hope to see you all again at The Westley Hotel Soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I use to slee in this hotel for business. However, last week was terrible. There is a room that you can book for your party, that is good for the party, not at all when you want to sleep, that is the usual purpose of an hotel.
I spend 3 nights, I was not able to sleep before 1am.....
I had also this experience in july, it was a wedding.
In summary, I strongly recommand to not book a room in this hotel that is not bad when a party is not organyzed.

Room Tip: Ask a room in the building outside of the hotel for the noise, bad for the breakfirst
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helene-richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us, and i am sorry to hear that you were disturbed during your stay. We always do our very best to allocate rooms most suited to our guest needs such as those in the townhouse. Noise from functions can be an issue for those of our guests not attending a function at the hotel, especially during the Festive Season. We hope to welcome you to The Westley Hotel again soon and would be more than happy to ensure you have a room in the townhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed for one night on business, staff are nice people, car parks is good. Bar area is also good. However had the missfourtune to stay in room 79. Very nasty plumbing problem, bathroom was unusable.

When reported to reception in the morning it was "oh, room 79 again".

Did get 50% off - (would have pefered a shower). But upon thinking about it, from what i had to endure, the fact that i was charges at all was very poor.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 79
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdude66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. As you know we did experience a problem with the plumbing in your room which was fixed as soon as we were aware of it. As we discussed when you came to check out, if we had been made aware of the situation when you checked in or before you checked out in the morning we would have changed the room for you, or provided another room for you to shower in. We hope that you will be our guest again at The Westley Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has good parking, located near a small town centre on the outskirts of Birmingham. Most of the rooms have not been refurbished yet, most are tired and dated. Stayed here a few times now with work and generally it's disappointing due to the accomodation and flaky service. The service of late has declined, the residents bar is rarely available to residents late at night and the service is poor when open. The food in the function suite is excellent, carvery one of the best you will find. Overall expensive for what it is really unless you manage to get a really good rate online.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebud1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stays with us at The Westley Hotel. Having recently taken over as General Manager here i value your feedback so i can identify areas we need to improve on, such as the bar service that you mention. We currently have only 8 of the 37 bedrooms that have not been refurbished, and will be working hard to complete the entire hotel as soon as possible. We do not have a residents bar at The Westley, we have Cocktail bar that is open from 6pm until 10pm, and The Westley Arms Pub which is open 7 days a week from 11am until 11pm weekdays and 1AM at the weekend. After these hours the night porter is always available to serve drinks. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have stayed in the Westley a number of times now, due to travel and work, and really enjoy staying here. Am treated very well by all staff from reception to pub to restaurant, and as a business woman on my own, I am made to feel very welcome and safe. All staff are very friendly and approachable, and always stop to chat to make sure everything is fine.

Rooms are very comfortable, clean and warm, the restaurant food is excellent and not too pricey, but there is also the choice of bar food as an alternative, so plenty of variety. Having stayed in a number of hotels in the vicinity, I now request to stay here, as for me it is a little home away from home, which makes a difference.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigermunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil D, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stays, i am glad to hear you feel the Westley is your home away from home ! The entire team work hard to make all guests feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westley Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews