We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Room and Lovely Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel
Ranked #69 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Room and Lovely Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night and although given a room in the annexe found it was quite large and had a lovely, clean, modern bathroom and really enjoyed the shower! We had a meal of ham, egg and chips in the bar and this was served very quickly and was delicious! Breakfast was equally good and we really enjoyed the cooked breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi worked well.
Only downside was that our room was quite cold as the radiator would not come on. Reported to reception but checked out before it was rectified.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmal S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your stay at the Best Western Westley hotel and also for your lovely recommendation.

Your feedback for accommodation and Westley Arms Pub are much appreciated and this will be shared with the team.

We are proud to offer complimentary Wi Fi and glad to know that it worked well.

Do apologise for the radiator problem however this was resolved just after your departure but sorry for the delay.

Once again thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    133
    54
    21
    15
See reviews for
59
82
12
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We got married here on 29/10/11 /and we had a lovely wedding. as it was our 1st anniversary our children had treated us to stay on 27/10/12 to celebrate. They had paid for a executive room (£81).when checking in we were told we were in the annex to which i had asked if there were any rooms in main building as it was our anniversary i wanted to be in main building to which we were told they were fully booked and it would be much quieter in the annex. When got to our room which was clean and tidy it was very cold and at the front of the building so very noisy and furniture was very dated (don`t think it was executive) it also sounded like there were loads of children in the building and we could here the flushing of toilets and when people were walking about their rooms..When we were in the bar having a drink the DJ asked us to move from our table as he wanted to set up (we undersandd this) but one of the bar attendants had cleaned a table put a reserve on it for her family or friends When we went to breakfast the waitress asked if we wanted coffee i asked if we could have a pot to which she said they are short on pots but will keep topping us up (i had 2 cups). unfortunately i had to ask for bread and orange juice as there were non left. a utensil to put up hash browns and tell the waiter there was a hair in the tomatoes. Filled in the feed back form in the room and left my details and hoped someone would be in touch. upon checking out there were 2 gentlemen checking out in front and were settling their bill and the gentleman paying was asking for a receipt and asked for a receipt for the additional room he had booked yesterday (did not think there were any empty rooms) I think when you book a room it should be made clear you may be put in the annex as our daughter who booked the room felt guilty we was not in the hotel but in the annex.

Room Tip: when booking ask if in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmal S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience.

Glad to see that you have returned to celebrate your wedding anniversary after your wedding last year.

I do apologise that your room was not allocated in the main building and the inconvenience this may have caused.
I am sorry about your experience in the Bar and at breakfast next morning. Please be assured that this is not reflective of the high standards of hospitality and attention to detail associated to the Best Western Westley Hotel.

My only objective is to restore your faith and confidence in our services offered and I will be pleased if you can contact me directly on:

akmalshahzad@westley-hotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Extremely warm welcome on arrival. Staff very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Ate in the grill restaurant on 2 of the nights. Food and service very good. Convenient location 10 minute walk to the train station, only 10 minute journey into the city centre. The only minus was the disco on the Saturday evening in the bar going on until midnight.
Would definately recommend and shall return in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmal S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
May I take this opportunity to thank you for your stay and also following up with a recommendation.

Painting the best first impression is very important for our Reception team and glad to know that this is being delivered.

I will share you kind comments for staff service with the team for all their hard work.

Compliments for Food & Service have been passed to the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager.

I am glad that you have highlighted our ideal for transportation links and a short 10 minute ride to the city centre.

Late night music on Saturday night is being reviewed to ensure a comfortable night experience for all guests.

Thank you again for your great feedback and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

An overnight stay after wedding celebrations was very good. Room was suitable for all of us ( family of 4 ). Cleanliness was of a very high standard and all staff were polite and welcoming. Only minus wwas the noise from the bar which went on until the early hours. I was undisturbed ( a few beers had passed my lips ) but the children found it hard to settle. Lastley the breakfast full english buffet was brilliant

Room Tip: The annex rooms are bigger than the hotel and better for family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hardybandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmal S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your observations and experience.

Your feedback is very important to us to ensure we are going in the right direction for superior customer service experience.

Your comments are encouraging for Wedding, cleanliness and overall staff service and I will be only pleased to share with our team.

Annex rooms are quieter as it’s away from the main bar area however I am sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stopped here after a late flight back to BHX, receptionist was very friendly on arrival and helpful. Room was good with a well appointed modern bathroom and comfortable bed. Public areas are bit dated though.

On leaving early the next morning, they had run out of headed paper-which is not helpful if you need a business receipt, and the guy on recpetion did not know the way to the main A34 out of the city. So for £100 RO for one night not great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmal S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for documenting your observations after your recent stay.

Pleased to know you that your arrival experience and accommodation was to your satisfaction. Disappointed that Receptionist was not able to offer directions and a speedy check out service. Please be assured that this will be addressed by the Reception Manager and do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Once again thank you for your stay and do hope that you will return to Best Western Westley hotel when staying in Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I came across this hotel quite by accident and what a nice surprise it was!
On site free car park, Spacious room, good food and wonderful service. Not exactly city centre but well worth a visit when on business in Birmingham.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margatekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmal S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your overall experience. I will only be pleased to pass your comments to the team.

Once again thank you for your stay and do hope that you will plan your next trip to Westley Hotel when staying in Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Third stay here for diner, bed & breakfast, and although not great looking from the outside but very comfortable, with good quality food and very helpful staff. Recommended for an overnight away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmal S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are delighted to that know it was your third visit on this occasion and another enjoyable stay.
Great to note that you have recommended us for highly for Dinner, Bed & Breakfast.

Our team will be happy to know your kind comments and we look forward to welcome you back to Best Western Westley Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#71 of 117 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel
Address: 88 Westley Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 7UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of the leading independently-owned hotels in the Birmingham area, ideally appointed just 15-20 minutes from central Birmingham, the ICC, NEC and Birmingham Airport. The Best Western Westley Hotel is just a 15-minute drive from all major motorway, rail and air links. The accommodation is well-furnished, spacious and all en suite, to make your stay as comfortable as possible and includes free Internet access in all bedrooms and Free Wifi in Public areas. Our Grill Restaurant which offers the finest food sourced through local produce where possible to uphold our corporate social responsibility. The Grill Restaurant is open Monday - Saturday 6.00pm - 9.30pm and also on Sunday from 6.00pm - 8:30pm.Traditional carvery dining is available Saturday Evening and Sunday 12-4pm from as little as £8.95 main course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing