We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
Ranked #75 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

This is a good hotel filled with modern rooms and very friendly staff. I stayed here for four days per week for two years and was treated like one of the family. The staff have been there for a long time working together and this probably helps. The rooms were good. The only criticism would be that the bathrooms are like all Holiday Inn bathrooms, tiny, apart from this I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George-BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    244
    187
    93
    71
See reviews for
206
126
59
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed at this hotel, which is just a few minutes from our usual hotel of Holiday Inn Express Walsall because they were doing a bed and breakfast deal for only £5 more than Walsall. One further advantage was it had Lesiure Facilities. This hotel is generally £30 to £40 more a night than Walsall.
After checkin we went to our room around the rabbit warren of darkened corridors and carpet that, in several places, was held down with gaffer tape. The room contained a king sized bed, TV, work area, tea and coffee facilites, settee and en suite bathroom. Our first problem was the lights. There are lots of unmarked lightswitches and figuring them out was like doing a Rubics Cube! But I cracked it in the end. The room was of average size but the decoration made it seem dark and the walls were severly marked with hand prints and scuff marks.
The Lesiure Facilites were made good use of but the pool wasn't the warmest that we had experienced.
Breakfast was Buffet Style. Plenty of choice and we filled ourselves up for the day, not eating till later that evening.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatmanpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

stayed for a week in this hotel n the stay was good ..the hotel has nice open green surroundings.the health club is good n trainers r very cooperative.food choice n quality could hav been better .the room size is good n rooms are well furnished...n overall stay is above average

  • Liked — surroundings,location,health club
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sweetguyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

Just one night for a retirement do.

First visit in 7 years and corridors are still what lets the property down

All corridors in need of refurbishment - poor door numbers

Rooms internally fine

Breakfast great

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerTimUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

This was our second time here, and although we are regular stayers in Holiday Inns, this one is in need of some improvement. The service at check in did not make you feel as valued as other locations.For those with children, the family rooms here are the smallest that we've stayed in. The breakfast had the lowest choice of fruits, and hot food, and the service in general in the restaurant could be improved.
That aside, at £49 for a family room with breakfast, for a weekend stay you really can't grumble that much.
However the room was clean and quiet, along with the swimming pool which was the main thing. I would not stay here for no longer than a night . It does the job, good for the motorway, and handy if you were travelling onto somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superhoop68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse UK
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

This hotel was OK for a few nights stay whilst working nearby. Whilst were staying there I think there was a celebrity lookalike convention on as we saw loads of people around in the bar area. Sat but 10 yards from us was Paul Daniels although unfortunately Debbie wasnt accompanying him that night. The bloke behind the bar was the spit of Ricky Hatton and was more than helpful, sometimes managing to look after the bar and the waitering at the same time. When we asked for some more pat Mustard he bought it to the table straight away. The other bar tender had a strange haircut much like a Zulu but it didnt effect his efficiency, in fact he was out on the grass in the morning throwing a javelin.

The morning breakfast was pretty impressive and when I caused a minor fire in the toast machine it was quickly extinguished by the lovely waitress. The only problem is the eggs are sat around to fester for too long.

The room was clean and spacious, only let down by a massive log floating in the on suite wc on my arrival. I think that must have been someones idea of a sick joke or something but I certainly wasnt laughing on the 12th flush.

All in all cheap and chearfull with an interesting mix of staff and clientel.

Best Regards

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pipinghotbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed here 1 night in a family room with spouse and a 7 & 9 year old on the way back from Alton Towers and booked Dinner Bed & Breakfast deal at £85.
The bedroom had been slightly tarted up (new headboard), but the bathroom just looked tired and well used. This description fits most of the corridors and doors which all just looked like they need a spruce up.
The dinner was a buffet style and we booked for 8pm but it felt like they were already packing up as it took 3 requests to find the Chef to cut the carvery. The food looked and tasted like it had been around for a while.
The positive news was the Breakfast was fine (buffet style) and well stocked.
We also used the pool which was a resonable size for a Hotel pool and the service was good.
Overall once you got past the lobby and restaurant the rest of the Hotel needs a good refurb, and more attention in the restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamescim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Barr Hotel
#85 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
Address: Chapel Lane | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 Jct 7 is situated 7 miles north of Birmingham City Centre set in 7 acres of Landscaped grounds on the edge of green belt with ample free parking and easy access to the motorway network, M6 Jct 7, M5 Jct 1, M42, M54 and the M6 Toll Motorway.The National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Birmingham International Airport (BHX) ) are 25 minutes drive away. New Street Station, International Convention Centre (ICC), National Indoor Arena (NIA) and Symphony Hall are a 15 minute drive away The hotel offers High Speed Internet access, Kids Stay Free, Eat Free, Traders Restaurant, Hub Bar and modern Lounge to enhance the food and beverage experience at the Holiday Inn M6 J7. Relax in the Spirit Health and Fitness Club, exercise classes, indoor pool, spa, gym, sauna and steam room. More guests choose Holiday Inn because we offer a Great nights sleep, a Great value breakfast and a rewarding loyalty scheme, Priority Club. Together with our Can-Do friendly service and a global reassurance of quality and standards you can feel at home no matter where in the world you stay. Unique to the hotel, we have our very own Helicopter Landing pad. Please contact the hotel direct if you wish to use this service. Pets are allowed at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham m6, Jct. 7 Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing