We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
Ranked #78 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great nights sleep”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice on business. Both times i have had a great stay. A little difficult to find off the motorway but sat nav will get you there. Lovely pool and nice quiet rooms. Masses of parking. A good all round stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear VoyagersLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope that we may welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    262
    195
    96
    78
See reviews for
222
130
62
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 Jn 7 for two nights 18th and 19th April on a visit to see The Staffordshire Hoard at Stoke and Kenilworth Castle. Good location, if a little hairy to get to the first time if you don't know what lane you are supposed to be in coming off the M6. Situated in extensive well maintained grassland and over a small ridge from the nearby M6, so quiet and peaceful. The high metal fence surrounding the hotel is a bit concerning! We were a little dissappointed at reception as the sole receptionist was busy on the phone for a while and when she did appear she took laundry off a delivery driver before checking us in although she did acknowledge she would deal with us after she had done that; this is really a comment for management about the amount rather than the quality of the staff as she was pleasant and helpful when she got to us. The hotel appeared to be well below capacity and I had requested a high, quiet room which we didn't get. We had a lower ground floor room which to give credit was in a quiet part of the hotel but I ask for high to avoid the noise from what seems to be constant pacing of people in the room above which, sure enough we had on our second night. The room was fine - very clean and reasonable size - but the bathroom was tired with one or two minor maintenance issues. The lower ground floor corridors, although generally clean, were grim and badly in need of refurbishment; not a good impression before you to get to your room. Buffet breakfast was fine with reasonably prompt service. We didn't use the gym facilities, nor the restaurant as there is a Harvester Pub a few hundred yards away which also offers free WiFi for customers. Special thumbs up go to one of the ladies who was cleaning the stairs who offered to help me with our case when we were leaving. There are no lifts by the way and it is a big hotel so travel light if you aren't good with luggage. During the day you can get out directly through a side door on the ground floor onto the main car park without going all the way around to reception and back but it is locked at 5pm and you can't get in there at all. If, like us, you don't use the gym or restaurant facillities I would recommend the more modern Holiday Inn Express at Junction 10 which is significantly cheaper. At the Advance price we paid - £105 for the two nights - I was satisfied, but if I had paid the advertised room rates - about £200 from memory, I would have been really dissappointed. So in summary, our experience was a clean, warm, functional hotel which is good value if you get an advance rate but maybe not the best choice if you are out to impress or it's a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyresdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Wyresdale,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment regarding your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I read your feedback with concern and would like to offer my sincere apologies. I can however, assure you that these issues will be discussed with the various new management team without further delay.

I do hope that we may be given the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location just off the M6 and is in the style of an old Forte Posthouse hotel. I have stayed here before and the only change seems to be that the rooms are more worn!

There is plenty of free parking and there is some outdoor space/grass area which is nice to have.

Reception staff were very welcoming and friendly which gave a good impression when checking-in. The hotel give out free points vouchers for PCR members but it was disappointing not to be provided with a room upgrade as should be the case for Platinum PCR members.

My room was an acceptable size, but clearly in need of some work. Whilst the decor was a little dated it was the lack of maintenance which was concerning. The bathroom in particular was poor - faulty tap, stained grout and cracked tiles did not look good at all.

Food in the hotel was average, but certainly overpriced for what is being offered.

The bed was uncomfortable with thin sheets that did not fit the length of the bed (the duvet cover had rips in it too).

Breakfast was fine, the hot selection was good but orange juice was watered down.

Overall not a great experience and I would hope that the management reassess the conditions they offer to their guests. Whilst the room rate is cheap they need to ensure that money is invested back into improving standards. It is a shame as this lets down the positivity of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear johnny_c-l,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad to hear you found our front desk staff staff very welcoming and friendly. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. However, we regret that we failed to meet your expectations in a few areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Argyll
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The highlight of this hotel has to be the breakfast. Good choice and freshly cooked. Otherwise the accommodation was disappointing.

The quality of our “Executive Room” was poor, The paintwork was showing wear and tear and chipped. The top of furniture surfaces were also marked. The bathroom fittings were very poor with a cracked bath, dirty shower head and missing sink drain lever. In total, the bedroom facilities looked very tired and worn. WiFi access is very expensive and in today’s travelling world is uncompetitive.

The noisy next door neighbours who woke us at 2.00 am and went on until 4.00 am (not the fault of the hotel apart from criticism of soundproofing) did little to improve our views of this establishment and it will not be on our first choice list for future journeys.

These problems were highlighted to the reception staff when we checked out and, to date, no feedback received from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgyllIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Argylllslanders,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback following your recent stay with us.

With regards to your bedroom, please note that I have asked my Maintenance Team to take a look at all of our executive rooms for inspection and commence any necessary repairs. I was very pleased that you enjoyed the food and have passed on your comments to the Chef, as with other departments in our weekly meeting.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back ion the future.

Kindest regards

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions. The staff are friendly and efficient throughout. The food is adequate and wholesome. My recent stay on 16th April I stayed in room 124, which was clean and adequate with a wide screen TV. The only critisium is the bathroom is very small and is looking tired. However, this all said I was very satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Richard L,

Thank you for taking the time to give your comment following your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I was pleased to read that reception were able to help you so promptly. Your feedback is very helpful to us.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ideal place for a short stay in the Birmingham area the staff were very welcoming and soon sorted out a mixup with the booking-2 rooms booked and paid for only one showing on the system swiftly sorted the food we were served was very good only drawback was the long walk to the dining room from our rooms on the lower ground floor

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the floor above the reception area if you don't want a long walk to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenza777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Karenza777

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience for the benefit of our future guests,

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is okay but it comes with a but... Our bed was comfortable and the room okay. The extra bed was made up ready. It was good that they knew this was a room with three people in, sometimes you are left to it but not on this occasion. The temperature in the room was fine and the carpet and walls were clean. The shower was good and powerful so no problems there. Most of the staff were nice and attentive. There were three or four who could teach the others a few things about hotel service. Our evening meal was fine and breakfast was typical fare but plenty of it and it was actually tasty. I was able to get decaf coffee for breakfast which wasn't actually on offer. But... The bathroom was very very small, perhaps a sliding door would have made better use of the space available. The chair in the room was ready to be changed (dirty marks). The bedside cabinet drawer was broken. The television was tricky and turned itself on and off all the time including through the night. Hotel guests can never be predicted and there was a wedding party when we stayed, unfortunately they had no awareness of the fact they were annoying when opening and closing doors with banging. Apart from that and the bathroom it was a typical hotel of it's budget group and fine for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kedav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Kedav7

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Hi Birmingham M6 J7.

I was disappointed to learn that your stay was adequate for a budget hotel and not all your expectations were met. Holiday Inn is a midscale brand and our core standards were certainly not met during your stay.

Please contact me at gehan.eriyagama@ihg.com as I would like to discuss your comments further.

Kind regards

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
Address: Chapel Lane | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 Jct 7 is situated 7 miles north of Birmingham City Centre set in 7 acres of Landscaped grounds on the edge of green belt with ample free parking and easy access to the motorway network, M6 Jct 7, M5 Jct 1, M42, M54 and the M6 Toll Motorway.The National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Birmingham International Airport (BHX) ) are 25 minutes drive away. New Street Station, International Convention Centre (ICC), National Indoor Arena (NIA) and Symphony Hall are a 15 minute drive away The hotel offers High Speed Internet access, Kids Stay Free, Eat Free, Traders Restaurant, Hub Bar and modern Lounge to enhance the food and beverage experience at the Holiday Inn M6 J7. Relax in the Spirit Health and Fitness Club, exercise classes, indoor pool, spa, gym, sauna and steam room. More guests choose Holiday Inn because we offer a Great nights sleep, a Great value breakfast and a rewarding loyalty scheme, Priority Club. Together with our Can-Do friendly service and a global reassurance of quality and standards you can feel at home no matter where in the world you stay. Unique to the hotel, we have our very own Helicopter Landing pad. Please contact the hotel direct if you wish to use this service. Pets are allowed at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham m6, Jct. 7 Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing