We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #105 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

For us the location is great, a thirty minute walk from the city centre.
Free on site parking and easily accessible with some good restaurants nearby.
I've stayed before, the room was suitably equipped. It was dusty despite appearing well cleaned, perhaps it hadn't been occupied in a few nights.
Is suggest some effort is needed on cleaning the gutters visible from the second floor rooms!!
You do get a great stay for the price, and I'll gladly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    72
    72
    49
    92
See reviews for
49
91
26
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is amazing value for money. The rooms are really comfortable with great beds. The staff are very friendly. The location is perfect with on the main road into the city and less than a mile away

Room Tip: Book you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theclint0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Was disappointed with the distance from the train station, with a taxi fair of over £7. The website stated that broad street was a 5 minute walk but was infact a half an hour walk. The room was nicely presented, a good size, but we unfortunately found big stains and hairs in the one bed. The kettle did not work. The room was boiling, the window only opened about an inch and there was no air conditioning so we had an uncomfortable nights sleep. Up on arrival we was required to pay a £100 deposit which was not stated before hand. There was groups of other guested hanging around the hallway and outside our window playing music which could be intimidating. It was okay for a 1 night say but I wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

north shields
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

After reading the reviews on this site I was a little dubious about my booking at this hotel. However, this was totally unfounded. When we first approached the hotel the outside does look very run down and the whole impression is definitely of an outdated building. This is in complete contrast with the image you receive when entering the reception area. The reception is very nice, spacious and of a good decorative state. This area also houses the hotel bar which was certainly sufficient for the needs of it's guests. Just past the bar is the dining area which is also very good. I will cover the breakfast itself slightly later.

I had originally booked a double room after a successful eBay bid but the hotel were very accommodating and easily allowed me to change this to a family/triple room with just a small extra fee. The hotel staff from first contact via telephone to in person during our stay were all fantastic. When I checked in the lady on reception could not have been more helpful or friendly. She suggested places to visit and was more than happy to advise me of the bus numbers to enable us to travel into the City Centre without having to try and struggle in our own car.

The hotel room was lovely, very spacious and faultlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable and I was delighted to see that the two pillows per person given were of a good density, not the usual wafer thin rubbish supplied by other hotels. The only things that could have improved the room itself would have been the provision of a coat hanger, which there was plenty of room for, thicker walls (we were able to hear everything from the room next to us, and I do mean everything!) and a better shower. The shower did have a good flow but only at a temperature above 38°c, anything lower than this and you were literally standing over the bath plughole, a garden hose would have been more effective.

The breakfast was very good with sufficient options. There was a range of fruit juices, cereals, fruits, yogurt, a few pastries and then a buffet English Breakfast. Coffee/Tea and toast were served to order and constantly replenished. Again the staff were very friendly and helpful.

There are plenty of restaurants nearby for your evening meal. The nearest cash machines appear to be within the Akbars Indian Restaurant or the Quality Hotel on the other side of the road. Alternatively there is a cash machine in the convenience store located 7 minutes walking distance from the hotel towards the city centre. As these are the nearest shops I would suggest that you take with you any snacks and drinks you may want outside of your breakfast and evening meals.

All in all I was very pleased with this hotel and our stay and would certainly recommend this to people looking for a short stay in a nice hotel without having to pay too much.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonborland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Well I have stayed in some dives in Birmingham and didn't know what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised. Stayed in block E. The room had a very 70's feel about it but it was cute, like stepping into crossroads motel. Everything was clean and tidy and in good order. Just a small detail though, I'm over 6ft and the single bed wasn't long enough. I would definitely recommend this place if yr looking for somewhere to stay 5 mins from city and will definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petersitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We only booked this hotel as no other hotels had availability for that night on a short notice. Having read the previous reviews we were expecting a dirty, dated, dire hotel! We have been pleasantly surprised! The room we got was in Block B and these rooms must've been recently refurbished as all furniture was new, bathroom spotlessly clean and modern, brand new plasma TV (with all channels working!!!). Bed was very comfortable and room was nice and warm. Another thing we were apprehensive about was breakfast, we even said that we will just go and look what's it like and if we don't like it we will go and have bfast somewhere else. But thankfully there was no need! It must've been one of the best, cooked to order full English breakfasts we ever had!! ! So all in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! It's a basic hotel that does what it says on the tin! Doesn't have services like room charges, room service, you gotta pay for room upfront and the staff didn't seem particularly friendly. But for the prices they charge we think it's a great value for money- nice, clean, warm, great breakfast!!! Will definitely stay again!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank biancarugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We booked this last minute through expedia and thought we'd got a really good deal. When we checked in, although the receptionist confirmed it was prepaid, she asked us for our £100 card or cash pre auth incase of any extras or damages to the room! This is more than double what the room cost in the first place! This is nowhere to be seen on the website and even the four girls checking in next to us had no idea and had to scrape together whatever they could to make the £100. Luckily we had it however if you're not so lucky, I'm not sure the receptionist cared enough to help.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsLadkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#103 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#107 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#78 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Birmingham

Property: Apollo Hotel Birmingham
Address: 243-247 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern business-oriented hotel situated 2 miles from Birmingham center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Apollo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing