We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #102 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
rugby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We only booked this hotel as no other hotels had availability for that night on a short notice. Having read the previous reviews we were expecting a dirty, dated, dire hotel! We have been pleasantly surprised! The room we got was in Block B and these rooms must've been recently refurbished as all furniture was new, bathroom spotlessly clean and modern, brand new plasma TV (with all channels working!!!). Bed was very comfortable and room was nice and warm. Another thing we were apprehensive about was breakfast, we even said that we will just go and look what's it like and if we don't like it we will go and have bfast somewhere else. But thankfully there was no need! It must've been one of the best, cooked to order full English breakfasts we ever had!! ! So all in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! It's a basic hotel that does what it says on the tin! Doesn't have services like room charges, room service, you gotta pay for room upfront and the staff didn't seem particularly friendly. But for the prices they charge we think it's a great value for money- nice, clean, warm, great breakfast!!! Will definitely stay again!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank biancarugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    72
    70
    49
    91
See reviews for
49
89
26
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We booked this last minute through expedia and thought we'd got a really good deal. When we checked in, although the receptionist confirmed it was prepaid, she asked us for our £100 card or cash pre auth incase of any extras or damages to the room! This is more than double what the room cost in the first place! This is nowhere to be seen on the website and even the four girls checking in next to us had no idea and had to scrape together whatever they could to make the £100. Luckily we had it however if you're not so lucky, I'm not sure the receptionist cared enough to help.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsLadkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Booked this at the last minute and was very pleasantly surprised, yes the layout is a little odd when you first arrive and the building is not necessarily inspiting but there is excellent car parking space and a lot of rooms. We were in a triple room and can honestly say it was absolutely immaculate, can't fault the cleanliness at all. The sheets etc were very obviously freshly cleaned, the bathroom was spotless. Our only complaint was the lack of teaspoon with the teas/coffees. Would recommend it at the reduced price we paid but would be disappointed if we'd paid the standard room rate which was twice as much, definitely not worth the full price!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers excellent value for money, with it's unique layout and modern ensuite rooms. It is also in a good location, just a mile or so from the city centre and has a selection of restaurants near by e.g. Akbahs and TGI Friday. My room was spacious with a modern bath/shower room en-suit. Breakfast was made to order as the hotel was quiet. However, a buffet style service is provided when busy. I will definitely stay here again, either for business or pleasure.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel prior to a visit to Cadbury World. The location is very good and the rooms we selected were cheap. This was reflected in the room and the contents therein
One room had absolutely no toiletries and the lights would not stay on without the key card inserted. The other room had full toiletries and a switch for the lights. Big difference despite being next to each other
It is the only time I have ever forgotten my own shampoo and shower gel. I had to take those from my friends room. I wish I hadn't bothered
They smelt very similar to the shampoo I use to bathe my dogs! Bit of a shock. As I have incredibly sensitive skin I was very concerned I would have difficulties the following day
There are a lot of parking spaces. Very good from this point of view
We were advised by the receptionist that breakfast was fresh cooked every morning. Er. No
It was actually a buffet breakfast and I have no idea how long it had sat awaiting attention. Seriously not nice. Greasy bacon and rubbery scrambled eggs. Cold beans and tomatoes
So. The upshot is, I would happily stay there again for the location and the price but I would make sure I took everything I needed and I would get breakfast across the road

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for a deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razlog, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have been there twice, first time in 2006. Location is great-a 25 min walk from Bull Ring. Easy to find and peaceful. At first funny shaped but once you settle it all makes sense. Service is very good and will recommend for 2-5 days stays.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was booked for me through work not myself, otherwise I would not of gone near.

The hotel look is very very dated inside and out, staff are friendly enough, but on first impressions seemed expensive.

Going upstairs to where my room was, broken lights, old carpets.

In the room, tv could hardly get a picture, was a very very old 12 or 14" portable with few channels. The bedding was very very old. Lights on the walls were literally hanging off waiting to fall off.

In the bathroom, their were marks and im talking bright yellow marks where the math on the bat had been used thousands of times by the look of it, the bath was dirty with plenty of hairs clearly visible, to the extent I had to wash the bath down to use it.

Breakfast was dire, mass produced self service, which was warm at best, the toast was cold by time had got it to the table.

I honestly have never stayed in a worst hotel, my colleague with me's view was that its been run down for closure.

On checkout, a number of other guests checking out all entered into a similar conversation how we would never stay there again and all exchanging stories of how bad our rooms were for various reasons.

The manager didn't say hope to see you again, obviously had heard all the guests complaining on checkout.

The staff when spoken to were polite.

Room Tip: go elsewhere Is my only advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#103 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Birmingham

Property: Apollo Hotel Birmingham
Address: 243-247 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern business-oriented hotel situated 2 miles from Birmingham center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Apollo Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Apollo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing