We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but if u need location is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #100 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not great but if u need location is perfect”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Booked here as we went chritmas shopping at thought we stay in birmingham , room basic needs revamp , we stayed afternoon and then went home my bedroom is much nicer xx sorry copthorne best thing about this hotel is location

Room Tip: Not my type of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooperbadlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear cooperbadlad

I am sorry if you felt our bedrooms were not up to your exepectations. We are in the process of redecorating our rooms and I hope next time you stay you will see a difference.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    428
    561
    341
    225
See reviews for
102
502
118
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here for one night, rooms where clean, but the bathroom was very tired and need of a revamp, the bath had rust around it, there was mould on the ceiling, the furniture in the room was worn out and in need of renewing, under the headboard was thick with dust, tea & coffee making facility was very basic and was hiding in a cupboard,
breakfast there was a good selection, but cold when you got it back to your table, ordered a pot of tea but it came as we had nearly finished our breakfast,
Staff where friendly and made you feel very welcome.
But I do feel that it was not a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear sallyann w

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and my apologies that your room was not up to our normal housekeeping standards. I have addressed this with my team to ensure this is improved. Thank you for your kind words regarding the team which I will ensure a shared with them.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a bit hard to rate, given the variance of its quality. The hotel foyer was lovely, better than you might expect for a 4 star hotel. The rooms were also very nice, with marble bathrooms, and were quite clean (there was a round stain from something on our carpet though), though they were on the small side. The bath was great, and filled up quickly, but oddly in comparison, the shower pressure wasn't great (not bad, just not as much as I'd have liked!) The view from our room was very pretty. The major thing letting our room down was the bed - neither of us had a very good sleep, and each time we sat on the end of the bed, it sounded as if something was breaking. The pillows were also not great for us (we're used to medium firm feather pillows, whereas the pillows provided were thin and firm).

The staff were friendly and checkin/out was quick and easy, though we has to wait half and hour and call twice for a request from room service.

We didn't eat in the restaurant due to its ranking on tripadvisor (look it up) but found some fantastic restaurants close to the hotel.

So in general we enjoyed our stay, but it's hard to give it a full 4 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gymnastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Gymnastgirl

Thank you so much for posting a review and I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We do check our beds on a regular basis for any maintenance issues and my apologies that your one slipped through the net. We do provide both firm and soft pillows and additional can be found in the wardrobe.

We have recently changed all of our shower heads in the hotel which may explain the slight drop in pressure due to a different design.

I do hope next time you stay we can score 4 out of 5 and we very much look forward to seeing you.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

A good value stay as got a good deal. Similar to the Travelodge or Premier Inn with our package.
Nice and central. Did not eat in the hotel as it was too expensive. Room was nice and but too hot even when turning the radiator off. Beds are nice and large.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be triple glazed to help with the external traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Catherine N

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We do offer some great deals in our Bugis restuarant including an early dinner offer for £8.99 which I hope you will get time to try on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed at this hotel a couple of days ago and had a great time. The breakfast was good buffet style and worth the money. The room was spacious and clean with a huge double bed, no noise and the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. Was in a great location, close to Birmingham New Street station and the bull ring. If I was visiting Birmingham again I would stay here 100%.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear kelly b

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am pleased to hear you found our location so convenient. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments regarding the team on to them.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during the Spring Fair. Hotel very dated and in need of a complete refurb. No idea why the AA have rated it 4 Star. Bar very overpriced breakfast was expensive but good selection. Only saving factor was the staff very friendly and good at their jobs.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leg016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Nigel K

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are in the process of redecorating our rooms and hope next time you stay you will see a difference. The AA takes into account service provision when grading hotels and I thank you for your kind commenst regarding the team which I will pass on to them.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Marston Moretaine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The staff on reception very friendly and helpful.
Room very clean and tidy nice decor.

Food excellent value and very nice.

Only thing is beer is john smiths sorry had to mention it as not to my taste.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Kevin M

Thank you so much for your review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do try and stock a wide range of drinks on the bar but I do appreciate John Smiths isnt to everyones tastes.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
3,662 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#40 of 117 in Birmingham
1,423 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing