We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a bit of work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #102 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs a bit of work”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Perfectly functional and clean but needs a bit of a refurb. Other hotels in a similar price bracket are much more modern inside and a result, I would probably choose them instead. Pluses: helpful, accommodating staff, good breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1983Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear 1983Lucy

Many thanks for your review and for your lovely comments regarding the team here and breakfast. We continue our ongoing redecoration programme and I hope next time you stay, you will see some changes.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    424
    553
    339
    221
See reviews for
102
500
115
664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Upon arrival, the room was prepaid but told on check in not paid. Showed receipt, but receptionist insists of taking payment. Asked about the free WiFi advertised but told all internet chargeable. Checked into room and we felt like we've travelled back into the 60s. Old and tired. Only 1 towel put in room. Kettle not working and the drip tray has not been cleaned for a long time.when rang to the reception about the towel, was told will send some to room. When the Duty Manager arrived at the room, he handled the kettle issue very well and explained where to find additional towels in the room. When turned on the bath tap, lots of black bits came out of it. Ended up taking shower instead. On departure, asked receptionist about the double charge and was told it was only a pre-auth on check in. ????? To top it off, no apology was offered for the mistake. 4 stars hotel??? Really??? A disgrace to the chain. We stayed with the same chain elsewhere in the world and this is by far...the worst.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Social_Stranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Social_Stranger

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and my apologies if your stay did not live up to your expectations. I was pleased to hear that my Duty Manager resolved your queries quickly and with minimal disruption. We do ask our guests to leave a pre-authorisation via a credit card to enable you to charge items to your room as is standard in most hotels in the UK and my apologies if this was not made clear to you.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and i have just returned from Birmingham after staying in this hotel for one night to visit the Christmas market.
Hotel is perfect for this purpose as a base.
Check in and parking good,club rooms on second floor okay but in general desperately need modernisation,the bed was poor for a good nights sleep you roll into the middle,bathroom tired,threadbare carpets.
The shower was good,and so was the food and service in the chinese restaurant.
We paid £39 for a standard room and got a free upgrade to a club room,if i had paid full price i would not have been happy at all.
Average hotel that does not have 4* rooms on the second floor in my experience but for £39 its okay.

Room Tip: Room 208 has a poor bed but a good shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Gary F

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, indeed our location is ideal for the German Market which is situated directly outside the property.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the food and service in Bugis Street Brasserie which I will pass on to the team. We do have an ongoing redocoration programme and I hope if you stay again in the future you will see some changes.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here late November 2013 for the night whilst meeting up with friends in Birmingham.
Room was clean and the view from the window overlooked the German market which was a bonus.
the bed though was a different matter, the mattress was so old both myself and my partner kept rolling into the middle of the bed, which made for an uncomfortable nights sleep, you could also hear people talking in the next room and doors slamming on a regular basis.
We decided to stay here as it was near to the location we were meeting friends, but I have to say i will not be staying here again in a hurry, unless they are going to update their beds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roomeycannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Roomeycannock

Thankyou for your review and my apologies that your bed was not as comfortable as it should have been. Following your review, I am now identifying those beds which need to be replaced and will endeavour to have this done as soon as possible.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight for the Christmas Market. Could see the market from our window which was nice. Room was spotless and spacious. Staff couldn't do enough for us and the whole experience was lovely. Only downside was that you have to pay for wifi - we stayed earlier in the year and it was free! I can't remember the last time I had to pay for this in a hotel and definitely didn't expect it from a hotel of this calibre. Breakfast was cooked well and staff were attentive. A great location for central Birmingham. Have stayed before and would definitely go again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lizzyluck67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear lizzyluck67

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel looks stunning, very little parking for a hotel this size. Reception area very nice and staff friendly. We were on the 5th floor and had a good view of the German market. Very disappointed not to see a bottle of water in the room. The cold water tap took almost 3 mins to get rid of the lime colour. The bed omg was absolutely awful it squeaked everytime you turned or even moved and it woke you up. Stayed in a better bed in a hostel. Very average and much better hotels in Birmingham at half the price

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Nicola P

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations and I have asked my maintenance team to look at the beds to stop the squeaking. All of our taps are flushed regularly and I am at a loss as to why there was a lime colour, nethertheless, I will have this investigated.

I do hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend for the Tattoo and on the plus side it is centrally located and convenient. The staff were friendly and helpful although they were slow. The rooms were clean but 'tired' - in need of upgrading and redecoration. Not much drawer space in the bedrooms either. Food was well cooked however the usual toast delay at breakfast as seems to be usual for all self service arrangements. No free WiFi - £5 charge although there is some limited reception in the reception/bar area. Drinks expensive but plenty of bars nearby but being in the centre of Birmingham at the weekend with the Christmas Market, Tattoo and weekend revellers these are all pretty busy so you 'pay your money and take your choice'. Not bad enough to put us off staying there again but would look around for alternatives.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear John H

Thank you very much for your review and I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel very soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing