We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #100 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Central but tired”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights, didn't really think it lived up to four star rating. General hotel decor is tired, furniture looking faded, gaffer tape on carpet in places, old marble in bathroom.

However, it was really the little things that I felt let it down - no mini bar just an empty fridge, no tissues in the bathroom, worn out remote where all the buttons had faded so you had to guess what they said, hardly any 24 hour food just a couple of dull sandwich options and the wifi is £5 for 24 hours - these days I really expect it to be in the price. Wouldn't be my first choice in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjs1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear sjs1811

Many thanks for your review and my apologies if we did not live up to your expectations. We are in the process of reviewing our room service menu options and will certainly take your comments on board when I discuss this with my Chef.

Kind regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    430
    571
    350
    231
See reviews for
102
510
121
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night as a single traveller. Reception was efficient but not exactly forthcoming. Room was very gloomy, had to remake the bed as it had been made in a very bizarre way! Couldn't connect laptop to internet. Good night's sleep though and very good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliastravels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Juliastravels83

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and my apologies if you felt the bed had been made in a strange way. We do have lots of comments about our comfy beds and I am glad you got a good nights sleep. Thanks also for your kinds words about breakfast.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Location is very convenient for Birmingham City Centre however parking and getting to it was a little problematic. Room was nice with good views of the city which was nice. Restaurant is Singaporian/Malaysian which was different and good. Service levels from all staff was excellent. Was hugely disappointed with Gym/Health Club facilities though. Was expecting a well equipped gym but found a small room at the end of a corridor tucked away with a few old machines and some weights. Not the best by any means but I guess it did the job.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Paul H

Many thanks for your reviw and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, we are very well located for all the central attractions Birmingham has to offer.

It was good to hear you enjoyed Bugis Street, our Singaporean and Chinese Restaurant and I hope we can all welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Hotel is ideally located for Symphony Hall. Reception staff first class and very helpful. Car parking not entirely clear but reception staff assisted and all fine. Room clean and facilities fine. Decor a little tired but didn't matter for one night stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraSpangleGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear SaraSpangleGreen

Many thanks for your review and for your lovely comments about the team here at the hotel. My apologies if you found the car parking arrangements a little confusing, we do have 2 car parks, one directly opposite the hotel entrance and the other underneath the hotel.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Room was very smart, just what we asked for and very clean. Perfect nights sleep. The location is just great for symphony hall and new street. Will stay there next time we go to Birmingham probably for the German Market.

Room Tip: Ring Reception if you have special requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artistwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear artistwong

Many thanks for your wonderful review and yes, we are just a short walk from the Symphony Hall. The German Market is now well underway and proving very popular this year with some amazing products to buy, food to try and of course the Gluwein! The market itself is located directly outside the hotel giving our guests excellent access to it.

We all hope to see you over the Christmas period.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here; the hotel is in a perfect central location and close to shopping centre, food court and news agents.
The room is a tiny bit shabby in some places but always clean. The bathroom is wonderful and spacious and warm. The beds are very comfortable and at night it is a good temperature (although the rooms can get really quite cold in the day time if you're in there).
We only ate breakfast at the hotel and that was very nice; great selection of food and the staff were friendly and attentive.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear jayney4385

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was good to hear you enjoyed our breakfast offering. Indeed our location is excellent for the ICC, New Library and the shopping district and I am glad you found it so convenient.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were on the 4th floor in two rooms and were very satisfied. rooms were spacious modern and clean. Good views from window and we had a good night sleep, staff friendly and breakfast was fine. Staff were a bit slow at breakfast because 2 staff had not turned up for work and i found a cockroach in the bath.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Alpouch

Many thanks for your review and I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. My apologies for your uninvited guest, we have since had experts look into this who have reported no further activity has been found. Of course I will continue to monitor this situation.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards

David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,743 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,086 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#37 of 117 in Birmingham
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,438 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Property: Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing