We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but not much more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #100 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed April 19, 2013

An excellent price paid for a city centre hotel, easy to park, and just a stone's throw from the heart of the city.

Rooms are very dated indeed (have they changed since the mid-1970s?). Decor dismal, carpet and covered chair both threadbare in places, bathroom door wouldn't lock, shower defective, light bulb flickering, old style TV with a muddy screen now only fir for a museum.

When will the refresh take place?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simplesouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Simplesouls,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your stay at the Copthorne Birmingham.

I am glad that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel.

As you mentioned in your review we are in the process of redecorating our bedrooms. It appears that you stayed in one that we have not yet refreshed.

If you wish to return to the hotel then please let us know and we will ensure that you are allocated one of these rooms for your visit.

Many thanks

Mat Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,334 - 1,340 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here for business purposes and I would say the rooms are fairly spacious although a little noisy if on the dual carriage side. The gym is really poor and just placed there for a star rating I think, breakfast was fairly decent but be warned if you get there at peak times you could be waiting. Overall okay for an overnighter but wouldn't choose it if I had a choice for future Birmingham trips.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angellm8te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear angellm8te,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your stay with us.

I am glad that you found the rooms spacious and our location advantageous. As you mentioned our breakfast can be busy at peak times due to it's popularity. We do try and get everyone served as soon as possible though.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy our 24 hour fitness centre. It is something that most of our guests usually enjoy.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel is located very centrally and is only 10minutes walk from Birmingham Museum, Mail Box, High street and shopping centres. The room I stayed in was large, clean and there was everything I needed for a comfortable stay including complimentary coffee/tea facility. The staff are very friendly and the service is good. They all do their best to help. Buffet breakfast was excellent and apart from traditional English breakfast you can have fresh fruits, cereal or let's say more continental breakfast. You can also order either scrambled egg with salmon, eggs benedict which is included in the price. I am a fussy eater but must admit that I enjoyed the food. The only negative side is the prices of drinks and food in the hotel bar which a bit too high. All in all, I enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Paid a very last minute to Birmingham due to serious illness of a colleague.
The Copthorne was ideally suited for where I was working in the centre of the city. It is a few minutes walk to both the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena.
The room was exceptionally good, large, well lit and comfortable.
There are two dining choices - an Oriental restaurant and a pub/bar type facility, which were both more than adequate.
Car Parking can be a problem. The first night I had to use an open air car park fairly convenient to the hotel and by getting up early next morning I was able to get the fist berth vacated in the Hotel's underground car park and stayed there for the rest of my stay.
The Reception Desk staff were all helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pambill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Chosen for location a few minutes from ICC. Booked several months in advance getting a good deal, room only as breakfast package expensive. However on check in we purchased breakfast vouchers cheaper than online. The reception, bar and restaurant were fairly well maintained but the room was very dated and the corridor smelt a little musty. The room was cold and there was only a radiator, no air conditioning so we could not adjust the temperature. There did not seem to be additional blankets but we had an additional single bed in the room so we used the duvet off this. The wardrobes, desk, cupboard and tv were in poor condition and dated and were in great need of replacement. However the room was very clean and comfortable. It was not really up to the Copthorne standard but quite ok for the special deal price we paid and the location.
The breakfast was excellent and the Bugis cantonese restaurant food was wonderful (and we had a 20% off voucher in our room) and it was fairly reasonably priced and the staff there friendly and helpful. I would recommend eating here. Actually we found all the staff in the hotel very friendly and helpful and probably will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here on business last week and was pleased really that it was for just the one night. There is nothing particularly poor about t....it was just average.The rooms are a little tired with carpets rucking up and the paintwork in need of attention.
Unfortunately a bland experience that is easy to forget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londontraveller1964X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Londontraveller1964X,

Thank you for leaving your comments after your recent stay with us here at the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham.

We are in the process of redecorating all of our bedrooms.

We do hope that you return to the hotel in the future so that we can have the chance to offer you a more memorable experience.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Check-in and check-out was painless and very efficient. Although the rooms could do with modernisation (along with much of the hotel) we still had a pleasant stay. The TV didn't work in our room which didn't matter and was nice not to have it on for a change. But our room was extremely hot. We even turned the radiator off when we got there but it made no difference at all. It was hotter than some Summer evenings. But the best part about the stay was the breakfast. They do the best hotel breakfast I have ever had in my life. It was super! Would thoroughly recommend just for this alone. Would stay here again despite the heating issue as the location fits perfectly for us!

Room Tip: Breakfast is a must and worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fieldsywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Fieldsywoo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that you encountered issues with the heating and the television during your stay.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offering. It is something that we take great pride in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,127 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#74 of 118 in Birmingham
1,122 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#48 of 118 in Birmingham
755 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
1,262 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Address: Paradise Place, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $63 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing