We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Mixed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

To keep it short, simple and to the point:

Good:
-Location - within walking distance of New Street, Bullring, restaurants, cinemas, bars...
-Rooms- clean, comfortable, large
-View- a great view over Birmingham (although, Paris is decidedly prettier!)
-Pool/spa- we only used the pool/hot tub and thought they were excellent.
-Price- good deal on a website made it even more enjoyable
-Staff at check-in desk- helpful, friendly and very accommodating

Bad:
-I know this might be nitpicking, but we booked a hotel with a concierge because we wanted someone to help us with dinner ideas in the area rather than having to use our smartphones to google everywhere and spend rare time away from the kids trying to decide where to have a nice meal. The "concierge" was a desk OUTSIDE (this was December) and no one was even there. We're lucky we had our phones, but we only get a night away once, maybe twice a year, so we plan for the easiest and most relaxing time possible. I guess it's obvious we were not impressed. Either get a concierge or change your rating.
-Sleep- the beds were on the hard side, but that is also a personal preference.

Without these things it would have been 5 stars, but when you only get 24 hours a year alone with your spouse, the little things can be a great help or huge nuisance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelLover2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    874
    291
    104
    47
See reviews for
353
952
103
837
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve at the Birmingham Hyatt, the hotel was very busy but the service in all areas was first class, the check-in staff were very efficient and the process was super quick. We used the bar and cafe and again, the service was veru professional and all staff had smiles on their faces. Check out was just as quick.

The public rooms are bright and clean, not over large, but this may have been more noticable as the hotel was full and the restaurant was also very busy.

Our bedroom on the 18th floor was bright and well decorated, the bed was large and comfortable, the linen was new and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was as expected, it also was spotlessly clean. The only small negative was that the carpet was stained in several places and had seen its best days.

The hotel is in a great location, next to the Symphony Hall and overlooking the Mailbox and Worcester Canal. There are dozens of places to eat and drink within a few minutes walk. The main railway station is a gentle 10 minute walk, the main shopping centre about the same.

Room Tip: High floors at the back of the hotel have great views over the canals and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was my third visit to the Hyatt in 2 years. I have to say that the service is not as good as it was on my first visit, Its not bad and you you wouldnt really complain about it but not what you would expect of a four star hotel.Breakfast was ok but i have had better at Premier Inn's. The rooms are good with great views of the city.The pool and the spa facilities are very good.
We did enjoy our stay here and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steviejay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I suspect a stay at this hotel at a time other than New Year's Eve would be a different experience. However, the test of a four star hotel is how it copes and whether service is consistent when it is tested. Overall, our stay was lovely, but several things suffered at a very busy time.

Here's what was great.
Once we got to Reception after quite a long wait in a queue, our welcome was warm and friendly. The lobby was very nice, decked out tastefully for Christmas. The hotel's restaurant is basically an area in the lobby under a glass canopy, which created a lovely, light area for breakfast. The staff everywhere were friendly and courteous, if run off their feet as there never seemed to be enough of them. Our room on the 12th floor offered a fabulous view of this changing city: part new development, including the impressive new central library, part rickety old and pretty nasty carpark opposite. Had we been in our room at midnight we would have had a fabulous view of the New Year fireworks from the carpark over the road. Our room was spacious, with a lovely large bed, very nice bathroom, standard wardrobe space, sympathetic, restful decor and lighting. We used the on-site spa on New Year's Day. In contrast to the rest of the hotel they showed no signs of strain on their busiest day of the year. We had two fabulous, relaxing treatments from skilled, very friendly staff in a lovely, quiet atmosphere. The hustle and bustle of people constantly coming and going was skilfully hidden from guests.

The following strains showed and there are also a few things that could be improved.
Our stay had been purchased as a Christmas gift and not only pre-paid, but clearly marked on the booking. Reception mistakenly tried to charge us for it too. It was a good job we noticed the amount put through on the credit card machine. We hadn't booked Afternoon Tea when we arrived, but we found a table and a member of the waiting staff noted our room number and promised to reserve it for us in the mêlée as we took our bags upstairs. However, when we returned we found she had disappeared and the table had not been reserved and was, of course, no longer free. To be fair, they hastily accommodated us in the bar, but we had been forgotten. Our room had been booked for two, yet there was only one bathrobe and the tissue box was empty. Both minor points, but at £190 per night I expected better attention to detail. The carpet in our room was quite dirty and we sat on threadbare chairs in the restaurant for breakfast. Our table had only been half re-laid for breakfast by the friendly, but frazzled staff running around, trying to keep pace with the high number of people coming and going so it took us a while to catch someone's eye to get some tea, coffee and cups. Although this is a nice space for breakfast it is far too small for the number of rooms. Also, due to its location there is no escaping people coming and going whilst you eat your dinner in the evening as it is in the lobby. There is no carpark on site for the majority, although we did spot half a dozen hi-spec and sporty cars in a roped off area outside reception, so it appears to be included for certain, "valued" guests. For everyone else it means a couple of minutes' walk down a cold, windy hill to a standard carpark. Not very glamorous but not too far away! For £190 I expected Wifi to be included for free, at least in the lobby, but no! It was chargeable throughout, outrageous!

So, overall we enjoyed our 24-hour stay over New Year at the Hyatt, but as stated, cracks showed during a very busy period, the Wifi should be included to meet international standards and threadbare chairs really should be replaced.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonJCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here to visit German market an see family last weekend. Parking is up the road - not the nicest but appears to be secure and adequate. Cost was £13.50 for 24 hours. We booked bed and breakfast for something less than £100 through a booking agent online and check in was quick and efficient. Our room was spacious with fab views across the city, bed linen and 'sleep experience' (i.e curtains/ mattress/ standby lights), excellent. Bathroom has a small bath and wall mounted shower head - water pressure and temperature difficult to control. For a four star establishment this was disappointing.

A few maintenance issues - minor but deep stains to carpets etc were expected having read other reviews.

Breakfast was excellent - my husband order eggs Benedict although really the set up is for buffet breakfast from hot plates (along with typical pastries, fruit, cereals, yogurt). Noted staff were cheery and welcoming despite busy service.

NOTE - our booking website said spa closed for refurb. It's has now been completed and was open. Checked out and looked fairly smart - didn't make use as we didn't bring our stuff. For business users gym looks better than average standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Hyatt Regency is a landmark hotel imposing itself on the city sky line. Well situated next to the international convention centre,to which it is linked, this hotel offers the business traveller with all the facilities one could need. The club facilities are very good and the hotel has an excellent spa and swimming pool. The rooms are comfortable, with excellent junior and executive suites at competitive prices. If you are visiting Birmingham for work, rest or play the give this hotel a try!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Having visited this hotel and had lunch, I recommended to a dear friend that we stay here whilst catching up before Christmas. Having arrived to be told we should pay for our breakfast straight away if we want to secure the £10 per day discount! We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening which was mediocre at best even having to ask for vegetables to go with our meal. When we came to check out they were so many extra additions to the bill we got the staff to explain all of them some of which were totally repeated having been charged again for breakfast! My friend paid on her card and then they charged her twice when she complained it took them weeks to refund the money. I can only assume that most of their visitors are corporate and companies don't check their bills quite as carefully! When we plan out next trip we won't be coming back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing