We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for business or pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley
Level Contributor
163 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good base for business or pleasure”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one night as part of a weekend shopping trip. Security at the entrance to the hotel was excellent and they were a great bunch of very helpful guys who were under great pressure due to the lack of parking at the hotel entrance. There was no queue at Reception for check-in or check-out, very professional and efficient service and we got our room before mid-day. We were on the 10th floor at the back of the hotel which gave us a lovely view over the canal basin but this has its down side at 2am – there is a taxi queue outside of the halls next door and the noise from the crowds managed to penetrate the double glazing.
We noticed a thick layer of dust around the edge of the room and the bathroom – but every other part of the room was spotless?? When one of the beds collapsed we found the leg had detached itself. Housekeeping definitely needs improving.
Breakfast was the usual stock items but there was only scrambled eggs on the buffet. When I asked for fried eggs they brought them quickly and beautifully cooked.
The best part of the hotel is the pool – fabulous. A decent length and there were good sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi facilities. We relaxed on the loungers reading newspapers and even though there were a few children in, it was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamberleyNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,517
    938
    302
    111
    53
See reviews for
381
1,017
111
888
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spent a weekend in our nearest city enjoying a spa treat and some shopping. Really lovely room and chose a high floor so we had far reaching city views. Spent the afternoon in the spa which was a treat - very clean, comfortable and relaxing. The only downside which was part of an otherwise delicous breakfast - was the cheap sausage!

Room Tip: If you can cope with the heights - ask for a high up room as the views across Birmingham are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth Mid Wales
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here in October for 2 nights with 3 other couples - we requested a high floor and were given 4 standard double rooms on floor 11 which is little under half way up - there are 24 floors in total. The higher you go the better the rooms I think. Definitely better views from top floors. All rooms were nice, bathrooms good and floor to ceiling windows which was great. Having seen two rooms either side of floor 11 I would plump for canal view next time but there really is not that much difference.

The hotel is very central and opposite the new city library under construction, only 2 minutes to Broad Street and Brindley Place Bars and restaurants and an 8 minute leisurely walk to the Bullring.

Breakfasts were OK only as the service was rushed and seating was cramped - there clearly isn't enough room for breakfast on a busy weekend - if you pay £17.50 for a breakfast, which is the price of a decent lunch, you should expect clean tables, plenty of time and good service - I didn't think that was the case on either day. The bar was nice but a bit expensive - typical 5* prices around £4.75 for G&T and £2.75 for a small Stella Artois on tap. Bottles were more expensive.

We made use of the leisure facilities as well which was nice and relaxing after a couple of hours shopping !

On the whole we enjoyed our stay as we paid £100 per night including breakfast - for that price I'd stay again any day.

Room Tip: Request the highest floor you can possibly get & shop around for best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwalltcoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
383 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Hyatt Birmingham is a beautiful hotel, as we stayed here for a family wedding. The rooms were extremely clean and the buffet breakfast was fantastic. The staff were very helpful and appeared to anticipate your every need. We walked everywhere and great shopping was a 10 minute walk to the centre of the city. Great restaurants are also very close.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

As almost a local we dont tend to stay in Birmingham, however for a special occasion we booked the Hyatt through Expedia.

It wasnt cheap at £110, however hotel was great value for money.
there was a long queue at check in, however we got seen fairly speedily

We booked a king room which was spacious with good views.

The pool is really good, gym seems a little small, however I didnt use it.

We didnt have breakfast, there was a large queue and it was a fairly steep £18 each.
Bar prices were very high too, it was £5 for a beer, it was actually marginally cheaper to use the minibar!
Location is great, for Broad Street, Brindley Place and the ICC. Mailbox is about 10 minutes walk away.
St Pauls square is £6 in a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotch30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Have visited Birmingham regularly and always been impressed with the look of this hotel and its central location so finally decided to treat ourselves to a nights stay. Booked a king club room and arriving at 10.30 asked at reception if we could leave our overnight bags and check back in after lunch. To our delight they said our room was ready and what a lovely room it was. It was located on the top floor with amazing views of the canals and birmingham.Floor to ceiling windows made the view even more spectacular.Modern with a large bed, chair and footrest and lots of space.The bathroom was equally lovely with lots of toiletries and fluffy robes for us to wear.After exploring birmingham (hotel is perfectly situated) we returned for a well earned rest and glass of wine in our room in our lovely bathrobes overlooking canal. It was also pointed out that we had access to a lounge for King and suite customers.Self service coffee etc during the day and wine/spirts in the evening served with canopies.It was a lovely unexpected treat.Unknown to us Birmingham hosted the half marathon on the Sunday and the hotel was buzzing. We expected a wait for breakfast but showed to our table within minutes. The food was excellent and the only let down was it needed to be a little bit hotter. Every member of staff we encountered were pleasant and efficient. Would certainly stay again and hope to stay for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, Devon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed with my friend for two nights. On arrival we had been allocated a double room instead of a twin. We were moved to another room quite quickly, but the air-con was noisy even on the lowest setting, and the room was smelt musty. The restaurant was very disappointing. It is situated in the foyer and was very cold and dark. Our breakfast items were all cold, even though we were one of the first ones in. The evening meal was exceptionally poor; we were sitting in a cold draught and asked if we could move, to no avail. Portion control was terrible, my grey mullet was a third of the size of a neighbouring table's, and my clotted cream tart was pure stodge - not nice. No-one came to ask if our meals were ok until we had finished; bad practice. The reception staff forgot our papers on both days. A road race was taking place on the Sunday, but the reception staff seemed unaware that taxis could not be hailed outside, but credit must be given to the friendly concierge who rang a taxi for us. All in all, a disappointing stay and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillymilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
910 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,388 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
3,662 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,511 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Property: Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing