We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel for a number of years, usually for a weekend as we're travelling with a brass band. The hotel appears to have undergone a bit of a makeover, certainly in terms of its restaurant and staff, all of whom were very helpful and welocming. The "new style" buffet breakfasts with a chef on hand to cook fresh eggs, omlettes or waffles is a great addition to the usual "warm" scrambled eggs that are traditionally available on buffets. Fresh, light danish pastries and a selection of fruit also helped set us up for the day, thank you!

The hotel is quitea way out of the centre of Birmingham at the top of Broad street but this means that at night it is quieter than any alternative hotel chain, which are on Broad Street as this area is the hub of the city's nightlife. We walked back to our hotel at night (around 10.30ish) and had no bother, nor felt threatened in any way as this area is heavily policed especially at weekends.

Room Tip: We had a twin room but the beds were quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 955 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

stayed quite a few times and always met with a smile, the rooms are to a high standard and its walking distance to broad street etc, if you can stretch to a suite they are well worth it, highly reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hallchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Located at top end of Broad Street so 30mins to walk to City Centre and Bullring Shopping Centre. Brindley Place and Canal Side closer at about 10mins. Note that Broad Street is a 'lively' street of cheap bars and the odd strip joint at the top end - so think carefully about walking back to hotel at night. Also, need to walk through an underpass which does not feel that safe late at night either.

Probably middle of the road for a Marriott in terms of decor in public rooms and bedrooms - not the most up to date but not as tired as some Marriotts.

Staff are fantastically friendly - probably the best of any Marriott I've stayed in.......... And it's the staff that tip the rating to very good from average.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Espaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed for two night recently after checking the reviews on Trip Advisor. A really nice hotel within an easy walk of Broad Street, Bull ring etc.
The main winning factor was the service from everyone we met, you could sense that this was a team working under good leadership.
We didn't have a good first night's sleep, but htis was down to the fact we like a big bed and the Double room we first went into was standard and not greatly comfortable for'us'. We asked to move and were met with total service. We packed our main things and the desk manager moved it all to an excellent sized room.
Breakfast was excellent with some nice fresh cooked options.
Well done

Room Tip: Even at this busy junction, the rooms were quiet. Go to the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_E8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My company use Marriott as a preferred supplier so I didn`t have much choice but to stay there but happy to report that my company made a good choice.Can`t comment too much on the restaurant as I ate out but breakfast was good

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located, so that you can walk everywhere in Birmingham. The hotel staff - though some are probably not well trained - were friendly, accommondating and tried everything they can to make our stay comfortable. Birmingham is a very interesting city. Who would have thought that Birmingham has more canals than Venice, Italy, but it does, and here you will see many people live and travel on narrow canal boats.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waverunner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

this is one of my favourite hotels in Birmingham because of the huge comfy beds and lovely pool. The staff are excellent but I was disappointed when I last stayed here with the service at breakfast. The staff serving seemed to spend all their time clearing and setting tables and, after sitting for more than 10 minutes, I had to follow member of staff to ask if I could get coffee. I saw other guests doing the same. The buffet was pretty empty at 8.30 (no tomatoes or scrambled egg) and wasn't replenished during my breakfast. Great idea having the chef make omelettes to order but no excuse for not having other options topped up. Building work currently going on next door which starts early so take earplugs and ask for a high floor room.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,250 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Address: 12 Hagley Road | Five Ways, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#39 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $93 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birmingham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Marriott Hotel demonstrates the four-star reputation through responsive service and comfortable accommodations. All guest rooms have been luxuriously appointed with essential amenities while stationed in the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birmingham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham
Birmingham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing