We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a refreshing change from bland brands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #91 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Comfy warm beds,good hot showers, a great cooked breakfast (excellent bacon) and a step back in time. The Plough might be a little dated, but that's central to it's unique charm. The staff offer genuine smiles rather than corporate civility.
The restaurant produces first class, stylish dishes good enough to compete with many top eateries in the city.It deserves to be busier than it is.
Wifi connection was straight forward and free. Same for the car park
The lounge bar has a touch of 1920s glamour, accompanied by creaking floor boards and a hint of Agatha Christie - count the mirrors to crack from side to side !
If you want modern, sleek and trendy,with loud bar music, find somewhere else.
Perfect to settle down with a large glass and a good book, the Plough & Harrow is a little Brummie treasure. Please don't stay there - I like the peace and quiet !

Room Tip: let the staff know what your needs are - if you are civil to them, they will reciprocate. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments. They really are greatly appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 768 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed as a family for 2 nights. The hotel was easy to find and had plenty of parking. Our check in was very efficient and our room(s!) were suprisingly very warm for the freezing weather and snow outside, despite single glazing in 1 bedroom and bathroom. We were at the back of the hotel (room 121) in a family room which was actually 2 rooms (we hadnt expected this) with a shared bathroom. 1 room had double bed, the other, 2 singles and a travel cot (we have 4yr & 10 month kids). Much more space than we had expected. If travelling with 2 kids who would need single beds: in this room one of the beds is pushed right up sgainst radiator - we didnt use this bed, so didnt check if possible to adjust temp on radiator to avoid kid burning themself on it in the night

The room/furnishings/bathroom as others have said are all a bit dated but everything was very clean - fresh white bedding, clean bathroom, fluffy white towels. Knowing from other reviews that it was a bit dated had prepared us, and we were happy to accept this as the trade off for value and location.

Wifi should have been freely available in our room and was, but intermittently - this wasn't a problem for us but I imagine could have been frustrating if you were working. Should also be available in lounge/lobby if needed.

We chose this hotel for location (I was attending a course at hospital nearby), value (£70 b&b family of four/£115 b&b pls family ticket to cadbury per night) and for the package with Cadbury world visit (for other half to entertain 4 yr old) - it met these needs perfectly (10 mins to hospital, close to Cadbury world and city centre).

Our slight problem was that breakfast didn't start until 8am at weekends and I had to be at course for 830 so we only expected to have time for continental breakfast. When we replied to the waiter that we had no time for cooked breakfast he very helpfully suggested bacon sandwiches to take with us in car - this was the sort of personal, helpful touches we found from the hotel staff throughout our stay. We were made to feel very welcome. We also had dinner here one of the nights with very good food and friendly helpful staff (including very kind lady who offered to hold sleeping baby while we ate).

As others have commented, if you have limited mobility it would be worth checking with staff before booking. We had a flight of stairs to get to our room, we just left buggy in car and this was not a problem for us.

In summary, if you need somewhere convenient, clean, friendly and good value for money this hotel is a very good choice. If you are someone who needs modern/fresh decor along with your value for money you maybe need elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

I am really please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is somthing of a hybrid hotel--tourists and businessman.As a businessman my needs are fairly 'clean cut' Clean room good breakfast car parking and wifi.
Check in was a little hap hazzard and slow and when I asked for wifi code I was told my room did not have wifi and was offered a cable to connect--sadly my computors do not accept cable.Initaily it was sorry but wifi is a free service and not available in very room--my responce was thats not what your web site says.Being totaly fair a problem remains a problem if the attitude and actions dont resolve the problem.In this case not only did they chnage my room and find a router it was installed into my room within 10 mins and worked perfectly-- this hick up is the only reason I did not mark excellant.
I used the quite areas within the hotel for client meetings and the bar staff were great in looking after clients whilst they waited with none of this 'please pay' for this and that as its delivered -- clients were treated as guests .Would I stay again --yes

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and please accept my apology for the mix up on check in. I think perhaps reception were a little confused as we do supply wireless routers for guests who would prefer not to be hard wired to the network. I am pleased however that everything was resolved to your satisfaction. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed over following his work's new year party and overall our stay was very pleasant. Check in was smooth and the service we received throughout our stay at meal times was very good. Whilst the decor of the dining room and lounge is elegant, the corridors that lead to your accommodation are extremely scruffy/in need of refurbishment. The bedroom itself was comfortable and clean (although a very long walk from reception involving oing up and down stairs) but again the furniture was in need of a refresh. For what we paid (discounted due to the private function) it was extremely good value, however I would have been disappointed if we had paid the rack rate.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tigzvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your kind comments regarding your stay. You are quite correct re the short walk to the bedrooms, as we are a listed building full of charm we do not have a lift. Thank you again for taking the time to write

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The lack of personality by the staff made the entry to the hotel difficult, ad also the fact that we had to hike up various levels and stairs, as there was no lift, made my injury more intense. On arrival in the room it was surprisingly large but the furnishings so dated and tired.

The evening lounge bar was taken over by a large party, so we could not enjoy a quiet drink. This was absolutely crambed by the same party when we arrrived back to hotel later.

Breakfast was buffet style and set out in the corner of the room with all hot items crambed into two covered and steaming dishes.

Good car park space and convenient location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exchef44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I will be taking them up with the team. In regards to the hotel being busy I cannot apologize for that as we do have a pub that can be used by residents should we have a wedding or such

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for a party event. The staff were just excellent, friendly and efficient. The set menu was very generous, nicely presented and very tasty. The drinks were not overpriced, and everything ran like clockwork. Our bedroom (no. 6), although a good 5 minute hike up and down various staircases from reception, was the size of a barn, with a comfortable bed, lashings of storage space and a good sizeable bacthroom. The only let down was the shower; a power shower it was not. If the shower had made a bit more of an effort rather than me having to walk around underneath it to get wet, then I'd have given this hotel 5 stars. But overall for £70 for the large double room including a good hot cooked breakfast, it's hard to fault. We'd definitely return (after having checked out the shower)!

Room Tip: Even ground floor rooms involve some staircases, so if you have mobility issues, best check with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to write. I will check the shower in room 6 as it should give great pressure. Look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed for one night .particularly impressed with the staff,and my room which was well laid out, large and not over heated. Breakfast was good, cooked to order, which is not often the norm plus a good range of fruit and cereals. The main part of the hotel and restaurant is very attractive and comfortable.
Would highly recommend this hotel ( and I'm very fussy!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you ever so much for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
621 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Westmead Hotel
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $78 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 44 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with an elegant lounge bar, a separate "pub" with over 25 gins & cocktails which also shows BT Sports, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the lawn. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1/2 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing