We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #91 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for a party event. The staff were just excellent, friendly and efficient. The set menu was very generous, nicely presented and very tasty. The drinks were not overpriced, and everything ran like clockwork. Our bedroom (no. 6), although a good 5 minute hike up and down various staircases from reception, was the size of a barn, with a comfortable bed, lashings of storage space and a good sizeable bacthroom. The only let down was the shower; a power shower it was not. If the shower had made a bit more of an effort rather than me having to walk around underneath it to get wet, then I'd have given this hotel 5 stars. But overall for £70 for the large double room including a good hot cooked breakfast, it's hard to fault. We'd definitely return (after having checked out the shower)!

Room Tip: Even ground floor rooms involve some staircases, so if you have mobility issues, best check with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to write. I will check the shower in room 6 as it should give great pressure. Look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 769 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed for one night .particularly impressed with the staff,and my room which was well laid out, large and not over heated. Breakfast was good, cooked to order, which is not often the norm plus a good range of fruit and cereals. The main part of the hotel and restaurant is very attractive and comfortable.
Would highly recommend this hotel ( and I'm very fussy!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you ever so much for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A friend of mine had their wedding at the Plough and Harrow Hotel, Birmingham on Saturday 5th January 2013, as both myself and my partner wanted to drink we decided to book a room at the hotel for the Saturday night. We booked on the Thursday and on the Friday I read some reviews of the hotel on TripAdvisor, I was slightly concerned by some of the poor reviews I had read and as a result was worried about where I would be staying! However, I am happy to say that my worried were completely unfounded, the staff were absolutely fantastic!! They couldn't help us enough! All the staff were friendly, warm and welcoming! And worked tirelessly to ensure everyone enjoyed the special day! The food was lovely, fresh and tasty! And there was plenty of variety for breakfast on the Sunday morning, and the staff again were lovely on the Sunday, nothing was too much trouble! And the room we stayed in was very clean, spacious and homely!! I will definitely be returning! Thank you to all the staff at the Plough and Harrow for such a fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I will be very pleased to pass them on to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Boxing day meal with family,service was very poor waitress needs traioning in table manners.Starters ok,main needed more veg not enough for sixteen people.Plates were taken away before a person had finished his meal.Puddings were a bit of a mess,cant believe it was hotel food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal and will take your comments up with the team. To put your mind at rest everything we serve has been made and prepared on the premises, it is one of the reasons we continue to be busy ans should you ever wish for more vegetables please just ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Me and My new husband got married at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham in November 2012.
I was blown away by the service food wine (included in the package) and also how great the staff where. We had a fab day from start to finish, there where afew minor hitches as to be expected but smoothed over without me even really noticing. The hotel is a warm cosy atmospheric place it really captured the "close personal feeling" we wanted. The drinks are a resonable price however some guests where charged twice on there bills in the morning so be sure to double check your bills and my father was charged twice so just make sure to know what your bill should be these problems where soon sorted without a problem however.
The hotel got our theme down to a tea and nothing was a problem the dj was absolutely brilliant and kept the floor filled all night for the price we paid and the day we managed to achieve thanks to the understanding and co operation of the plough and harrow team no one could believe how well it went off! the best day of our lives and so many people have said the best wedding they have ever been to thankyou to the hotel and if you are in two minds about the hotel go and see it I promise you will be very plesantly surprised it really is lovely and they endevour to please you and to give you exactly what you want!! A massive thankyou everyone.

Room Tip: When booking ask if its is possible to have one of the new referbished rooms and if you cannot walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your lovely comments. I am really pleased you had a lovely day and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

What a nice friendly hotel this is, my daughter and I stayed there to visit the German Market and the Bullring shopping centre, it was within walking distance from the town it is perfectly placed. Ample parking and it was easy to find. Our room was clean and tidy with all facilities. The reception staff were really helpful. Brakfast was a bit of a let down with overcooked eggs and dry bacon but otherwise it was good. We will certainly be going back in the new year, maybe for a spring shopping trip with 'the girls'

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PompeyJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass them on to the team. I hope you do book in the Spring for a shopping break as look forward to seeing you again. I will also have a word with the Head Chef re the breakfast. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The staff are really helpful, the rooms are clean and warm, all with good internet connection. The old part of the hotel is very characterful. Parking is secure. Bus stop outside with frequent buses to the centre, about 10 minutes ride, but it is also walkable - about 25 minutes.
Breakfast was ok, help yourself to as much as you want, but not top class, but at the price we paid it was perfectly acceptable. Would stay there again if we wanted a city break in Birmingham. Great Value.

Room Tip: There is a huge extension with many rooms - ours was quite a long walk through corridors. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasandBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
624 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $79 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 44 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with an elegant lounge bar, a separate "pub" with over 25 gins & cocktails which also shows BT Sports, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the lawn. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1/2 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing