We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #88 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I would definitely go back to this hotel. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The building was gorgeous and the decor was beautiful. Our room was in the original building, with a wardrobe, desk and chair, table and two chairs and bedside cabinets. There was a full english breakfast option but I found the continental was more than sufficient, with toast, mini pastries, cereal and fruit.
As we had been at a wedding the night before there were a few hangovers and we felt comfortable sitting in the lounge the next morning, drinking tea after checking out before before hitting the road. (I thought this very good - a lot of hotels give the impression you should leave straight after checking out)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I am very pleased you had a great stay and thank you for writing. I will of course pass your kind comments on to the team. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    211
    156
    103
    82
See reviews for
209
198
25
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife found this hotel whilst looking for ideas. It poped up as an add so I looked it up on here and all seem good. The people on the front desk were very helpful, and we where welcomed, with a nice poilte manner. We were told we had a family room ROOM 8 which had a double bed and a second pull out double bed, which was metal sprung so more than enough surport for the children. The room was a walk away from the frount desk which the staff said they were sorry about but it also the quite side so a good night sleep could be had. Having driven 4hrs in bank hol traffic to get here, when it only take us 1:30hrs so we desided to use the resterant.
The menu was not very exsensive and all the meals lack veg! but do not let this put you off, The bar meals price about £7-£10 for a meal, and the restrant were £14-£18 all the meals we rercieved had a good portion size, and very nicely presented. the steak I had, was a stunner. being fat free and very soft and moist. The childrens meals we had we the same as the adults but just a smaller size,This was another good thing as my children do not wish for the some old chicken nuggets or fish finngers, and are waiter was named Darren.This was one of the areas, he went that little bit further to help you enjoy your stay. He was also very good with the children, which was a nice touch.
Another area mentioned before on here was the very good brakfasts, I can confirm that also, having pastries, cerials, with nuts fruits youghts, and of corse full english, or srammple eggs with smoked samon, again the morning staff were just as helpful to get you anything you wish for.
the hotel is within walking istance from a few attraction, and only a mile from the city centre shops, they are curry houses and take aways on the same road if you did not wish to eat in, over all we were very happy with the price of the hotel and prices of the bar were in line with other hotels, but i thought the wine was a bit to dear for what you were offered, Happy to recomend to other with or with out children.

Room Tip: family rooms are at the furthest part of the hotel but easy managed if you do not mind going up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTM-KID-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments it is greatly appreciated. I am pleased you and the family had a good stay. And we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here due to its proximity to Simpsons restaurant. The service was good. The breakfast was one of the better hotel breakfasts we have had. Great to have free parking right outside, especially as it was raining when we left. The reception and lounge areas were very nice The bedroom was clean and the bathroom was avocado!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Rooms clean and spacious. Friendly service. Nice bar and lounge area. Breakfast reasonable. good selection of restaurants 500 yards up the road is worth a visit. We went to the Iranian and had a really good meal. Good parking in a secure car park. I would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryAlberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I am very grateful you took the time to write and thank you for your kind comments. Look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Found this hotel deal (£99 for 2 children and 2 adults tickets to West midland safari park bed and breakfast) whilst researching WMSP. Was a little doubtful has the price was quite cheap but decided to book as I had read the previous reviews. But on arrival to pick the tickets up to booking in then breakfast the following morning we found all the staff very helpful and polite. The breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble making my children's day especially the little pot of tea for my daughter and her own tailor made breakfast! I would definitely recommend this to family and friends and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolajlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I am really pleased you enjoyed the experience. I will pass on your kind comments to the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Staff on reception were smart, friendly and helpful, in restaurant OK but seemed to suffer from distractions. Room was good sized and clean; wall unit showed signs of age and had been hacked when CRT TV was replaced by flat screen version. Biggest snag was distance from reception to the room, quite a route march involving stairs up and down and a disappointment as we had booked som3e months in advance though it did mean there was little traffic noise. Meal choice quite good and cuisine OK but let down by curdled milk served at breakfast. Though quickly replaced, the comment "you're the second people to complain" did make one wonder why it waasn't checked earlier.

Room Tip: You may wish to decide whether you wish to be as far from the road as possible or trade this against...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write anf for your kind comments re the team. I am sorry however there were areas we let ourselves down and will work very hard to ensure these little things do not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Surpassed expectations. We are a couple with 2 small children. We asked for a quiet family room and were placed in room no 8 overlooking a quaint little garden away from the main road. We were able to enjoy a drink while the kids played safely on the lawned garden. The restaurant looked lovely and was very busy when we arrived on the Sunday afternoon. However we chose to eat a superb little fine dining Indian almost across the road (rose murrae). Breakfast was very good and waitress service made it a nice experience with the little ones.
The hotel is not too big and has masses of character. The staff were welcoming and friendly, we'll definitely return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you ever so much for your kind comments. I will be sure and pass them on. I am also pleased the children enjoyed themselves and look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
885 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Property: Plough and Harrow Hotel
Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing