We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Ranked #81 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Worstershire, UK
2 reviews
“Just lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is a lovely old hotel with lots of charm. The rooms are a bit dated, but we were told that they are slowly refurbishing. The lobby bar area (which has been refurbished) was cozy and warm, but a little bit quiet. It could do with some music!

Our dinner there was second-to-none. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. We were served by a lovely young Australian lady who, apparently, is only new. She was wonderfully helpful in assisting with dietary questions (I have allergies) and seemed genuinely interested in how we enjoyed our meal (A special thanks to the chef who also changed his dishes for me). She is a real credit to the hotel (please pass on my thanks!).

Breakfast was lovely and fresh. The staff seemed a little unorganised but maybe it was because there was no manager (I couldn't see one). However, we got everything we wanted.

I can't wait to come back when the rooms are finished!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55Salzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments, it will be my pleasure to pass them on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    204
    148
    100
    79
See reviews for
203
191
25
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

nice hotel - friendly staff. room was fine - good size and reasonably well decorated. walls were a bit thin.
breakfast much better on weekdays rather than than the weekend buffet

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, I will be pass them on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Further to the review supplied by Kimbartrum, I would like to add that it was for my wedding that the hotel room had been booked.

While a complaint was raised by Kim on my behalf, due to being on honeymoon, and a refund was indeed given, I should like to point out that while she was happy with that aspect of the response, she also stated that she did not think a lot of the concerns she had raised (and there were many) had been addressed.

I'd also like to point out that in the response, the person couldn't even get my name right. My name is Louise, not Lisa.

Considering that a hotel is supposed to be customer facing, the way the initial complaint was raised at the time (the morning of what was supposed to be the start of the happiest day of my life and not one staff member seemed to care at the distress that was being caused) was appalling and while a refund was prompt, it was really the very least that could and should have been done and shouldn't reverse a review of what was an appalling show of customer care.

I had not intended to write a review myself as I felt that Kim's would be enough, however considering that a refund or apology were not forthcoming until they were demanded days later, I felt I had to. The review was for our experience while we were in the hotel and the poor customer care received on site, not how the matter was concluded, nor were there any assurances that a matter such as this would be handled better in future by way of better training for staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moominlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
I am affraid I have to dis agree with your review.
After finishing breakfast you left the hotel to go and get married with us looking into your friends comments. We acted swiftly and resolved the situation to the satisfaction of your friend, As per her letter to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We were surprised at how nice the rooms were (the web photos do not do them justice). It was quite, clean, comfortable and all the staff incredibly friendly. We had a fantastic night in the hotel and food was so good that we stayed for lunch the following day. We will certainly be back and advise anyone travelling to birmingham to try this hotel you will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busy_traveller_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write. I am very pleased you like what we have done so far, it is greatly appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed at the Plough and Harrow for one night whilst on business. The Hotel did not fail to impress me, the room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was spotless. The room layout was a little strange as I had to go up stairs and back down again to get to my room and I would imagine if you had lots of luggage it could be awkward. This would not stop me staying here again though. All the staff polite and very efficient. I was made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The evening meal in the bar was very good and the breakfast was excellent. I have recommended this Hotel to other collegues who are coming to Birmingham and they have all booked in to stay there as well, I will certainly book to stay at the Plough and Harrow again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and for your very kind comments. I will sure and pass them on to the team. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed with my friend the night before her wedding. Discovered an enormous cockroach in the grubby-looking, dated bathroom. Staff couldn't have been less enthusiastic in their response and were completely unapologetic despite the obvious distress caused on an important day. Whilst they did move us to another room, this too was well below expectations. Would not recommend to anyone, nor ever stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimbartrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertsmithph, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
I can only apologise again as per my previous letter to you for any distress caused during your stay. As detailed in my letter to you we called our pest control people who were able to confirm that the insect although unfortunate was a solitary one. And far from being uninterested in your concerns I responded immeadiately to your letter, of which you thanked me for my quick response and also for the gesture of a total refund for the 2 night stay. Under the circumstances I do not believe I could have done more as in your letter to me you stated you were happy the matter had come to a satisfactory end
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have stayed at the Plough and Harrow several times now and have not been disappointed. Our room has always been prepared to a high standard and the bathroom is always spotless. The breakfast is always excellent and served in the spacious dining room. The staff are efficient, polite and attentive.Dinner in the restaurant has always been a good expereice.The location is very good as it is within walking distance of the city centre. All in all, we find the Plough and Harrow excellent value for money and we shall definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough and Harrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Property: Plough and Harrow Hotel
Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing