We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 7 days in Dec 2013. Check-in was fast, staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and bright. There are 2 large windows which can be opened sufficiently wide to allow for air ventilation. We have got a room facing the back and hence we didn’t get any street noise (even on X’mas eve evening). The bathroom was big enough; heating bar is available in the bathroom so it is possible to do some light laundry. I signed up for the IHG Reward Club and was given a late check-out of 2pm (and started earning points, too), otherwise, you’ll need to pay £10 per hour for late check-out after 12 noon. The WIFI was free but somehow only my ipad managed to get connected but not the iphone. The location of this hotel is excellent. You can walk to anywhere (The Bullring, Chinatown, Victoria square, National SEA Life Centre, The Mailbox etc), even to the canal. Strolling along the canal was a superb and relaxing experience- a must do when you visit Birmingham.

Overall, I am happy with this hotel though there are a few minor negatives:
There is no safe in the room. Besides, the amenities provided in the room was very basic. You need to ask for anything extra, eg. shower cap. There are also no slippers in the room. The same shower foam was used as hair shampoo. So, if you are particular about this, you need to bring your own. The housekeeping did not top up our shower foam/shampoo throughout our 7-day stay. Because we have brought our owns, we did not complain about this.

Room Tip: Room facing the back (overlooking The Mailbox) was quite. Bring your own toiletry especially shampo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Merlion42,

Thank you for your kind and detailed review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the arrangements made to your liking. It is also great to hear that you have now enrolled for the best Hotel Reward programme in the world, where you will be earning points which never expire. We hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    623
    344
    106
    76
See reviews for
87
432
95
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Recently we stayed here for four nights in November. It is in a superb location close to pedestrian shopping area, city hall, walking distance to the Jewellery Quarter and pubs and restaurants. Our room was fairly large with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and of good quality. All the staff were very friendly and helpful; not always the case in a chain hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atmktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear atmktravel,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be efficient and friendly. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with my team members, as such kind feedback always gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed for New Years eve. Reception very quick efficient and friendly. Cannot fault the room, huge comfortable bed, very clean . For a busy city centre hotel the house keeping do an amazing job and their standards are a credit to your hotel. Hope to stay here again very soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheatreTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear TheatreTravel2010,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn. I will ensure that your kind comments have been passed on to all staff involved, especially Housekeeping department. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I loved the hotel. I had a nice room, quite big, comfortable, staff at reception were very friendly, check out was quick too... I can only say good things about this hotel. I honestly enjoyed it and next time i will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I can't complain. Only the cleaners make a lot of noise in the morning but not just there, in al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Maria B,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A very festive and well organised Christmas party mid December, the welcome and ambience was spot on, the food was well presented and certainly edible for event style catering. The DJ understood his customers and created a festive atmosphere, there was parking across the road albeit an expensive NCP but after all it is the centre of the UK's second city!

Overall a good night out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear JoyceA_10,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Christmas Party Nights. I am delighted to hear that you and your party thoroughly enjoyed the arrangements, including the food, staff service and entertainment. It is always most encouraging to receive such feedback as it does give that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton Astley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A warm greeting at reception as we dropped our luggage off before shopping in the mailbox and Bullring. Lovely room when we returned - everything working including large plasma TV and modern, modern clean shower room and comfortable bed. Then after a meal out and the theatre a good nights uninterrupted sleep. Breakfast as expected - had to wait as several items had run out. Location excellent for rail travellers - close to New Street station, shops, restaurants, bars and both theatres!

Room Tip: We stayed on 1st floor at the back of the hotel - not a great view but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear CharlesCarter,

Thank you for reviewing your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn. I have taken your comments regarding the breakfast arrangements on board and will be fully addressing it with my team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on 21st Dec for the Xmas markets
It looks run down from the outside but appearances are deceptive as inside it's spotless
I was concerned about noisy revellers returning and disturbing my beauty sleep but we never heard a peep from outside of our room
The bed was huge and comfortable and breakfast was of a good quality if a little manic
Perfectly located right in the city centre - couldn't fault it

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear essexgirlSurrey,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn. So far, we have concentrated our refurbishment works on the interior of the Hotel as we believe it is more beneficial to all. We will be looking to improve the façade of the Hotel in future. We look forward to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#97 of 117 in Birmingham
506 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 117 in Birmingham
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing