We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Nearby Hotels
$100
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$95
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$142
$130
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$87
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$192
$152
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$100
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$93
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,718)
Filter reviews
1,718 results
Traveler rating
402
686
397
134
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
686
397
134
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew street stationcity centreexecutive roomncp car parkbull ringstreet noisehigh floorsaturday nighttrain stationflat screen tvquiet roomearly hoursmin walkstayed here for one nightnight's sleepcomfy bedfull english
Filter
Updating list...
1,204 - 1,209 of 1,718 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The problem with the Holiday Inn brand is its inconsistency, which makes a mockery of branding. There are some great Holiday Inns out there, and there are some clunkers.

This is one of the better examples. Quick checkin, efficient welcoming staff. Good sized room, nice bar and scrupulously clean throughout. It's situation is very convenient next to New Street station and across the road form the Chinese Quarter, only a 2 min walk from the Bull Ring centre, it's location is difficult to beat.

This hotel recognises the IHG program, as a platinum I was upgraded and given a free drink voucher.

My room was well soundproofed and I had a great nights sleep, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear fortyboohoo,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn and that your IHG Rewards Club membership was recognised on arrival, as we value our loyal customers. I have shared your comments with the Hotel team, as such feedback gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A typical Holiday Inn in some respects really, this one does look a bit ‘tired’ in places externally and could do with a bit of a refit – saying that it might have something to do with its location in the centre of Brum! Inside, clean tidy and well presented in public areas. But disappointed that as a Platinum loyalty card holder my room wasn’t upgraded on arrival as it should have been but, then again I didn’t question it! I did get a nice letter from the manager and a drink voucher at the bar so my ‘status’ was recognised.

Anyway….. rooms were clean and tidy with all the extras one could want, drink prices in the bar actually reasonable for a hotel of this standard and every single one of the staff I came across in my 3 day stay, helpful and pleasant. The concierge guys really helpful and made a couple of good restaurant recommendations.

Bar food looked good and so too did the restaurant (although I didn’t eat either) – for those of you with a Gourmet Club card the restaurant here offers you 50% off your food bill so well worth going! Breakfast buffet was fresh, hot, plentiful and tasty – very nicely done in fact!
Very convenient to Birmingham Hippodrome and the two other theatres around there, New Street station, Bull Ring and Chinatown – all within about 2 mins walk.

Would I stay again…. yes, I would with little issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babbamonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Babbamnk,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to see that we were able to deliver and exceed your expectations from a Holiday Inn. Regarding your IHG Reward Club status; I am pleased to hear that you were recognised on arrival as a Platinum member. Please note that the complimentary upgrades are subject to availability. Due to Hotel being fully booked, we were not able to upgrade your room on this occasion. I have taken the liberty to pass on your kind comments to all staff involved as it gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

you get what you book here - international chain, designed to move people in and out and give them a comfortable night sleep. So clean and comfortable, but a totally soulless experience with no positive atmospehere. This is next to main train station and busy city motorways so you definitely do not go here for the sights or any tourist type enjoyment, just for the night's sleep and escape as fast as you can the next day.

Room Tip: the rooms are all pretty standard hotel chain fare, but maybe to be away from street noise you wnat one higher up
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripperKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear TripperKlaus,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am sorry to see that we were not able to make a very good impression on you, as we always take pride in our service delivery standards throughout the Hotel. I am also disappointed to see that we missed out an opportunity to highlight what Birmingham has to offer as the 2nd City. We hope to welcome you back soon (and ensure that you receive all the information about where to visit in Birmingham).

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for just one night. We arrived early and were able to leave our bags whilst we went sightseeing. Our room was adequate with a lovely tv and very comfortable beds. The bathroom looked a bit tired and could do with a makeover but overall we were more than satisfied. We paid £15 for breakfast which in my opinion is far too much. The breakfast was good with what you would expect, but no better than their rivals and double the price! The location of this hotel is excellent and we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear jillybacon,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre.I am delighted that we were able to deliver your expectations from a Holiday Inn. Regarding breakfast pricing; we have 2 offers currently. If purchased the night before, we offer a competitively rated breakfast at £10.50 per person. Also, we have a 2 for 1 offer at the weekends. (both subject to Terms and Conditions). We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

A very very good holiday inn in a great location within walking distance of new street station. Brilliant rooms.
Only downside is that it can get a little noisy due to central location. We paid extra for the breakfast which is expensive but very nice and all you could ever want for breakfast! Managed to get quite a good deal on this hotel and paid £66 for a twin room on a Friday night. Excellent value for what you get. Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora001, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear James P,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. For those not on Breakfast inclusive rate, we do offer a very competitive rate of £10.50 per person if purchased the night before (terms and conditions apply) and at the weekends, we offer 2 for 1 breakfast at the rate of £15.45. We hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews